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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

This report presents the results of a research project funded by the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) entitled "Cost Benefit Analysis of 
Administrative License Suspensions" (DTNH22-88-C-07310). The project was 
conducted by Mid-America Research Institute and the University of North Carolina 
Highway Safety Research Center. The purpose of this project was to examine the 
costs of implementing laws calling for administrative license suspensions for driving 
while intoxicated (DWI) offenders and to compare those costs with benefits 
obtained both in terms of direct fiscal consequences such as license reinstatement 
fees as well as with societal benefits as reflected by reduced crash costs. The 
experiences of three states with such a law, Nevada, Mississippi and Illinois, were 
examined. 

Administrative license suspension laws, or administrative per se laws , are laws 
which call for an administrative suspension or revocation of the driver's license of 
persons arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence 
(DUI) who submit to a chemical test of their blood or breath alcohol concentration 
and have a resulting BAC at or above the legal limit (.10 in most U.S. states). 
Studies have indicated that such laws are effective not only in deterring the general 
public from driving while impaired, because of the threat of almost certain 
punishment if arrested (general deterrence), but also in reducing recidivism of those 
arrested through receiving license suspensions (specific deterrence). 

Administrative license revocation laws generally work in the following manner. 
At the time of arrest, the offender submits to a chemical test. If the results 
indicate that the offender is above the legally permissible level, the arresting officer 
confiscates the driver's license and gives the offender a receipt which serves as a 
temporary license (usually for 30 days) until a formal suspension goes into effect 
(often of 90 days duration). During the 30 day interim period, the offender may 
appeal the suspension. If an offender refuses to submit to a chemical test, the 
normal implied consent refusal statute goes into effect, triggering an administrative 
revocation for failure to submit to a test. In the ideal case, the implied consent 
refusal license penalty would be longer than that for failing the test, to encourage 
offenders to submit to the test. If the offender submits to the test and the results 
indicate a level lower than the legal limit, no administrative license sanction is 
implemented. The basic criminal DWI charge is handled separately through the 
courts in the traditional manner. 

Though at the time of this report over half of the states had adopted some 
form of administrative per se law for DWI, many of the remaining states were 
reluctant to do so, largely because of concerns about the costs of implementing such 
a law. The purpose of this study was to identify the costs associated with 
implementing an administrative per se law and identify any additional revenues and 
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societal benefits which may accrue as a result of the adoption and implementation 
of such a law and to compare those costs and benefits. 

Three states were selected for study, representing a range of state sizes and 
geographic locations as well as, a variety of approaches, to administrative license 
removal for DWI. Nevada was selected as a small, western state which provides 
hearings of appeals through the division of motor vehicles hearings process. 
Mississippi was selected as a mid-sized, southeastern state where the imposition of 
the administrative suspension takes place automatically after 30 days, unless the 
results of the court trial of the DWI offense indicate that the offender was not 
guilty. This serves as an incentive for arrestees to reach disposition of their criminal 
cases. Illinois was selected as a large mid-western state where the hearings of 
appeals are handled as a separate item within the regular traffic court system.. 

Contacts were made with motor vehicles administrators, courts, police and 
custodians of crash data in each of the jurisdictions and costs associated with 
implementing and operating administrative per se in each of the jurisdictions were 
identified. Additionally, revenues associated with license reinstatement fees and 
other assessments associated with the administrative suspensions were also identified. 
Other sources of revenue for the states, such as transfer payments from the federal 
government for which the states qualified by virtue of implementing administrative 
per.se were also identified. Time series analyses of the costs associated with 
nighttime crashes (a proxy of alcohol-related crashes) were also examined and 
annual benefits associated with adoption of administrative per se were estimated. 
The results of these data collection activities and analyses are presented in the table 
below. 

In each state studied, the direct revenues associated with license reinstatement 
fees for DWI offenders more than offset costs associated with the annual operation 
of the administrative license revocation law. Additionally, the laws enabled each 
state to qualify. for Federal Title 408 alcohol incentive funding which greatly 
enhanced their resources for mounting anti-DWI programs. Though technically not 
a benefit because these monies were already in governmental coffers, 408 funds are 
funds that became available to the states which they otherwise would not have had. 
Most importantly, however, implementation of administrative license revocation 
resulted in dramatic decreases in the costs of nighttime crashes in each of the 
jurisdictions. 

The unqualified recommendation of the study is that states not yet having 
adopted some form of administrative per se law for DWI give such legislation 
serious and approving consideration. 
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Comparison of Economic' Costs and Benefits of
Administrative Per Se in Nevada, Mississippi, and Illinois

:Category Nevada Mississippi Illinois

Direct'.:Cests

$`tar up Costs None Found 1,200 82,144

Annual Operating
Costs

200,787 54,914 769,871

irect Benefits
        *

Annual Reinstatement
Fee Income

        *
284,000 118,288 1 ,645,590        *

Transfer Payments
        *

        *

Annual 408 Funds
(5-year Limit)

        *
273,488

        *

        *
646,055 2,324,123        *

acietal Benefits
        *

Annual Savings in
        *

Nighttime Crash Costs
        * 37,118,292

        *

        * 104,328,024

        *

89,000,000        *
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CHAPTER 1 - INTRODUCTION 

This report presents the results of a research project sponsored by the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) entitled "Cost Benefit Analysis of 
Administrative License Suspensions" (Contract No. DTNH22-88-C-07310). The 
project was conducted by Mid-America Research Institute and the University of 
North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center. The purpose of this project was 
to examine the costs of implementing laws calling for administrative license 
suspensions for driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenders, and to compare them 
with the benefits obtained. The benefits were measured in terms of direct fiscal 
consequences, such as license reinstatement fees, and societal benefits as reflected 
by reduced crash costs. The experience of three states with such a law, Nevada, 
Mississippi and Illinois, was examined. 

BACKGROUND 

Administrative license suspension laws or administrative per se laws as referred 
to in this report are laws which call for an administrative suspension or revocation 
of the driver's license of persons arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or 
driving under the influence (DUI) who submit to a chemical test of their blood or 
breath alcohol concentration and have a resulting BAC at or above a legally set 
limit. This approach, administratively applying licensing sanctions to DWI offenders 
based on the facts of the arrest rather than contingent on the outcome of the 
criminal case, is an extension of the concept of implied consent. Implied consent 
statutes call for the immediate license suspension of persons arrested for DWI who 
refuse to submit to a test of their alcohol concentration. Such laws provide that by 
applying for a driver's license and operating a motor vehicle on public roads, a 
driver inherently consents to submit to an alcohol concentration test when a police 
officer has probable cause to suspect the driver of DWI. 

Administrative license suspension or revocation for DWI is a relatively recent 
development in the sanctioning process for DWI offenders in the United States. 
Minnesota pioneered the concept in the mid-1970s and approximately half of the 
states have followed suit. It represents an attempt to insure that a driver license 
sanction for DWI is imposed with swiftness and certainty upon DWI offenders. 
This is accomplished by imposing that sanction through an administrative process 
initiated at the time of arrest by the arresting officer and typically executed by the 
state's Division of Motor Vehicles. The determination of guilt or innocence of the 
criminal charge of DWI is made through a separate judicial process in the courts. 
Appropriate further criminal sanctions such as fines and incarceration are then 
imposed by the courts on those found guilty of the criminal offense. 
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Such laws are typically implemented as follows. An individual is arrested for 
DWI and either submits to a chemical test or refuses to do so. If the person 
refuses to submit to a chemical test, the normal implied consent law comes into 
effect and driver license sanctions may be administratively imposed for the refusal. 
If the person submits to the chemical test and his or her alcohol concentration is 
at or above the per se level for that state, the administrative per se provisions apply. 
In either event, refusal or an alcohol concentration :at or above the per se level, the 
officer confiscates the individual's license and provides the offender with a 
temporary license which contains a notice of suspension or revocation as well as 
information about appealing the loss of license. 

License suspension or revocation is generally considered to be the single most 
effective DWI sanction in use for reducing DWI recidivism (Hagen, 1978; Hagen, 
Williams and McConnell, 1979; Popkin et al., 1983; Salzberg, Hauser and Klingberg, 
1981). An attractive feature of administrative per se is that imposing license 
suspension or revocation administratively at the time of arrest rather than as a 
consequence of conviction of DWI ensures that the largest possible number of 
apprehended DWI offenders receive and potentially be affected by this sanction. 

Because only a relatively small percentage of DWI incidents ever result in an 
arrest, much less a conviction, a much larger traffic safety benefit could be realized 
if others in the potential drinking driving population were deterred from engaging 
in DWI by the mere threat of loss of license. The deterrence model (Ross, 1981) 
postulates that the potential effectiveness of a sanction in deterring this larger 
group is a function of its perception of the severity, certainty and celerity of 
imposition of the sanction. Clearly, drivers tend to perceive license revocation as 
a severe sanction (Nichols, no date; National Transportation Safety Board, 1984). 
1~urther, administrative per se laws increase the certainty and-celerity of punishment 
for arrested offenders. Recent studies of the general deterrence effectiveness of 
administrative per se laws have indicated effectiveness in terms of crash reductions 
(Zador et al., 1988; Lacey et al., 1990; Ross, 1987; Jones, 1988). However, even in 
the face of such evidence, several states, including many of the larger ones have yet 
to implement administrative per se laws. To date, 29 states and the District of 
Columbia have such laws. 

One reason that many of the remaining states have been reluctant to adopt an 

administrative per se law is a concern on the part of motor vehicles administrators 
that the costs of implementing such a program would be unduly burdensome. This 
concern prompted,NHTSA to conduct this study attempting to document the costs 
of implementing administrative per se laws as well as the benefits, both in terms of 
enhanced revenues and reduced societal costs. 

STUDY APPROACH 

In an effort to make the study results as useful to as many states as possible, 
it was decided to conduct three sub-studies in three different states representing 
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three different areas of the country and three different sized states. Additionally, 
it was desired that the study states be jurisdictions where administrative per se laws 
had been in place long enough to be fully implemented. Another desire was to 
have some range in the types of administrative per se law that states have 
implemented, i.e., those that provide for administrative hearings of appeals versus 
judicial and a range in severity of sanctions. 

With those considerations in mind, each of the 25 states with administrative per 
se laws at the time was considered in a systematic manner. Nevada was selected 
as a small western state with an administrative per se law which provided for 
hearings of appeals by Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety ad­
judicators. Nevada's law calls for a 45-day hard suspension for first time offenders 
with a provision for a restricted employment license after that period. Mississippi 
was selected as a somewhat larger, southeastern state. Appeals of the suspension 
are heard by judges within the criminal court system, generally as part of the 
disposition of the criminal case. Mississippi has a provision for reinstatement of 
driving privileges after 90 days for first time offenders who complete an alcohol 
education course. Illinois, the largest state with an administrative per se, represents 
the mid-west. Hearings of appeals of their administrative license suspension 
(labelled Summary Suspension in Illinois) are handled by the court system. 
Additionally judges may instruct the Secretary of State's Office to issue judicial 
driving privileges after a 30-day hard suspension has been served. 

To gather information about potential costs and benefits of administrative 
license revocation in each of the jurisdictions, visits were made to each of the states 
and discussions held with persons in highway safety, driver licensing, enforcement 
and court agencies. Informal discussions were held in an attempt to identify 
potential components of both costs and benefits accruing from implementation of 
the law. As a consequence of those discussions, several different potential cost and 
benefit components were identified. 

T 

These included: 

Start Up Costs - These are one-time costs associated with preparing for the 
implementation of an administrative per se law. 

Training - All states set up some form of special training program to 
familiarize law enforcement, driver licensing and court personnel with 
procedures for implementing the law. In some states these activities were 
accomplished within the normal course of business and in others specific 
costs were identified. 

Legal Advice - Advice on interpretation and proper implementation of the 
laws was also required in all jurisdictions. Again, in some jurisdictions, 
available, in-house expertise was used while in others there was billable time 
to this activity. 

e­
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Forms Development - In some jurisdictions completely new forms were 
developed and in others the basic implied consent form was revised, or 
existing forms from other jurisdictions adapted. In most instances no specific 
costs were identified for this activity. 

Facility Costs - In some states adopting administrative per se, additional 
facilities and equipment were required in order to provide the services 
necessary to implement administrative per se. That was not the case in any 
of the jurisdictions in this study. 

Computer Programming Costs - The driver licensing computer programs 
typically have to be modified to accommodate this additional type of license 
revocation or suspension. Some programs readily accommodate such 
changes, in others, changes can be time consuming and thus relatively costly. 

Operating Costs - These are recurring costs attributable to conducting the 
operational activities necessary to the continued implementation of an 
administrative per se law. 

Driver Licensing Costs - These are generally personnel costs associated with 
recording notices of suspension and revocation and reinstatements. Also 
included may be routine office supply costs. In Illinois it also includes costs 
for liaison with the courts. 

Forms Reproduction - These are additional printing costs associated with 
printing forms for implementing administrative. license suspensions. 

Mailing Costs - Normally, notices of suspension and revocation are mailed 
by certified mail and this item reflects such costs. 

Hearings Office Costs - These costs are those associated with conducting 
hearings of appeals that are held by Motor Vehicles Departments. It 
includes personnel costs, supplies and in some cases witness costs, transcript 
costs and travel. 

Court Costs - These would include costs to the` courts in terms of additional 
personnel and supplies needed to conduct hearings in states where the 
courts were the first venue in the appeals process. It could also represent 
savings in terms of reduced court time in jurisdictions where the imposition 
of administrative licensing sanctions led to fewer contested cases and 
continuances and thus more efficient disposition of the criminal cases. 
Unfortunately, though it was the general impression in all of the jurisdictions 
that such time savings had occurred, it was impossible to measure those 
benefits in terms of any objectively measurable cost elements. 
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Police Time - This could represent costs in terms of additional time 
processing the initial arrest and appearing at hearings associated with appeals 
of the suspensions. It was the general consensus in all jurisdictions that 
arrest processing was minimally affected and that efficiencies realized in the 
court procedures with the criminal case more than offset any additional time 
that may be devoted to appeals of the administrative suspension. 

PI&E Costs - To be maximally effective, a statutory change such as adoption 
of administrative per se must be brought to the public's attention. .This is 
often partially accomplished through news media coverage of the legislative 
deliberations, but should in most cases be supplemented by public 
information and education (PI&E) activities. Virtually every state uses a 
portion of its federal highway safety funds to publicize anti-drunk driving 
efforts and often are searching for new themes. Thus, PI&E surrounding 
administrative license suspension is usually integrated into existing PI&E 
efforts and does not involve additional costs to the state. Consequently, we 
have not considered PI&E costs as an additional cost associated with 
implementing such programs. 

Operational Benefits - This is the dollar value of any direct revenues resulting 
from administrative per se. 

Reinstatement Fees - These are revenues accumulated by charging persons 
receiving administrative license revocations a fee for reinstatement of their 
license. 

Federal Incentive Grant Benefits - Congress has provided for incentive grants 
to states that give indication of aggressive programs against impaired driving. 
One of the requirements for receiving these Section 408 grants is evidence that 
DWI offenders receive license suspension or revocation within 45 days of the 
offense. Most states that have received Section 408 grants have met the license 
suspension requirement, which is usually the most difficult requirement to meet, 
through adoption of administrative per se laws. That is the case for each of the 
states in this study. These monies, in a technical sense, may not be considered 
benefits to society because they are monies already in governmental hands. 
Thus they are technically transfer payments. However, for state program 
administrators they represent a very real source of funds that would otherwise 
not be available to that state. 

Crash Cost Benefits - This is the dollar value of any changes in crash patterns 
attributable to the law. 

Data collection activities to gather information about each of the cost and 
benefit items were fairly straightforward. Further contacts were made with persons 
in the agencies responsible for implementing various aspects of the law and 
documentation of costs in each of the areas obtained. As might be expected, the 
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extent of documentation of the actual costs for each element varied greatly within 
each jurisdiction and between jurisdictions. However, a good faith effort was made 
to identify potential costs and benefits and gather the most accurate data possible 
about each of those items. In some instances, we, had to rely on the estimates of 
the professionals involved. 

Somewhat more complicated was the process involved in estimating the economic 
benefits associated with potential crash reductions as a result of adoption of the 
laws. The following basic approach was followed.' Copies of the statewide crash 
data for each of the jurisdictions were obtained. Several data analysis steps were 
then taken. First a KABCO (K = fatal, A = severe injury, B=moderate injury, 
C = minor injury and 0 = property damage only) crash severity was determined 
for each crash from indications of the KABCO injury severity of the crash involved 
occupants. Costs were then assigned to each crash using the values in the costs by 
severity table below. These costs are developed using the willingness to pay 
methodology which attempts to determine the dollar value the public is willing to 
pay to make changes in the probability that a crash of each level of severity would 
occur. These costs include the direct crash costs as well as indirect costs such as 
decreased productivity, police and insurance costs, paperwork, quality of life and 
society's values attributed to life and safety (Kragh, Miller, and Reinert, 1986). The 
values used in this study were obtained from Miller, Luchter, and Brinkman (1989, 
1990) as the latest estimates. They maintain that' the willingness to pay approach 
is the most appropriate for performing cost benefit analyses. 

Crash Severity Cost 

$2,261,497 
100,569 

B 22,359 
C 14,393 
PDO 3,560. 

Costs for all crashes, alcohol-related crashes and nighttime crashes were. then 
accumulated by month to yield crash cost data series for total crashes, alcohol-
related crashes and nighttime crashes. Time series analyses were then carried out 
to estimate any change in the levels of these crash costs that may be associated 
with the adoption and implementation of administrative per se. A more detailed 
description of the analytical approach appears in Appendix A. 

The final step in the process is to compare the costs identified with the 
monetary value of the benefits derived, both in terms of direct revenues and 
reduced costs to society through crash reductions. These data are presented at the 
end of each chapter describing the study of specific states and, in summary, in the 
concluding chapter. 
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ORGANIZATION OF THIS REPORT 

This report consists of this introductory chapter discussing the background of the 
study, and the methods used in its conduct, followed by three chapters discussing 
the results obtained in each of the states studied, and a concluding chapter. The 
state studies describe the process of implementing the provisions of the law in each 
state and discuss the economic costs and benefits identified in each state. The 
concluding chapter contains a discussion of the implications of the findings of the 
three state studies. 

z 
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CHAPTER 2 - COSTS AND BENEFITS IN NEVADA 

This chapter contains a description of the administrative license revocation 
process as dictated by Nevada's law, followed by a description of the costs identified 
with start-up for implementation of the law and the; annual costs for implementation 
of the law. This is followed by a discussion of the financial benefits accruing due 
to the law as indicated by direct revenues through license reinstatement fees, 
transfer payments through federal incentive grant income, and societal benefits due 
to decreased crash costs. 

THE ADMINISTRATIVE SUSPENSION PROCESS 

Nevada adopted its administrative licence revocation law effective July 1, 1983. 
The process is comprised of the following steps: 

n	 After the driver has been arrested for drunk driving, but before he

or she is transported to the testing facility, the arresting officer

advises the driver of the consequences of failing to submit to a

chemical test.


If the driver either refuses to submit to a chemical test, or submits

to the test but fails it (has a blood alcohol concentration of .10% or

higher), then the officer seizes the driver's license and serves a

"notice of revocation" on the driver.


A driver who is given the notice of revocation and whose license is

seized is given a seven-day temporary license; during that time, he

or she has the option of requesting a hearing before a Department

of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety hearing officer to review the

arresting officer's revocation order. 

If the driver requests a hearing, then he or she is given another

temporary permit that is valid until the hearing is held.


The Department's hearing is limited to the issue of whether the

driver failed to submit to the chemical test, or had a blood alcohol

concentration of .10% or more at the time of the test. If the hearing

officer determines that the driver in fact refused or failed the test,

he or she upholds the license revocation; otherwise, the hearing

officer rescinds the revocation and orders the reissue of the driver's

license.


n	

n	

n	

n	

s
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n A. Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety hearing decision
upholding a license revocation is appealable to the District Court.
Nevada law provides that the court may stay the revocation itself,
pending review, only if the driver has presented a "substantial
question" for review. However, it has been reported that courts
usually grant defense attorneys' petitions for an order staying the
revocation. A stay order "stops the clock" on a revocation period.
The District Court is required by law to review. the Department's
decision solely on the record of the hearing (those issues considered
at the hearing and evidence presented there).

If the District Court upholds the revocation, the driver may appeal
to the Nevada Supreme Court. If the court reverses the Depart-
ment's decision, the driver is given back his or her license.

A first offender who records an alcohol concentration of .10% or
more on a chemical test receives a 90-day revocation; however, after
45 days, he or she may apply to the Department for a restricted
license allowing restricted travel for reasons of hardship. A first
offender who fails to submit to a test receives a one-year revocation
and may, after six months, apply for a restricted licenser Second
offender 'refusers receive a three-year revocation. Nevada's implied
consent law is harsher on a driver convicted in court of drunk driving
after refusing a test: the mandatory revocation for conviction is
added to the revocation imposed for refusing to submit to the test.

The criminal charge of driving under the influence is pursued on a
separate track through the court system, and conviction of the
offense results in other sanctions in addition to revocation such as
fines, jail or community service, and court costs.

Copies of Nevada's DUI laws and basic forms used in the administrative per se
process appear as Appendix B.

n

n

n

START-UP COSTS

This section contains a discussion of the specific start-up costs that were
identified as associated with implementing administrative per se in Nevada. They
are presented in the same basic sequence as described in the introductory chapter.

Training - Nevada used existing capabilities to develop training materials and,
using persons from state government offices, conducted several training sessions for
law enforcement, court and driver licensing personnel across the state. The
Governor's plane was put at their disposal at no cost resulting in no chargeable
travel costs. Thus, there were no identifiable costs associated with training in
Nevada.

 * 

*
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Legal Advice - Again, existing resources within the Department of Motor 
Vehicles and Public Safety legal staff were used to offer guidance as to the proper 
implementation of the law with no identifiable additional cost. 

. Forms Development - Minnesota's forms were used as a model and were revised 
to accommodate Nevada's law. During the first few years of program implementa­
tion there were further revisions. Again, minimal existing resources were used for 
this activity and no direct costs identified. 

Facility Costs - Hearings of appeals are granted in the county of residence of 
the offender. Mechanisms for granting such hearings. for other reasons such as 
implied consent refusal suspensions were already in place so there were no facility 
costs associated with implementing the law. 

Computer Programming Costs - Nevada's driver licensing programs were readily 
adaptable to accommodate the additional revocation codes and reinstatement codes 
associated with administrative revocation. These modifications were handled within 
the normal course of business. 

In summary, Nevada's system was readily able to accommodate administrative 
per se, with the basic components of the needed system already in place for other 
purposes. Thus, no specific start-up costs were identified for Nevada. 

ANNUAL OPERATING COSTS 

This section contains a discussion of the additional annual costs associated with 
the actual implementation of administrative per se in Nevada and again follows the 
basic format presented in the introduction. 

Driver Licensing Personnel Costs - The Driver Licensing office required an 
additional data entry clerk to handle the increased volume of paperwork associated 
with recording and mailing notice of revocations to offenders. This amounts to an 
annual cost of $24,000. 

Forms Reproduction and Mailing - The costs associated with printing the 
necessary forms and mailing revocation notices are estimated to be $18,000 per 
year. 

Hearings Office Costs - The volume of hearings requested increased by 
approximately 1,000 per year. Several costs were identified that are associated with 
this increase. They are salaries and benefits for 1.2 Deputy Attorneys General, 1.2 
hearings Officers and 1.5 Clerical personnel totaling $135,602. Travel costs totaled 
$1,220 and supplies were $2,136. Witness fees equaled $18,304 (In Nevada, 
witnesses subpoenaed to testify at such hearings, including off-duty police officers, 
are paid a $25 witness fee and reimbursed for travel costs.) Transcript costs were 

4 
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$1,525. Thus, the totals in increased annual costs in the Hearings Office associated 
with implementing administrative per se were $158,787. 

Court Costs - Although a few administrative per se revocations are appealed to 
the court system, it is the consensus that the resultant smoother processing of the 
criminal case more than offsets any associated costs. 

Police Time - Though some minimal time is associated with filling out the notice 
of revocation, and some time is devoted to appearing at hearings appealing the 
revocation (approximately 15 percent of administrative per se revocations are 
appealed in Nevada), it is the consensus of those we contacted that fewer contested 
cases in the criminal courts offsets this additional time. 

Though the basic mechanisms were in place in Nevada for implementing administra­
tive per se, implementation of the law resulted in a large increase in the volume of 
revocations issued (between 7,000 and 8,000 per year) and hearings requested to 
appeal those revocations (approximately 1,000 per year). This led to measurable 
increases in operating costs within the Department of Motor Vehicles and Public 
Safety. These increases in operating costs totaled $200,787 per year. 

REVENUES 

There are two forms of additional revenue to the state arising from administrative 
per se in Nevada. These are a license reinstatement fee of $50 charged to each 
person reinstating their license and eligibility for transfer payments from the Federal 
Government in the form of Federal Title 408 incentive grants. 

License Reinstatement Fees - In 1989, Nevada realized revenues of $284,000 in 
license reinstatement fees. This is somewhat higher than the previous three year 
average of $215,050 because of a new practice introduced in 1989 of notifying 
revokees of their eligibility for reinstatement. This has led to an increase in the 
proportion of persons actually reinstating and thus increased revenues. In any 
event, these direct revenues more than offset identified costs of implementing the 
program. 

Title 408 Grant Funds - Nevada became eligible for 408 funding with their new 
law and thus became eligible for grants for anti-DWI activities amounting to 
$273,488 per year for up to five years. They have received four years of that 
funding and are now applying for a fifth and final year. They used some of those 
funds to help defray operating costs of the administrative per se program in its 
initial years. All such costs have now been absorbed into the state operating 
budget and these funds are being used to enhance other anti-DWI activities. 
Though technically a transfer payment from Federal to State funds, these revenues 
are of direct benefit to the State. 
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ECONOMIC BENEFITS FROM REDUCED CRASHES 

To evaluate the cost effectiveness of the legislative change, crash frequency 
data were converted into monthly series of crash costs which were functions of 
crash severity as well as crash frequencies. Crash severity was assigned as the most 
severe injury to any crash involved person based on the KABCO scale. A crash 
cost was then assigned using the following crash costs from Miller, Luchter, and 
Brinkman (1990) as indicated in Chapter 1. 

Crash costs were summed by month for all crashes,' nighttime crashes, and alcohol-
related crashes to yield three time series of monthly crash costs over the time 
interval January 1980 through December 1987. 

Two measures of effect, alcohol related and nighttime crashes, were used for 
the following reasons. Alcohol-related crashes (i.e., crashes in which alcohol was 
judged to be a factor by the investigating officer) rely on the officer's judgement 
and thus involve a certain amount of subjectivity. Thus, measures such as the 
proportion of crashes reported to be alcohol- related may also be influenced by 
factors other than the law change such as increased training, changes in command 
emphasis, and the like. However, the number of nighttime crashes is an objective 
measure, and a large percentage of such crashes are thought to involve drinking 
drivers, although, of course, not all do. Nor do all crashes involving drinking drivers 
occur at night. Thus even a program that is effective in reducing alcohol-related 
crashes would only be expected to be affecting a portion of nighttime crashes, 
making it more difficult to discern such an effect if it is present. 

Therefore, both measures we examined have drawbacks, one by the subjective 
nature of its determination and the other because of its lessened sensitivity to 
potential effects. Nonetheless, these two types of crashes are often taken as the 
best available measures of alcohol-related crashes, and, particularly, if the results of 
the analyses of both measures are in the same direction, one may have increased 
confidence in those results. 

These series were analyzed to estimate any abrupt decreases in crash costs 
coinciding with the legislative changes, and to make projections of crash costs and 
savings based on the pre-law data. Figures 2.1 - 2.5 show graphs of the data series 
over time. Total crash costs, alcohol-related crash costs, and nighttime crash costs 
are shown in Figures 2.1 - 2.3, respectively. Figures 2.4 and 2.5 show series of 
alcohol-related crash.costs as a percent to total crash costs and nighttime crash costs 
as a percent of total costs. The time series modeling was actually carried out using 
these last two data series. In the percent or ratio'' form, many factors which might 
affect crash frequency and/or severity in both numerator and denominator should 
tend to cancel out. Such factors. might include changes in population, changes in 
general traffic laws and/or enforcement, seasonal factors, changes in vehicle sizes 
and/or crashworthiness. 
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Structural time series models of the type used by Harvey and Durbin (1986) 
were fit to the percent alcohol-related crash cost series, and the percent nighttime-
crash cost series. These models can contain randomly varying levels, slopes, and 
seasonal factors. They also can contain effects due to interventions or other 
exogenous variables. Models which contained an intervention variable in the form 
of a shift in level corresponding to July 1, 1983 were first fit to the entire data 
series. The estimated intervention effects were as' shown below. 

July 1983

Series Effect P-Value


Percent Alcohol -5.34 <.01 

Percent night -3.37 <.05 

These results show that significant decreases were estimated to have occurred 
in July 1983 in both the percent of alcohol-related crash costs and in the percent 
of nighttime crash costs. The estimated decrease in the percent of alcohol-related 
costs was over 5 percentage points, while that for percent nighttime crash costs was 
over 3 percentage points. Over the entire span of the data (96 months) the series 
were, virtually, random in the sense that there was no significant month-to-month 
autocorrelation. The models described above, thus, contained only a fixed mean 
value or level and the intervention variable. 

Models were then fit to the data series using data only through June 1983. 
These models were used to make forecasts or projections of alcohol-related and 
nighttime crash costs had they remained at the Tune 1983 levels. Figure 2.6 shows 
the forecast of this series along with the actual 'values from July 1983 through 
December 1987. The forecast shown in Figure 2.6 is a forecast of the percent of 
alcohol-related crash costs relative to total crash costs. A forecast of alcohol-
related crash costs was then obtained by a month-to-month multiplication of 
forecasted percents times the actual total crash costs. The difference between the 
forecasted alcohol-related crash costs and actual alcohol-related crash costs. were 
then summed over the months July 1983 - December 1987 to give an estimated 
alcohol-related crash cost savings of $259,372,638 or $57,638,364 per year over the 
4-1/2 year period. 

Projections of nighttime crash costs were made by fitting a model to the percent 
nighttime crash costs over the period January 1980 - June 1983. Following a 
procedure similar to that described in the paragraph above, a total cost savings in 
nighttime crash costs of $167,032,314 or $37,118,292 per year was estimated. 
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SUMMARY AND CONCLUSIONS 

The overall identified start-up and annual implementation costs for administra­
tive license revocation in Nevada are listed in the following table along with 
identified monetary benefits both in terms of actual revenues, transfer payments and 
societal benefits. 

Economic Costs and Benefits Associated with Adoption of 
Administrative License Suspension in Nevada 

Direct Costs 
Start-up Costs None Identified 
Annual Operating Costs 200,787 

Direct Benefits 
Annual Reinstatement Fee Income 284,000 

Transfer Payments 
Annual 408 Funds (5-year limit) 273,488 

Societal Benefits (nighttime and alcohol 
crash benefits are not additive) 

Annual Savings in Alcohol-
Related Crash Costs 7,638,364 

Annual Savings in Nighttime 
Crash Costs 37,118,292 

Examination of the table above reveals that direct revenues to the state through 
license reinstatement fees more than offset the increased annual costs associated 
with program implementation. The viability of the State's highway safety program 
was further enhanced by the law by helping attain eligibility for 408 funding which 
amounts to $273,488 per year for up to five years. However, perhaps of even more 
compelling interest is the societal benefit in terms of reduced crash costs, whether 
measured by the officer's subjective determination of alcohol involvement or by the 
proxy measure of nighttime crashes. These are two separate estimates of societal 
benefits and should be considered separately and not added together. 

It is clear, from the cost-benefit standpoint that adoption of an administrative 
per se law in Nevada has been a positive action. 
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CHAPTER 3 - COSTS AND BENEFITS IN MISSISSIPPI 

This chapter contains a description of the administrative license suspension 
process as dictated by Mississippi's law, followed by a description of the costs 
associated with initiating the implementation of the law and the annual operational 
costs of the law. This is followed by a discussion of the economic benefits accruing 
from the law as indicated by direct revenues through license reinstatement fees, 
transfer payments through federal incentive grant income, and societal benefits due 
to decreased crash costs. 

THE ADMINISTRATIVE SUSPENSION PROCESS 

Mississippi adopted its administrative licence revocation law effective July 1, 
1983. Mississippi's administrative license suspension process is comprised of the 
following steps: 

n	 After the driver has been arrested for drunk driving, the arresting

officer advises the driver of the consequences of failing to submit

to a chemical test.


If the driver either refuses to submit to a chemical test, or submits

to the test but fails it (has a blood alcohol concentration of .10%

or higher), then the officer seizes the driver's license and serves a

"Violator's Suspension Notice" on the driver.


A driver who is given the suspension notice and whose license is 
seized is given a 30-day temporary license; during that time, he or 
she may request a trial on the criminal charge before the permit 
expires. 

n	

n	

If the court is unable to conduct a trial before the thirty days are up, it may 
order the Commissioner of Public Safety to issue up to two additional 30-day 
permits. However, the privilege to drive may not be extended over 90 days from 
the date of initial seizure. 

The' courts disposition of the criminal DWI case rules in the matter of the 
administrative per se suspension. In other words, if the court finds the defendant 
not guilty, their license is reinstated, but if the person is found guilty, the ad­
ministrative suspension stands, as well as any other sanctions the court may impose. 

n	 A first offender who records an alcohol concentration of .10% or 
more on a chemical test receives a 90-day suspension if he or she 
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completes an approved alcohol education course, otherwise the 
suspension is for one year. A first offender who fails to submit to 
a test receives an additional 90-day suspension. Second offenders 
receive a two year suspension that may be reduced to one year by 
completion of an approved treatment program. Those who refuse 
a chemical test receive an additional one year suspension. 

Mississippi's administrative suspension law clearly creates an incentive for 
offenders to achieve rapid disposition of their case. 

Copies of Mississippi's DUI laws and basic forms used in the administrative per 
se process appear as Appendix C. 

START-UP COSTS 

This section contains a discussion of the specific start-up costs that were 
identified as associated with implementing administrative per se in Mississippi. They 
are presented in the same basic sequence as described in the introductory chapter. 

Training - Mississippi incorporated training into routine in-service training 
activities and estimated any training costs to be negligible. Thus there were no 
identifiable costs associated with training in Mississippi. 

Legal Advice - Again, existing resources within the Attorney General's office 
were used to offer guidance as to the proper implementation of the law with no 
identifiable additional cost. 

Forms Development - Costs associated with designing the new forms associated 
with administrative per se were estimated to be $200. 

Facility Costs - Hearings are handled within existing court facilities and in fact 
are the court proceedings associated with trying the criminal case. Thus there were 
no costs in this area. 

Computer Programming Costs - Mississippi's driver licensing programs were 
readily adaptable to accommodate the additional revocation codes and reinstate­
ment codes associated with administrative revocation. These modifications were 
handled at a cost of approximately $1,000. 

In summary, Mississippi's system was readily able to accommodate administrative 
per se since it required no additional hearings on the part of the Department of 
Public Safety since the criminal disposition of the case governed the administrative 
suspension. With the basic components of the needed system already in place for 
other purposes, only $1,200 of start up costs were identified for Mississippi. 
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ANNUAL OPERATING COSTS 

This section contains a discussion of the additional annual costs associated with 
the actual implementation of administrative per se in Mississippi and again follows 
the basic format presented in the introduction. 

Driver Licensing Personnel Costs - The Driver Licensing office required an 
additional clerical person to handle the increased volume of paperwork associated 
with recording and mailing notice of suspensions to: offenders. This amounts to an 
annual cost of $18,000. 

Forms Reproduction - The annual cost associated with printing the necessary 
forms is estimated to be $1,364. 

Mailing Costs - The costs associated with mailing notices of suspension from the 
Department of Public Safety are estimated to be $35,550 per year. 

Hearings Office Costs - Hearings are handled through the court disposition of 
the criminal case and thus there are no additional hearings costs. 

Court Costs - The Mississippi court system at the Municipal or Justice Court 
level which provides initial hearing to DWI cases underwent significant restructur­
ing at the time that the administrative per se statute was going into effect. Whereas 
in many jurisdictions the cases were heard by lay judges in their normal place of 
business, the cases are now more typically held in government provided facilities 
and more structured reporting practices are in effect. This change, in concert with 
the incentive to have dispositions reported to the Department of Public Safety 
because of the administrative per se law, has resulted in more efficient disposition 
of DWI cases. Thus, though not quantifiable, it,, is clear that the law has not 
resulted in increased court costs. 

Police Time - Though some minimal time is associated with filling out the notice 
of revocation, it is the consensus that the incentive to reach disposition of the 
criminal charge brought about by the administrative per se law has resulted in cost 
savings to police, though not quantifiable. 

Though the basic mechanisms were in place ''in Mississippi for implementing 
administrative per se, implementation of the law essentially resulted in a doubling 
of revocations issued each year. This necessitated the hiring of additional clerical 
staff, but since essentially no additional hearings resulted either at the Department 
of Public Safety or in the Courts, there were few other additional costs associated 
with implementation of the law. The increases in:: operating costs totalled $54,914 
per year. 

4 
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REVENUES 

There are two forms of additional revenue to the state arising from administra­
tive per se in Mississippi. These are a license reinstatement fee of $25 charged to 
each person reinstating their license, and eligibility for transfer payments from the 
Federal Government in the form of Federal Title 408 incentive grants'. 

License Reinstatement Fees - In Mississippi, the license reinstatement fee for 
administrative per se offenders is $25. Mississippi does not track license reinstate­
ment fees by cause of suspension. Thus, it was necessary to estimate revenues 
realized through this process. The additional annual number of revocations issued 
for persons testing over .10 was calculated based on BAC test result and license 
revocation data. Then a conservative reinstatement rate of 50% of eligible persons 
was assumed and potential revenues calculated. This resulted in an estimate of 
$118,288 in additional reinstatement fees collected annually as a result of the 
adoption and implementation of administrative license suspension. 

Title 408 Grant Funds - Mississippi became eligible for 408 funding with their 
new law and thus became eligible for grants for anti-DWI activities amounting to 
$646,055 per year for up to five years. They have received all five years of that 
funding. They used some of those funds to help defray operating costs of the 
administrative per se program in its initial years. All such costs have now been 
absorbed into the state operating budget and these funds are being used to enhance 
other anti-DWI activities. These monies, in a technical sense, may not be 
considered benefits to society because they are monies already in governmental 
hands. Thus, they are technically transfer payments. However, for state program 
administrators they represent a very real source of funds that would otherwise not 
be available to that state. 

ECONOMIC BENEFITS FROM REDUCED CRASHES 

Accident data were obtained from the State of Mississippi and analyzed using 
the same process as was used with Nevada data. In particular, each crash was 
assigned a (KABCO) severity rating and a corresponding cost. Costs were then 
aggregated into monthly cost units for all crashes, alcohol-related crashes, and 
nighttime crashes. From Mississippi, data were obtained over the time period 
January 1980 - December 1988. As in Nevada, the primary intervention point (i.e., 
effective date of major legislative changes in DUI laws) was July 1983. 

A special aspect of Mississippi's administrative per se law is the provision of an 
additional $10 assessment for DUI convictees to be used for DUI related activities by the 
Governor's Highway Safety Program. 

Though not truly a revenue directly attributable to administrative per se and thus not 
included in this analysis, it has resulted in additional revenue in the amount of $238,000 
annually. 

1 
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Time plots of the three crash cost series are shown as Figures 3.1, 3.2 and 3.3, 
respectively, while Figures 3.4 and 3.5 show alcohol-related and nighttime crash 
costs as percents of total crash costs. Alcohol-related crash costs (Figures 3.2 and 
3.4) are seen to be quite low compared to total crash costs and nighttime crash 
costs. This suggests that alcohol-related crashes may have been substantially 
underreported throughout the entire time interval. No further analyses were done 
using alcohol-related crash data. 
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Figure 3.5 shows nighttime crash cost percents to be at a lower level following 
the intervention than prior to the intervention, though the decrease seems to have 
started some months before the July 1, 1983 intervention date. Two models fit to 
the nighttime cost percent series are shown in figures 3.6 and 3.7. The model in 
Figure 3.6 contains a stochastic or randomly varying level and an intervention effect. 
In this model the level of the series decreased prior to July 1983, and the estimated 
intervention effect was a decrease of about 1.5 percentage points which was not 
statistically significant (p > .25). The model shown in figure 3.7 contains a fixed 
level and an intervention effect. In this form the estimated intervention effect is 
an abrupt decrease of about 5.5 percentage points and is highly significant (p < 
.005). The model of figure 3.7 fits the data somewhat better than that of figure 
3.6; R2 = .220 for the figure 3.7 model vs. R2 = .153 for the model of figure 3.7. 
Both models produce uncorrelated residuals. Thus, the data seem to be fairly 
consistent with an abrupt decrease in level at the point of intervention, July 1983, 
though, in fact, some of the benefits of this legislation change may have begun 
some months prior to that date. 

To estimate cost savings in Mississippi nighttime crashes, a model was fit to the 
nighttime cost percent series using only the data points through June 1983. Projec­
tions were then made of.. nighttime cost percents over the interval July 1983 
December 1988. This projection is shown in figure 3.8. As was done with Nevada 
data, nighttime costs were then projected as the. product of the predicted percent 
times actual total crash costs, and differences between projected and actual costs 
summed over the 66-month post intervention period. The process yielded an 
estimate of total nighttime crash cost savings of $573,804,132 or $104,328,024 per 
year. 

SUMMARY AND CONCLUSIONS 

The overall identified startup and annual implementation costs for administra­
tive license revocation in Nevada are listed in the following table along with 
identified monetary benefits both in terms of actual revenues, transfer payments and 
societal benefits. 
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Economic Costs and Benefits Associated with Adoption of

Administrative License Suspension in Mississippi


Direct Costs 
Start-up Costs 
Annual Operating Costs 

1,200 
54,914 

Direct Benefits 
Annual Reinstatement Fee Income 118,288 

Transfer Payments 
Annual 408 Funds (5-year limit) 646,055 

Societal Benefits (nighttime and alcohol 
crash benefits are not additive) 

Annual Savings in Alcohol-
Related Crash Costs 

Annual Savings in Nighttime 
Crash Costs 

none calculated 

104,328,024 

Examination of the table above reveals that direct revenues to the state through 
license reinstatement fees more than offset the increased annual costs associated 
with program implementation. The viability of the State's highway safety program 
was further enhanced by the law by helping attain eligibility for 408 funding which 
amounts to $646,055 per year for up to five years. However, perhaps of even more 
compelling interest is the societal benefit in terms of reduced crash costs, as 
measured by the proxy measure of nighttime crashes. Unfortunately the more 
direct measure of alcohol involvement, officers' 'subjective estimate of alcohol 
involvement, tends to be grossly underreported and thus an unreliable measure of 
program effect. Even for fatally injured drivers, BAC's were known for only 64 
percent in 1988. Another benefit accruing from the law reported by state officials 
is a more complete reporting of case disposition and more expeditious handling of 
criminal cases, brought about in part by the incentive created by the law for 
defendants to reach disposition of their criminal cases and have those dispositions 
reported to the Department of Public Safety. 

It is clear, from the cost-benefit standpoint that adoption of an administrative 
per se law in Mississippi has been a cost-effective action. 
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CHAPTER 4 - COSTS AND BENEFITS IN ILLINOIS 

This chapter contains a description of the statutory summary suspension process 
as dictated by Illinois' law, followed by a description of the costs identified with 
start-up for implementation of the law and the annual costs for implementation of 
the law. This is followed by a discussion of the financial benefits accruing due to 
the law as indicated by direct revenues through license reinstatement fees, transfer 
payments in the form of federal incentive grant income and societal benefits due 
to decreased crash costs. 

THE STATUTORY SUMMARY SUSPENSION PROCESS 

Illinois implemented its statutory summary suspension law effective January 1, 
1986. Illinois' statutory summary suspension process is comprised of the following 
steps: 

n	 Following the arrest for DUI, the driver either refuses to submit to chemical 
testing to determine blood alcohol concentration or submits to such testing 
which shows a result of 0.10 or greater. As of July 1, 1990, there is also a 
statutory summary suspension for any amount of cannabis or controlled 
substance. 

n	 The arresting police officer informs the offender (gives written notice) that 
his driving privileges will be suspended beginning 46 days after arrest as 
follows: 

First Offender - 6 months for the driver who refuses to submit to 
testing. 

3 months for the driver who submits to testing which 
results in a blood alcohol concentration of 0.10 or 
greater. 

Second Offender -A 12-month suspension is imposed in each case. As 
of September 21, 1989, refusal results in a 24-month 
suspension. 

n	 The officer takes the driver's license and issues a receipt (which will allow 
driving until the statutory summary suspension is in effect). The driver's 
license is forwarded to the Court. If the driver has a foreign state license 
in his/her possession, it is not confiscated but is retained by the driver. 
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n	 The officer provides the driver with a copy of his sworn report indicating 
that the person was arrested and notice was given regarding the statutory 
summary suspension. A copy is also forwarded to the Circuit Court of 
Venue with the driver's license and the Secretary of State's Office. 

This information is placed on file in the Secretary of State's Office and the 
driver's license suspension becomes effective 46 days after arrest. The Secretary of 
State's Office sends a confirmation of the suspension's effective date to the violator 
and to the Court of Venue. 

The driver may request a judicial hearing which must be held within 30 days 
following receipt of written request or on the first appearance date of the uniform 
traffic ticket (at the discretion of the Court). There is no stay of the statutory 
suspension pending the hearing. During this hearing, the court will consider the 
following specific issues: 

n	 Whether the person was placed under arrest for DUI; 

n	 Whether there were reasonable grounds to believe the person was driving 
or in physical control of the vehicle upon the public highway while under 
the influence of alcohol, other drugs, or a combination thereof, at the time 
of arrest; 

n	 Whether, after being advised of the statutory summary suspension, the driver 
did refuse or failed to complete a chemical test(s), or; 

n	 Whether, after being advised of the statutory summary suspension, the driver 
did submit to a chemical test(s) which indicated a BAC of 0.10 or more. 

If the Court determines that the suspension should be rescinded, the suspension 
will be removed upon receipt of a Hearing Disposition from the Court of Venue. 

Regardless of whether a judicial hearing is requested, the first offender may 
request a judicial driving permit from the Court of Venue. The judicial driving 
permit shall not become effective pr for to the 31st day of the statutory summary 
suspension and shall always be subject to the following criteria: 

n	 Purposes of employment, i.e., to and from work and/or within the scope of 
the petitioner's employment related duties. 

n	 To allow transportation for the petitioner or a household member of the 
petitioner's family to receive alcohol or other drug treatment, or medical 
care. 

n	 To allow transportation for educational purposes (as of September 21, 1989). 
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n	 A certified letter of employment must be filed with the Court. 

A current professional evaluation of a person's alcohol or other drug use 
must be secured by the petitioner and reviewed by the court before a JDP 
can be granted. 

A second offender or subsequent offender must seek a Restricted Driver Permit 
from the Secretary of State's Office which shall not become effective prior to the 
91st day of the suspension. 

The court may issue a Court Order directing the Secretary of State's Office to 
issue a Judicial Driving Permit. The Court must specify the specific days of the 
week, specific hours of the day and other limits regarding when the petitioner is 
allowed to operate a motor vehicle. A driving abstract will be forwarded to the 
Court of Venue reflecting the Judicial Driving Permit has been issued. If the 
Judicial Driving Permit Court Order does not meet the statutory requirements, the 
Secretary of State's Office will return it to the Court. 

At the end of the Statutory Summary Suspension period, the petitioner is 
reinstated upon receipt of a properly completed Transmittal of Fee or Disqualifica­
tion Order form and a $60.00 ($30.00 prior to 1/1/89) reinstatement fee which is 
collected by the Court. The reinstatement fee must be received by the Secretary 
of State's office before driving privileges can be restored to the person. 

In tandem with this process, the DUI charge is prosecuted and adjudicated in 
the Circuit Court. Upon conviction, penalties are applied, including a driver's 
license revocation. However, any period served on statutory summary suspension 
is credited to the one year minimum revocation period. 

A copy of Illinois' DUI laws and basic forms used in the statutory suspension 
process appears as Appendix D. 

n	

START-UP COSTS 

This section contains a discussion of the specific start-up costs that were 
identified as associated with implementing administrative per se in Illinois. They 
are presented in the same basic sequence as described in the introductory chapter. 

Training - Illinois conducted 20 training sessions for police and court personnel 
around the state in preparation for implementation of the statutory summary 
suspension law. Costs associated with this included $25,000 for contractual services 
for production of training videotapes and printed matter such as manuals. Addi­
tional training costs were $6,000 for travel by the trainers. Existing personnel 
conducted the training at no additional cost. Thus total training costs amounted to 
$31,000. 
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Legal Advice - Existing expertise within the Secretary of State's office was used 
to offer guidance as to the proper implementation of the law with no identifiable 
additional cost. 

Forms Development - Costs associated with designing the new forms associated 
with statutory summary suspension were negligible and handled with existing 
personnel at no additional cost. 

Facility Costs - Though no additional facilities were required, some additional 
one time expenses in terms of office equipment were necessary. A total of $8,424 
was expended in this area. 

Computer Programming Costs - Though changes to the computer program were 
accommodated using existing resources, it was necessary to purchase additional 
computer equipment in the form of terminals and printers in the amount of 
$42,720. 

In summary, the Illinois system was able to fairly readily accommodate statutory 
summary suspension since it required no additional hearings on the part of the 
Secretary of State's office because hearings on appeals of the summary suspension 
were heard within the court system and it basically required only training existing 
court and enforcement personnel in preparing to handle an increased volume of 
suspension activity. Total identified start-up costs for Illinois were $82,144. 

ANNUAL OPERATING COSTS 

This section contains a discussion of the additional annual costs associated with 
the actual implementation of statutory summary suspension in Illinois and again 
follows the basic format presented in the introduction. 

Driver Licensing Personnel Costs - The Driver Control Division required substan­
tial additional clerical personnel (14 positions) as well as five Driver Services 
Technicians (persons authorized to sign off on Summary Suspension notices) to 
handle the increased volume of paperwork associated with recording and mailing 
notice of suspensions to offenders. They are supplemented by nighttime temporary 
data entry personnel as well. Total annual personnel costs for this activity amount 
to $435,529. 

Forms Reproduction, Office Supplies and Mailing Costs - The costs associated 
with these cost elements, as well as computer: equipment maintenance, were 
$60,412. 

Hearings Office Costs - Hearings are handled through the criminal court system 
and thus there are no additional hearings office costs. 
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Court Costs - The Cook County States Attorney's office employs an additional 
seven Assistant States Attorneys at an annual cost of $205,821 to accommodate 
additional workload brought on by arguing hearings of appeals of Statutory Sum­
mary Suspensions. Five of those attorneys are located in the Chicago Traffic Court 
and the others work at suburban court locations. The clerk's office of the Chicago 
City Traffic Court also increased staff to accommodate additional work associated 
with processing statutory summary suspensions. Six additional positions were 
created to accommodate a restructuring of the courtroom allocations partly done to 
accommodate hearings of appeals of statutory summary suspensions. It is estimated 
that half of that additional capability was required by the new law at an annual 
cost of $68,109. A separate file room for statutory summary suspension records 
was also set up at the Chicago City Traffic Court facility using existing staff and 
resources. This traffic court is by far the largest in the state and the one most 
likely to be sensitive to changes in the law of this magnitude. Queries were also 
made of a medium sized and small county court system about the impact of the 
law and they indicated that they had accommodated any additional workload using 
existing resources. 

Police Time - Though some minimal time is associated with filling out forms at 
the time of arrest and additional time is required of officers to appear at hearings 
appealing the statutory summary suspension, it was a consensus that the lessened 
incentive to contest the criminal case because of already imposed licensing sanc­
tions realized enough efficiencies in the use of the officers' time to offset any 
additional time required by issuing initial notice and appearing at hearings. 

In a state as large as Illinois and a county as large as Cook, the sheer volume 
of paperwork associated with implementing a law, which requires additional notices 
to be sent to offenders and offers the opportunity to request additional hearings, 
makes such changes more apparent than in smaller jurisdictions. It is estimated that 
the total annual cost of those changes is $769,871. 

REVENUES 

There are two forms of additional revenue to the state arising from statutory 
summary suspension in Illinois. These are a license reinstatement fee of $60 
charged to each person reinstating their license and eligibility for transfer payments 
in the form of Federal Title 408 incentive grants. 

License Reinstatement Fees - In Illinois, the license reinstatement fee for 
statutory summary suspension offenders as of January 1, 1989 is $60. Previously 
that fee was $30, all of it designated for the road fund. The current fee is half 
earmarked for the road fund and half for drunk and drugged driver prevention 
activities. In 1989, revenues from those reinstatement fees totalled $1,645,590. 
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Title 408 Grant Funds - Illinois is eligible for these Federal incentive funds 
largely due to the summary suspension law and is receiving $2,324,123 annually for 
a period of five years. These monies, in a technical sense, may not be considered 
benefits to society because they are monies already in governmental hands. Thus 
they are technically transfer payments. However, for state program administrators 
they represent a very real source of funds that would otherwise not be available to 
that state. 

ECONOMIC BENEFITS FROM REDUCED CRASHES 

Motor vehicle crash data were obtained from, the State of Illinois where the 
statutory summary suspension law became effective January 1, 1986. Monthly crash 
frequencies were obtained for the time period January 1983 - December 1988. 
Crashes were again classified as nighttime crashes and alcohol-related crashes. 
Crash severity, however, could only be obtained classified by three levels: fatal, 
injury, and property damage only. Thus, it was necessary to develop a cost estimate 
for an injury accident. A breakdown of yearly injury crash frequencies by KABCO 
levels A, B, and C was obtained for the years 1985-1988. Based on the combined 
crash frequencies for these four years, 21.2% of the injury crashes were at level A, 
32.8% at level B, and 46.0% at level C. Injury crash cost was then calculated as 

Injury crash cost = .212 (100, 569) + .328 (22,359) 

+ .46 (14,393) = $35,275 

using the cost values for each category of injury as shown in the table in the 
introduction. Using this figure for injury crash cost along with the costs for fatal 
and property damage crashes, monthly crash costs were generated for all crashes, 
nighttime crashes, and alcohol-related crashes. 

Figures 4.1 and 4.2 show plots of total crash costs and nighttime crash costs, 
respectively, while Figure 4.3 shows nighttime crash costs as a percent of total crash 
costs. Both total and nighttime costs appear to be, quite seasonal. Total costs seem 
to be generally increasing over time while nighttime costs seem to be more stable. 
In percent form, nighttime costs are generally decreasing and some of the 
seasonality, especially the summer peaks, are missing in the last few years. While 
the level of this series seems generally lower following the intervention point 
(January 1986), an abrupt decrease in level at the intervention point is not apparent 
from Figure 4.3. 

Figure 4.4 shows forecasted nighttime cost percents (along with actual values) 
based on a model fit to the 1983-1985 data. The forecasted percents were then 
used to generate forecasts of monthly nighttime crash costs. Comparison of the 
forecasted or predicted nighttime costs with actual nighttime costs over the three 
year period 1986-1988 resulted in an estimated cost reduction of $269.3 million or 
$89.8 million per year. It seems clear that the overall level of nighttime crash costs 
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relative to all crash costs was generally lower in the period 1986-1988 than it had 
been in the 1983-1985 period. Associating this decrease with the intervention point 
of January 1986, however, does not seem so clear. This is sometimes the case with 
laws of this nature where the public discussion leading to introduction of the law 
(in Illinois a statewide task force held hearings) and the media coverage of the 
legislative deliberations of the law heighten public awareness before the actual 
effective date of the law. That may well have been the case in Illinois. Nonethe­
less, it is reasonable to conclude from the substantial cost savings in the period after 
implementation of the law, that the law had a beneficial effect. 

The classification of a crash as being alcohol related was begun in Illinois in 
1985 and officer familiarization with the process evidently was phased in over time. 
Additionally, changes in data entry procedures led to abrupt changes in reporting 
of alcohol involvement in fatal crashes in late 1988. Because the resulting time 
series data was so brief and erratic in nature, it was not useful for the purposes of 
this project. 
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Figure 4.2 Illinois nighttime crash costs by month.
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Figure 4.3 Illinois nighttime crash costs as a percent of total crash costs.
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SUMMARY AND CONCLUSIONS 

The overall identified start-up and annual implementation costs for Statutory 
Summary Suspension are listed in the following table along with identified monetary 
benefits both in terms of actual revenues and societal benefits. 

Economic Costs and Benefits Associated with Adoption of 
Statutory Summary Suspension in Illinois 

Direct Costs 
Start-up Costs 
Annual Operating Costs 

$ 82,144 
769,871 

Direct Benefits 
Annual Reinstatement Fee Income 1,645,590 

Transfer Payments 
Annual 408 Funds (5-year limit) 2,324,123 

Societal Benefits (nighttime and alcohol 
crash benefits are not additive) 

Annual Savings in Alcohol-
Related Crash Costs 

Annual Savings in Nighttime 
Crash Costs 

one calculated 

89,000,000 

Examination of the table above reveals that direct revenues to the state through 
license reinstatement fees more than offset the increased annual costs associated 
with program implementation. In a state as large as Illinois, the existing system 
may be less able to absorb additional work caused by a statute revision of this 
nature and thus may incur substantial costs implementing the program. However, 
it is worthy of note that the additional direct revenues from license reinstatement 
actions have more than offset these costs. Additionally, the viability of the state's 
highway safety program was further enhanced by the law by helping attain eligibility 
for transfer payments in the form of 408 funding which amounts to $2,324,123 per 
year for up to five years. However, perhaps of even more compelling interest is 
the societal benefit in terms of reduced crash costs, using nighttime crashes as a 
proxy for alcohol-related crashes. Unfortunately, the more direct measure of 
alcohol involvement, officers' subjective estimate 9of alcohol involvement, has not 
been reported long enough or with enough stability to be useful to this analysis. 

From the cost-benefit standpoint, it is clear that adoption of the Statutory 
Summary Suspension law in Illinois has been a cost-effective action. 



Page 39 

CHAPTER 5 - CONCLUSIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS 

The preceding three chapters have detailed identifiable costs and quantifiable 
benefits accruing to three states that have implemented administrative license 
suspension or revocation laws. The states represent a wide range of sizes, 
geographical regions and approaches to implementing an administrative per se 
program. As can be seen from the table on the next page, there are variations in 
costs associated with starting and then operating such a program. Nevertheless, the 
consistent relationship is that the annual economic benefit due to direct revenues 
alone outweighs the annual costs of operating an administrative per se system. 
When the economic benefits due to a reduction in traffic crashes are added, 
benefits outweigh costs by greater than 100 to one. 

Not all of the statewide economic costs and benefits from adopting administra­
tive per se could be determined in this study, simply because states do not routinely 
collect the kinds of cost data needed for cost-benefit analyses of specific legislation. 
Similarly, the benefits in terms of reduced crash costs are clearly estimates. The 
most reliable estimates are based on changes in nighttime crash patterns. As 
indicated, nighttime crashes are not all alcohol-related nor do they include all 
alcohol-related crashes. However, they do provide the best available metric for 
estimating crash-cost changes due to legislative initiatives of this nature. Another 
caution is that the changes observed may not be entirely due to the adoption of 
administrative per se laws alone since in each state the new legislation contained 
changes in other, less visible aspects of drunk driving legislation. However, the 
consistency of results and magnitude of the effects observed with the conservative 
measures used gives credence to the societal benefits associated with implementa­
tion of administrative per se. 

In the face of the existing body of evidence that license suspension is the single 
most effective sanction in reducing DWI recidivism, that well publicized administra­
tive license suspension laws contribute to general deterrence of DWI, and that the 
courts accept the legal premise of administrative license revocation, the only 
remaining reasonable objection to their adoption is that financial resources may not 
be available to defray startup costs before revenues from reinstatements begin to 
be received. Florida, in its recent legislation authorizing administrative license 
revocation, provided an innovative solution to that potential problem. Florida 
provided for a license reinstatement fee for DWI convictions for a period preceding 
implementation of administrative revocation to be placed in a special fund to defray 
start up costs for the administrative procedures. Other solutions to this problem 
could no doubt be found. 

We unequivocally recommend that states which do not yet have an administra­
tive license revocation law give serious consideration to enacting one. 
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Comparison of Economic Costs and Benefits of

Administrative Per Se in Nevada, Mississippi, and Illinois


Category Nevada Mississippi Illinois 

................ 
17irect Costs 

Start-up Costs None Found 1,200 $2,144 

Annual 
Costs 

Operating 200,787 54,914 769 871. 

Direct Benefits 

Annual Reinstatement 
Fee Income 

118,288 645,590 

............................................. 
Transfer Payments 

Annual 408 Funds 
(5-year Limit) 

273,488 646,055] 2,324,123 

Socrefal Benefits (nighttime and 
alcohol crash benefits are not additive) 

Annual Savings in Alc 
ohol-Related Crashes 

57,638,364 None 
calculated 

None 
calculated 

Annual Savings in 
Nighttime Crash Costs 

37,118,292 104,328,024 89 000 
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Appendix A. Time Series Analytic Approach 

The time series analyses described in this report were carried out using the 

computer program STAMP (Structural Time Series Analysis and Modelling 

Package), obtained from ESRC Centre in Economic Computing, London School of 

Economics. The formulation of a time series as a structural model follows that of 

Harvey, A.C. and Durbin, J. (1986). 

The underlying concept is that an observed time series can be decomposed as 

the sum of a trend component, a seasonal (or cyclic component) and a random 

component, but that both the trend and seasonal components can change over time 

rather than being fixed effects. The trend component is further composed of a 

level and a slope. A very simple model can be written as 

Yt = At + Et 

At = lit-1 + nt 

where yt is the observed series at time t, At is the level of the series at time t, and 

Et is a random component assumed to have mean zero and variance a E 2 . The level 

At at time t is further given as the level at time t-1 plus a second random term 

having mean zero and variance ant . Note that if an 2 = 0 then At = µt-1 and (1) 

simply represents a model of random variation about a constant level or mean value. 

A slope component can be added to the trend to give 

Yt = At + Et 

lit = µt-i + Bt-1 + nt (2) 

Bt = Bt-1 + St 

where the slope Bt at time t is the slope at time t-1 plus another random term 

having mean 0 and variance a62. The full model could also contain a seasonal 

component rt with period S, where 

S-1 
E = 't where Ot T t-j 

j=0 

a random term with mean zero and variance a.2 . 



This basic model can be extended to include regression effects due to other 

independent variables. This gives 

K 
µt+Tt + E a,XXt+Et (4) Yt 

i=1 

where At and rt are the trend and seasonal components described above and 

Xit, ..., Xkt are K other regression variables with a• the regression coefficient for Xtt. 

The effect of an intervention can be included in the model as a particular type 

of regression variable. For the cost benefit analyses intervention effects in the form 

of abrupt shifts in level were estimated by including in the model a regression 

variable of the form 

0, t<to 
Xt = 

1, t > to 

where the intervention occurred at to. A second type of regression variable used 

in some of the models was, 

Xt = Yt-n 

In this case the regression coefficient a was an autoregressive coefficient of lag n. 

Two types of models were fit to each data series. First a model containing an 

intervention variable was fit to the complete data series. The purpose of this model 

was to test whether or not a statistically significant shift in the level of the series 

occurred at the time of the intervention. Estimation of a significant shift provides 

evidence that a change did occur in response to the intervention. 

Even though a significant intervention effect is estimated, the data series may, 

at later times, drift back up to or above its original level, or it may continue to 

decrease further, or exhibit a variety of different behaviors. Thus, the estimated 

intervention effect alone does not necessarily provide complete information on the 

behavior of the series relative to its expected behavior had there been no 

intervention. For this purpose a second model was fit to the data only up to the 



point of intervention. This model was then used to produce a forecast of the series 

which could be compared with the actual series for estimating the overall difference 

(cost savings). 
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DUI LAW--EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 19$3 

CHAPTER 

AN ACT relating to traffic violations; revising the provisions 
concerning driving while intoxicated; providing preliminary 
tests for intoxication; providing for summary revocation of 
drivers' licenses; providing a penalty for driving with a 
certain percentage of alcohol in the blood; increasing cer­
tain other penalties; and providing other matters properly 
relating thereto. 

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, REPRESENTED IN SENATE 

AND ASSEMBLY, DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS: 

Section 1. Chapter 484 of NRS is hereby amended by adding 

thereto the provisions set forth as sections 1, 5, 2 and 3 of this 

act. 

Sec. 1.5. "Premises to which the public has access" means 

property in private or public ownership onto which the public is 

invited or permitted to enter for civic or commercial purposes, 

such as. the roadway or parking lot appurtenant to a governmental 

building, a business, an apartment house or a mobile home park, 

but does not include a private way on a farm or the d.-i•,eway of an 

individual dwelling. 

Sec. 2. 1. Any person who drives or is in actual physical 

control of a vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the 

public has access shall be deemed to have given his consent to a 

preliminary test of his breath for the purpose of determining the 

alcoholic content of his blood when the test is administered at 

the direction of a police officer at the scene of a vehicle acci­

dent or collision or where he stops a vehicle, if the officer has 

an articulable suspicion that the person to be tested was driving 

or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the 

influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance. 

2. The person under suspicion must be informed that his 

failure to submit to the preliminary test will result in the imn ► e­

diate revocation of his privilege to drive a vehicle. 
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3. If he fails to submit to the test, the officer shall 

seize his license or permit to drive as provided in NRS 484.385, 

and if reasonable grounds otherwise exist, the officer shall 

arrest him and take him to a convenient place for the administra­

tion of a reasonably available evidentiary test under NRS 484.383. 

4. The result of the preliminary test must not be used in 

any criminal action, except to show there were reasonable grounds 

to make an arrest. 

Sec. 3. 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, if 

a person fails to submit to an evidentiary test as directed by a 

police officer under NRS 484.383, his license, permit or privilege 

to drive must be revoked as provided in NRS 484.385 and he is not 

eligible for a license, permit or privilege to drive for a period 

of 1 year. 

2. If the person who has failed to submit to such a test has 

had his license, permit or privilege to drive suspended or revoked 

for failing to submit to such a test within the immediately pre­

ceding 7 years, he is not eligible for a', license, permit or privi­

lege to drive for a period of 3 years. 

3. If •a person fails to submit to a preliminary test of his 

breath as directed by a police officer under section 2 of this 

act, or the result of a test given underNRS 484.383 or section 2 

of this act shows that he had 0.10 percent or more by weight of 

alcohol in his blood at the time of the test, his license, permit 

or privilege to drive must be revoked as 'provided in NRS 484.385 

and he is not eligible for a license, permit or privilege for a 

period of 90 days. 

4. If revocation of a person's license,. permit or privilege 

to drive under NRS 483.460 follows a revocation under subsection 3 

which was based on his having 0.10 percent or more by weight of 

-2­



alcohol in his blood, the department shall cancel the revocation 

under that subsection and give the person credit for eny period 

during which he was not eligible for a license, permit or 

privilege. 

5. Periods of ineligibility for a license, permit or privi­

lege to drive which are imposed pursuant to this section must run 

consecutively. 

Sec. 4. NRS 484.219 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.219 1. The driver of any vehicle involved in an acci­

dent on a highway or on premises to which the public has access 

resulting in bodily injury to or the death of any person shall 

immediately stop his vehicle.at the scene of the accident or as 

close thereto as possible, and shall forthwith return to and in 

every event shall remain at the scene of the accident until he has 

fulfilled the requirements of NRS 484.223. 

2. Every such stop must be made without obstructing traffic 

more than is necessary. 

3. Any person failing to comply with the provisions of sub­

section 1 shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison 

for not less than 1 year nor more than 6 years, or by a fine of 

not more than $5,000, or by both fine and imprisonment. 

Sec. 5. NRS 484.229 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.229 1. Except as provided in subsection 2, the driver 

of a vehicle which is in any manner involved in an accident on a 

highway or on premises to which the public has access, if the 

accident results in bodily injury to or the death of any person or 

total damage to any vehicle or item of property to an apparent 

extent of $350 or more, shall, within 10 days after the accident, 

forward a written report of the accident to the department of 

motor vehicles. Whenever damage occurs to a motor vehicle, the 
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operator shall attach to the accident report an estimate of 

repairs or a statement of the total loss from an established 

repair garage, an insurance adjuster employed by an insurer 

licensed to do business in this state, an adjuster licensed under 

chapter 684A of NRS, or a motor vehicle physical damage appraiser 

licensed under chapter 684B of NRS. The department may require 

the driver or owner of the vehicle to file supplemental written 

reports whenever the original report is insufficient in the opi­

nion of the department. 

2. The driver of a vehicle subject to the jurisdiction of 

the Interstate Commerce Commission or the public service com­

mission of Nevada need not submit in his report the information 

requested pursuant to subsection 3 of NRS 484.247 until the 10th 

day of the month following the month in which the accident 

occurred. 

3. A written accident report is not required under this 

chapter from any person who is physically incapable of making a 

report, during the period of his incapacity. 

4. Whenever the driver is physically incapable of making a 

written report of an accident as required in this section and he 

is not the owner of the vehicle, the owner shall within 10 days 

after knowledge of the accident make the report not made by the 

driver. 

5. All written reports required in this section to be for­

warded to the department by drivers or owners of vehicles involved 

in accidents are without prejudice to the person so reporting and 

are for the confidential use of the department or other state 

agencies having use of the records for accident prevention 

purposes, except that the department may disclose the identity of 

a person involved in an accident when his identity is not other­

wise known or when he denies his presence at the accident. 
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6. No written report forwarded under the provisions of this 

section may be used as evidence in any trial, civil or criminal, 

arising out of an accident except that the department shall fur­

nish upon demand of any party to such a trial, or upon demand of 

any court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report 

has or has not been made to the department in compliance. with law, 

and, if such report has been made, the date, time and location of 

the accident, the names and addresses of the drivers, the owners 

of the vehicles involved and the investigating officers. Such a 

report may be used as evidence when necessary to prosecute charges 

filed in connection with a violation of NRS 484.236. 

Sec. 6. NRS 484.259 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.259 Unless specifically made applicable, the provisions 

of this chapter, except those relating to driving under the 

influence of controlled substances or intoxicating liquor as pro­

vided in NRS 484.379, 484.3795 and section 3 of this act, do not 

apply to persons, teams, motor vehicles and other equipment while 

actually engaged in work upon the surface of a highway but apply 

to such persons and vehicles when traveling to or from such work. 

Sec. 7. tIRS 484.376 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.376 As used in NRS 484.377 to 484.393, inclusive, and 

sections 2, 3, 10 and 11 of this act, unless the context otherwise 

requires: 

1. "Controlled substance" has the meaning ascribed to it in 

NRS 453.041. 

2. "Substantial bodily harm" has the meaning ascribed to it 

in NRS 193.015. 

Sec. 8. NRS 484.379 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.379 1. It is unlawful for any person who: 

(a) Is under the influence of intoxicating liquor; or 
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(b) Has 0.10 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his 

blood, to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle on a 

highway or on premises to which the public has access. 

2. It is unlawful for any person who is an habitual user of 

or under the influence of any controlled substance, or is under 

the combined influence of intoxicating liquor and a controlled 

substance, or any person who inhales, ingests, applies or other­

wise uses any chemical, poison or organic solvent, or any compound 

or combination of any of these, to a degree which renders him 

incapable of safely driving or exercising ' actual physical control 

of a vehicle to drive or be in actual physical control of a 

vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the public has 

access. The fact that any person charged with a violation of this 

subsection is or has been entitled to use that drug under the laws 

of this state is not a defense against any charge of violating 

this subsection. 

Sec. 9. Chapter 484 of NRS is hereby amended by adding 

thereto the provisions set forth as sections 10 and 11 of this 

act. 

Sec. 10. 1. Any person who violates the provisions of NRS 

484.379: 

(a) For the first offense within 7 years, is guilty of a 

misdemeanor. Unless he is allowed to undergo treatment as pro­

vided in section 11 of this act, the court shall: 

(1) Order him to pay tuition for an educational course 

on the abuse of alcohol and controlled substances approved by the 

department of motor vehicles and complete the course within the 

time specified in the order, and the court shall notify the 

department if he'fails to complete the course within the specified 

time; 
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(2) Unless the sentence is reduced pursuant to section

11 of this act, sentence him to imprisonment for-not less than 2

days nor more than 6 months in jail, or to perform 48 hours of work

for the community while dressed in distinctive garb which iden-

tifies him as having violated the provisions of NRS 484.379; and

(3) Fine him not less than $200 nor more than $1,000.

The teacher of the educational course shall evaluate the offender

and, if he finds the offender is an abuser of alcohol or controlled

substances, he shall promptly report his findings to the court for

its use.

(b) For a second offense within 7 years, is guilty of a

misdemeanor. Except as provided in section 11 of this act, the

court shall sentence him to imprisonment for not less than 10 days

nor more than 6 months in jail and fine him not less than $500 nor

.more than $1,000.

(c) Fo.r.a third or subsequent offense. within 7 years, shall..

be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not less than

1 year nor more than 6 years and must be further punished by a  * 

*

fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $5,000. An offender
 *

so imprisoned mist be segregated insofar as practicable from offen-

ders whose crimes were violent, and must be assigned to an insti-

tution of minimum security or, if space is available, to an honor

camp, restitution center of similar facility.

V 2. Any offense which occured within 7 years immediately pre-

ceding the date of the principal offense or after the principal

offense constitutes a prior offense for the purposes of this sec-

ion when evidenced by a conviction, without regard to the

sequence of the offenses and convictions. The facts concerning a

prior offense must be alleged in the complaint, indictment or

information, must not be read to the jury or proved at trial but

t
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must be proved at the time of sentencing and, if the principal 

offense is alleged to be a felony, must also be shown at the pre­

liminary examination or presented to the grand jury. 

3. No person convicted of violating the provisions of NRS 

484.379 may be released on probation, and no sentence imposed for 

violating those provisions may be suspended. No prosecuting 

attorney may dismiss a charge of violating the provisions of NRS 

484.379 in exchange for a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a 

lesser charge or for any other reason unless he knovis or it is 

obvious that the charge is not supported by probable cause or can­

not be proved at the time of trial. 

4. Any term of confinement imposed under the provisions of 

this section may be served intermittentlyat the discretion -of the 

judge or justice of the peace, except that a person who is con­

victed of a second or subsequent offense within 7 years must be 

confined for at least one segment of not less than 48 consecutive 

hours. This discretion must be exercised after considering all 

the circumstances surrounding the offense,, and the family and 

employment of the offender, but any sentence of 30 days or less. 

must be served within 6 months from the date of conviction or 

within 6 months after the date of sentencing if the offender 

underwent treatment pursuant to section 11 of this act. Any 

segment of time for which the offender is confined must consist of 

not less than 24 consecutive hours. 

5. Jail sentences simultaneously imposed under this section 

and NRS 483.560 or 485.330 must run consecutively. 

6. As used in this section, unless the context otherwise 

requires, "offense" means a violation of NRS 484.379 or 484.3795 

or homicide resulting from the driving of' a vehicle while under 

the influence of intoxicating liquor or a, controlled substance, or 
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the violation of a law of any other jurisdiction which prohibits 

the same conduct. 

Sec. 11. 1. A person who is found guilty of a first or 

second violation of NRS 484.379 within 7 years may, at that time 

or any time until he is sentenced, apply to the court to undergo a 

program of treatment for alcoholism or drug abuse for at least 1 

year if: 

(a) He is classified as an alcoholic or abuser of drugs by a: 

(1) Counselor certified to make that classification by 

the bureau of alcohol and drug abuse of the rehabilitation divi­
.. 

sion of the department of human resources; or 

(2) Physican certified to make that classification by 

the state board of medial examiners; 

(b) He agrees to pay the costs of the treatment; and 

(c) He has served or will serve a term of imprisonment in 

jail of: 

(1) One day, or has performed or will perform 24 hours 

of work for the community, if it is his first offense within 7 

years; or 

(2) Five days if it is his second offense within 7 

years. 

2. A prosecuting attorney has 10 days after receiving notice 

of an application for treatment pursuant to this section in which 

to request a hearing on the matter. The court shall order a 

hearing on the application if the prosecuting attorney requests it 

or may order a hearing on its own motion. 

3. At the hearing on the application for treatment the pro­

secuting attorney may present the court with any relevant evidence 

on the matter. If a hearing is not held, the court shall decide 

the matter upon affidavits and other information before it. 
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4. In granting an application for treatment the court shall 

advise the offender that: 

(a) Final sentencing in his case will be postponed. 

(b) If he is accepted for treatment by a facility approved by 

the state, he may be placed under the supervision of the facility 

for a period not to exceed 3 years and during treatment he may be 

confined in an institution or, at the discretion of the facility, 

released for treatment or supervised aftercare in the community. 

(c) If he is not accepted for treatment by such a facility or 

fails to complete the treatment satisfactorily, he must be sen­

tenced to the fine and imprisonment to which he would have been 

sentenced had he not been allowed treatment. The sentence of 

imprisonment must be reduced by a time equal- to that which he 

served before beginning treatment. 

(d) If he completes the treatment satisfactorily, he may not 

be sentenced to a term of imprisonment which is longer than that 

provided for the offense in paragraph (c) of subsection 1 or fined 

more than the minimum provided for the offense in section 10 of 

this act, but the conviction remains on his record of criminal 

history. 

5. The court shall administer the program of treatment pur­

suant to the procedures provided in NRS 458.320 and 458.330, 

except that the court shall not defer the sentence or set aside 

the conviction. 

6, The court shall notify the department, on a form approved 

by the department, upon granting the offender's application for 

treatment and his failure to be accepted for or complete 

treatment. 

Sec. 12. NRS 484.3795 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.3795 1. Any person who, while. under the influence of 
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intoxicating liquor or with 0.10 percent or more by weight of 

alcohol in his blood, or while under the influence of a controlled 

substance, or under the combined influence of intoxicating liquor 

and a controlled substance, or any person who inhales, ingests, 

applies or otherwise uses any chemical, poison or organic solvent, 

or any compound or combination of any of these, to a degree which 

renders him incapable of safely driving or exercising actual phy­

sical control of a vehicle, does any act or neglects any duty 

imposed by law while driving or in actual physical control of any 

vehicle on or off the highways of this state, if the act or 

neglect of duty proximately causes the death of, or substantial 

bodily harm to, any person other than himself, shall be punished 

by imprisonment in the state prison for not less than 1 year nor 

more than.6 years and must be further punished by a fine of not 

less than $2,000 nor more than $5,000. A person so imprisoned 

must be segregated insofar as practicable from offenders whose 

crimes were violent, and must be assigned to an institution of 

minimum security or, if space is available, to an honor camp, 

restitution center or similar facility. 

2. No prosecuting attorney may dismiss a charge of violating 

the provisions of subsection 1 in exchange for a plea of guilty or 

nolo contendere to a lesser charge or for any other reason unless 

he knows or it is obvious that the charge is not supported by pro­

bable cause or cannot be proved at the time of trial. A sentence 

imposed pursuant to subsection 1 may not be suspended nor may pro­

bation be granted. 

Sec. 13. NRS 484.381 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.381 1. In any criminal prosecution for a violation of 

NRS 484.379 or 484.3795 in which it is alleged that the defendant 

was driving or in actual physical control of, a vehilce while he 
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had 0.10 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his blood, the 

amount of alcohol shown by a chemical analysis of his blood, 

urine, breath or other bodily substance is presumed to be no less 

than the amount present at the time of the alleged violation. 

2. In any criminal prosecution for a violation of NRS 

484.379 or 484.3795 or for homicide relating to driving a vehicle, 

in which it is alleged-the defendant was driving or in actual phy­

sical control of a vehicle while under the influence of intoxi­

cating liquor, the amount of alcohol in the defendant's blood at 

the time of the test as shown by chemical analysis of the 

defendant's blood, urine, breath or other bodily substance gives 

rise to the following presumptions: 

(a) If there was at that time 0.05 percent or less by weight 

of alcohol in the defendant's blood, that at the time of the 

alleged violation the defendant was not under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor. 

(b).If there was at that time more than 0.05 percent but less 

than 0.10 percent by weight of alcohol in,the defendant's blood, 

no presumption that at the time of the alleged violation the 

defendant was or was not under the influence of intoxicating 

liquor, but this fact may be-considered 'with other competent evi­

dence in determining the guilt or innocence of the defendant. 

(c) If there was at that time 0.10 percent or more by weight 

of alcohol in the defendant's blood, that, at the time of the 

alleged violation the.defendant was under the influence of intoxi­

cating liquor. 

3. The provisions of subsection2 do not limit the 

introduction of any other competent evidence bearing upon the 

question whether or not the defendant was under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor. 
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Sec. 14. NRS 484.383 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.383 1. Except as provided in subsections 4 and 5, any 

person who drives or is in actual physical control of a vehicle on 

a highway or on premises to which the public has access shall be 

deemed to have given his consent to an evidentiary test of his 

blood, urine, breath or other bodily substance for the purpose of 

determining the alcoholic content of his blood or the presence of 

a controlled substance when such a test is administered at the 

direction of a police officer having reasonable grounds to believe 

that the person to be tested was driving or in actual physical 

control of a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating 

liquor or a controlled substance. 

2. The person to be tested must be informed that his failure 

to submit to the test will result in the revocation of his privi­

lege to drive a vehicle. 

3. Any person who is dead, unconscious, or otherwise in a 

condition rendering him incapable of refusal shall be deemed not 

to have withdrawn his consent, and any such test may be admi­

nistered whether or not the person is informed that his failure to 

submit to the test will result in the revocation of his privilege 

to drive a vehicle. 

4. Any person who is afflicted with hemophilia or with a 

heart condition requiring the use of an anticoagulant as deter­

mined by a physician is exempt from any blood test which may be 

required pursuant to this section. 

5. Where the alcoholic content of the blood of the person to 

be tested is in issue, he may refuse to submit to a blood test if 

means are reasonably available to perform a breath or urine test, 

and may refuse to submit to a blood or urine test if means are 

reasonably available to perform a breath test. If the person 
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requests a blood or urine test and the means are reasonably 

available to perform a breath test, and lie is subsequently 

convicted, he must pay for the cost of the substituted test, 

including the fees and expenses of witnesses in court. 

6. Where the presence of a controlled substance in the blood 

of the person is in issue, the officer may direct him to submit to 

a blood or urine test, or both, in addition to the breath test. 

The officer shall inform him that his failure to submit to either 

or both of the blood or urine tests, as required, will result in 

the revocation of his privilege to drive a vehicle. A failure to 

submit to either or both of these tests constitutes a failure to 

submit to one test under this section. 

7. If a person tobe tested fails to submit to a 

required test as directed by a police officer under this section, 

none may be given, except that if the officer has reasonable cause 

to believe that the person to be tested was driving or in actual 

physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance and thereby caused 

death or substantial bodily harm to another, the officer may 

direct that reasonable force be used to the extent necessary to 

obtain a sample of blood from the person to be tested. 

Sec. 15. NRS 484.385 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.385 1. As agent for the department, the officer who 

directed that a test be given under FIRS 484.383 or section 2 of 

this act or who obtained the result of such a test shall imme­

diately serve an order of revocation of the license, permit or 

privilege to drive on a person who fails to submit to the test or 

has 0.10 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his blood, if 

that person is present, and shall seize his license or permit to 

drive. The officer shall then advise him of his right to admi­
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nistrative and judicial review of the revocation and to have a 

temporary license, and shall issue him a temporary license on a 

form approved by the department if he requests one, which is 

effective for only 7 days including the date of issuance. The 

officer shall immediately transmit the person's license or permit 

to the department along with the written certificate required by 

subsection 2. 

2. When a police officer has served an order of revocation of 

a driver's license, permit or privilege on a person pursuant to 

subsection 1, or later receives the result of an evidentiary test 

which indicates that a person, not then present, had 0.10 percent 

or more by weight of alcohol in his blood, the officer shall imme­

diately prepare and transmit to the department, together with the 

seized license or permit and a copy of the result of the test, if 

any, a written certificate that he had: 

(a) An articulable suspicion that the person had been driving 

or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the 

influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance and 

that the person refused to submit to a required preliminary test; 

(b) Reasonable grounds to believe that the person had been 

driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the 

influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance and the 

person refused to submit to a required evidentiary test; or 

(c) Reasonable grounds to believe that the person had been 

driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle with 0.10 per­

cent or more by weight of alcohol in his blood, as determined by a 

chemical test. The certificate must also indicate whether the 

officer served an order of revocation on the person and whether he 

issued the person a temporary license. 
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3. The department, upon receipt of such a. certificate for 

which an order of revocation has not been served, after examining 

the certificate and copy of the result of the chemical test, if 

any, and finding that revocation is proper, shall issue an order 

revoking the person's license, permit or privilege to drive by 

mailing the order to the person at his last known address. The 

order must indicate the grounds for the revocation and the period 

during which the person is not eligible for a license, permit or 

privilege to drive and state that the person has a right to admi­

nistrative and judicial review of the revocation and to have a 

-temporary license. The order of revocation becomes effective 5 

days after mailing. 

4. Notice of an order of revocation' and notice of the affir­

mation of a prior order of revocation or the cancellation of a 

temporary license provided in NRS 484.387 is sufficient if it is 

mailed to the person's last known address as shown by any applica­

tion for a license. The date of mailing may be proved by the cer­

tificate of any officer or employee of the department of motor 

vehicles, specifying the time of mailing the notice. Such a 

notice is 'presumed to have been received upon the expiration of 5 

days after it is deposited, postage prepaid, in the United States 

mail. 

Sec. 16. NRS 484.387 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.387 1. At any time while a person is not eligible for a 

license, permit or privilege to drive following an order of revo­

cation issued pursuant to NRS 484.385, he may request in writing a 

hearing by the department to review the order of revocation, but 

he is only entitled to one hearing. The hearing must be*conducted 

within 15 days after receipt of the request, or as soon thereafter 

as is practicable, in the county where the requester resides 
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unless the parties agree otherwise. The director of the depart­

ment of motor vehicles or his agent may issue subpoenas for the 

attendance of witnesses and the production of relevant books and 

papers and may require a reexamination of the requester. The 

department shall issue an additional temporary license for a 

period which is sufficient to complete the administrative review. 

2. The scope of the hearing must be limited to the issue 

whether or not the person failed to submit to a test or had 0.10 

percent or more by weight of alcohol in his blood at the time of 

the test. Upon an affirmative finding on this issue, the depart­

ment shall affirm the order of revocation. If a negative finding 

is made on the issue, the order of revocation must be rescinded. 

3. If, after the hearing, the order of revocation is 

affirmed, the person whose license, privilege or permit has been 

revoked is entitled to a review of the same issue in district 

court in the same manner as provided by PARS 483.520. The 

reviewing court may issue a stay of the revocation upon 

appropriate terms if a substantial question is presented for 

review which is supported by affidavits or relevant portions of 

the record of the hearing. The court shall notify the department 

upon the issuance of a stay and the department shall issue an 

additional temporary license for a period which is sufficient to 

complete.the review. 

4. If a hearing officer grants a continuance of a hearing at 

the request of the person whose license was revoked, or a court 

does so after issuing a stay of the revocation, the officer or 

court shall notify the department, and the department shall cancel 

the temporary license and notify the holder by mailing the order 

of cancellation to his last known address. 
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Sec. 17. NRS 484.389 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.389. 1. If a person refuses to submit to a required che­

mical test provided for in NRS 484.383 or section 2 of this act, 

evidence of that refusal is admissible in any criminal or admi­

nistrative action arising out of acts alleged to have been com­

mitted while he was driving a vehicle while under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance. 

2. Except as provided in subsection 4 of section 2 of this 

act, a court or hearing officer may not exclude evidence of a 

required test or failure to submit to such a test if the police 

officer or other person substantially complied with the provisions 

of MRS 484.383 to 484.393, inclusive, and section 2 of this act. 

3. If a person submits to such a test, full information con­

cerning that test must be made available, upon his request, to him 

or his attorney. 

Sec. 17.5. NRS 484.393 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.393 1. The results of any blood test administered under 

the provisions of NRS 484.383 or 484.391 are not admissible in any 

hearing or criminal action arising out of the acts alleged to have 

been committed while a person was under the influence of intoxi­

cating liquor or a controlled substance, unless: 

(a) The blood tested was withdrawn by a physician, registered 

nurse, licensed practical nurse, advanced emergency medical 

technician-ambulance or a technican employed in a medical 

laboratory; and 

(b) The test was performed on whole blood. 

2. The limitation contained in paragraph (a) of subsection 1 

does.not apply to the taking of a chemical test of the urine, 

breath or. other bodily substance. 
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3.. No physician, registered nurse, license practical nurse, 

advanced emergency medical technician-ambulance or technician 

incurs any civil or criminal liability as a result of the admi­

nistering of a blood test when requested by a police officer or 

the person to be tested to administer such test. 

Sec. 18. NRS 484.777 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.777 1. The provisions of this chapter are applicable 

and uniform throughout this state on all highways to which the 

public has a right of access or to which persons have access as 

invitees or licensees. 

2. Unless otherwise provided by specific statute, any local 

authority. may enact by ordinance traffic regulations which cover 

the same subject matter as the various sections of this chapter if 

the provisions of the ordinance are not in conflict with this 

chapter. It may also enact by ordinance regulations requiring the 

registration and licensing of bicycles. 

3. A local authority shall not enact an ordinance: 

(a) Governing the registration of vehicles and the licensing 

of drivers; 

(b) Governing the duties and obligations of persons involved 

in traffic accident, other than the duties to stop, render aid and 

provide necessary information; or 

(c) Providing a penalty for an offense for which the penalty 

prescribed by this chapter is greater than that imposed for a 

misdemeanor. 

4. No person convicted or adjudged guilty of a violation of 

a traffic ordinance may be charged or tried in any other-court in 

this state for the same offense. 

Sec. 19. NRS 484.779 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.779 1. Except as provided in subsection 3, a local 
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authority may adopt, by ordinance, regulations with respect to 

highways under its jurisdiction within the reasonable exercise of 

the police power: 

(a) Regulating or prohibiting processions or assemblages on 

the highways. 

(b) Designating particular highways as one-way highways and 

requiring that all vehicles thereon be moved in one specific 

direction. 

(c) Designating any highway as a through highway, requiring 

that all vehicles stop before entering or crossing the highway, or 

designating any intersection as a stop or a yield intersection and 

requiring all vehicles to stop or yield at one or more entrances 

to the intersection. 

^(d) Designating truck and bicycle routes. 

(e) Adopting such other traffic regulations related to speci­

fic highways as are expressly authorized by this chapter. 

2. An ordinance relating to traffic control enacted under 

this section is not effective until official traffic-control de­

vices giving notice of those local traffic regulations are posted 

upon or at the entrances to the highway-or part thereof affected 

as may be most appropriate. 

3. An ordinance enacted under this section is not effective 

.with respect to:. 

(a) Highways constructed and maintained by the department of 

transportation under the authority granted by chapter 408 of NRS; 

or 

(b) Alternative routes for the transport of radioactive, che­

mical or other hazardous materials which are governed by regula­

tions of the United States Department of Transportation, until the 

ordinance has been approved by the board of directors of the 

department of transportation. 

A 
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Sec. 20. NRS 484.791 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

484.791 1. Any peace officer may, without a warrant, arrest 

a person if the officer has reasonable cause for believing that 

such person has committed any of the following offense: 

(a) Homicide by vehicle; 

(b) Driving or being in actual physical control of a vehicle 

while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or with 0.10 per­

cent or more by weight of alcohol in his blood; 

(c) Driving or being in actual physical control of a vehicle 

while under the influence of any controlled substance, under the 

combined influence of intoxicating liquor and a controlled 

substance, or after ingesting, applying or otherwise using any 

chemical, poison or organic solvent, or any compound or com­

bination of any of these, to a degree which renders the person 

incapable of safely driving or exercising actual physical control 

of a vehicle; 

(d) Failure to stop, give information or render reasonable 

assistance in the event of an accident resulting in death or per­

sonal injuries, as prescribed in NRS 484.219 and 484.223; 

(e) Failure to stop or give information in the event of an 

accident resulting in damage to a vehicle,or to other property 

legally upon or adjacent to a highway, as prescribed in NRS 

484.221 and 484.225; or 

(f) Reckless driving. 

2. Whenever any person is arrested as authorized in this 

section he shall be taken without unnecessary delay before the 

proper magistrate as specified in NRS 484.803, except that in the 

case of either of the offenses designated in paragraphs (e) and 

(f) a peace officer has the same discretion as is provided in 

other cases in NRS 484.795. 

-21­



Sec.. 21. NRS 483.250 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

483.250 The department shall not issue any license under the 

provisions of NRS 483.010 to 483.630, inclusive: 

1. To any person who is under the age of 16 years, except 

that the department may issue: 

(a) A restricted license to a person between the ages of 14 

and 16 years pursuant to the provisions of NRS 483.267 and 

483.270. 

(b) An instruction permit to a person who is at least 151/2 

years of age pursuant to the provisions of subsection 1 of NRS 

483.280. 

(c) A restricted instruction permit to a person under the age 

of 16 years pursuant to the provisions of subsection 3 of NRS 

483.280. 

2. To any person whose license has been revoked until the 

expiration of the period during which he is not eligible for a 

license. 

3. To any person whose license has been suspended; but, upon 

good cause shown to-the administrator, the department may issue a 

restricted license to him or shorten any period of suspension. 

4. To any person who has previously- been adjudged to be 

afflicted with or suffering from any mental disability or disease 

and who has not at the time of application been restored to legal 

capacity. 

5. To any person who is required by NRS 483.010 to 483.630, 

inclusive, to take an examination, unless he has successfully 

passed the examination. 

6. To any person when the administrator has good cause to 

believe that by reason of physical or mental disability that per­

son would not be able to drive a motor vehicle with safety upon 

the highways. 
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7. To any person who is not a resident of this state. 

Sec. 22. NRS 4.83. 460 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

483.460 1. Unless otherwise provided by statute, the 

department shall revoke the license, permit or privilege of any 

driver upon receiving a record of his conviction of any of the 

following offenses, when that conviction has become final, and the 

driver is not eligible for a license, permit or privilege to drive 

for the.period indicated: 

(a) For a period of 3 years if the offense is: 

(1) Violation of URS 484.3795 or subsection 2 of URS 

484.377 or homicide resulting from driving a vehicle while under 

the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance. 

(2) A third or subsequent violation within 7 years of 

NRS 484.379. 

(b) For a period of 1 year if the offense is: 

(1) Any.other manslaughter resulting from the driving of 

a motor vehicle or felony in the commission of which a motor 

vehicle is used, including the unlawful taking of a motor vehicle. 

(2) Failure to stop and render aid as required under the 

laws of this state in the event of. a motor vehicle accident 

resulting in the death or bodily injury Of another. 

(3) Perjury or the making of a false affidavit or state­

ment under oath to the department under NRS 483.010 to 483.630, 

inclusive, or under any other law relating to the ownership or 

driving of motor vehicles. 

(4) Conviction, or forfeiture of bail not vacated, upon 

three charges of reckless driving committed within a period of 12 

months. 

(5) A second violation within 7 years of l1RS 484.379 and 

the driver is not eligible for a restricted license during any of 

that period. 
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(c) For a period of 90 days, if the offense is a first viola­

tion within 7 years of NRS 484.379. 

2. The department shall revoke the license, permit or privi­

lege of a driver convicted of violating NRS 484.379 who fails to 

complete the educational course on the use of alcohol and 

controlled substances within the time ordered by the court and 

shall add a period of 90 days during which the driver is not eli­

gible for a license, permit or privilege. 

3. When the department is notified by a court that a per­

son who has been convicted of violating NRS 484.379 has been per­

mitted to enter a program of treatment pursuant to section 11 of 

this act, the department shall reduce by half the period during 

which he is not eligible for a license, permit or privilege to 

drive, but shall restore that reduction in time if notified that 

he was not accepted for or failed to complete the treatment. 

Sec. 23. NRS 483.490 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

483.490 1. Unless otherwise provided by specific statute, 

the department may not suspend a license for a period of more than 

year. 

2. After a driver's license has beensuspended or revoked 

for an offense other than a second violation within 7 years of NRS 

484.379 and half the period during which the driver is not eli­

gible for a license has expired, the department may issue a 

restricted driver's license to an applicant permitting the appli­

cant to drive a motor vehicle to and from work or in the course of 

his work, or both. Before issuing a restricted license, the 

department must be satisfied that a severe hardship exists because 

the applicant has no alternative means of transportation to and 

from work or he must drive regularly as a condition of his 

employment, and that the severe hardship outweighs the risk to the 

public if he is issued a restricted license. 
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3. A driver who violates a condition of a. restricted license 

issued under subsection 2 or by another jurisdiction is guilty of 

a misdemeanor, and if his license was suspended or revoked for a 

violation of NRS 484.379, 484.3795, section 3 of this act or homi­

cide resulting from driving a vehicle while under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, or the violation of 

a law of any other jurisdiction which prohibits the same conduct, 

he shall be punished in the manner provided by subsection 2 of NRS 

483.560. 

4. The periods of suspensions and revocations under this 

chapter and under section 3 of this act must run consecutively, 

except as provided in NRS 483.465 and 483.470, when the suspen­

sions must run concurrently. 

5. Whenever the department suspends or revokes a license, 

the period of suspension, or of ineligibility for a license after 

the revocation, begins upon the effective date of the revocations 

or suspension as contained in the notice thereof. 

Sec. 24. NRS 483.525 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

483.525 The department may not restore a driver's license, 

permit or privilege of driving a motor vehicle in this state which 

has been revoked unless the person who is seeking-the license, 

permit or privilege submits evidence that he is maintaining 

insurance or is financially responsible for the operation of any 

motor vehicle of which he is the owner or which is owned by a 

member of his household and which he may be expected to operate. 

Sec. 25. NRS 483.560 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

483.560 1. Except as provided in subsection 2, any person 

who drives a motor vehicle on a highway or on premises to which 

the public has access at a time when his driver's license has been 

canceled, revoked or suspended is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
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2. If the license was suspended, revoked or. restricted 

because of a violation of NRS 484.379, 484.3795, section 3 of this 

act or homicide resulting from driving a vehicle while under the 

influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, or the 

violation of a law of any other jurisdiction which prohibits the 

same conduct, he shall be punished by imprisonment in jail for not 

less than 30 days nor more than 6 months, and by a fine of not 

less than $500 nor more than $1,000. No person who is punished 

under this section may be granted probation and no sentence 

imposed for such a violation may be suspended. No prosecutor may 

dismiss a charge of such a violation in exchange for a plea of 

guilty or of nolo contendere to a lesser charge or for any other 

reason unless, in his judgment the charge is not supported by pro­

bable cause or cannot be proved at trial. 

3. Any term of confinement imposed under the provisions of 

this section may be served intermittently at the discretion of the 

judge or justice of the peace. This discretion must be exercised 

after considering all the circumstances surrounding the offense, 

and the family and employment of the person convicted. However, 

the full term of confinement must be served within 6 months after 

the date of conviction, and any segment of `time the person is con­

fined must not consist of less than 24 hours. 

4. Jail sentences simultaneously imposed under this section 

and section 10 or 11- of this act must run consecutively. 

5. The department upon receiving a record of the conviction 

or punishment of any person under this section upon a charge of 

driving a vehicle while his license was: 

(a) Suspended shall extend the period of the suspension for 

an additional like period. 

(b) Revoked shall extend the period of ineligibility for a 

license, permit or privilege to drive fo an additional 1 year. 
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(c) Restricted shall revoke his restricted license and extend 

the period of ineligibility for a license, permit or privilege to 

drive for an additional year. 

Suspensions and revocations under this section must run 

consecutively. 

Sec. 26. NRS 50.315 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

50.315 1. Whenever any person has qualified in the district 

court of any county as an expert witness for the purpose of 

testifying regarding the presence in the blood or urine of a per­

son of alcohol, a controlled substance whose use or possession is 

regulated by chapter 453 of NRS, or a chemical, poison or organic 

solvent, or the identity of a.controlled substance alleged to have 

been in the possession of a person, the expert's affidavit is 

admissible in evidence in a criminal trial in the district court 

in any county in the district or a preliminary examination or 

trial in any justice's or municipal court in any county in the 

district to prove the identity of the person from whom the affiant 

received the blood or urine or purported controlled substance for 

analysis and the presence or absence of alcohol or a controlled 

substance, chemical, poison or organic solvent, as the case may 

be. 

2. Whenever a person withdraws a sample of blood from 

another for the purpose of analysis by an expert as mentioned in 

subsection 1, the affidavit of the person who withdraws the sample 

is admissible in any court in any criminal proceeding to prove the 

occupation of the affiant, the identity of the person from whom 

the affiant withdrew the sample, the fact that the affiant kept 

the sample in his sole custody or control and in substantially the 

same condition as when he first obtained it until delivering it to 

another and the person to whom the affiant delivered it. 
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3. Whenever a person receives from another a sample of blood 

or urine or other tangible evidence that is alleged to contain 

alcohol or a controlled substance, chemical, poison or organic 

solvent, the affidavit of the person who ;receives the sample or 

other evidence may be admitted in any court in any criminal pro­

ceeding to prove the occupation of the affiant, the facts that the 

affiant received a sample or other evidence from another person 

and kept it in his sole custody or control in substantially the 

same condition as when he first received it until delivering it to 

another, and the identity of the person to whom the affiant deli­

vered it. 

Sec. 27. NRS 50.325 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

50.325 1. Whenever a person is charged with an offense 

punishable under chapters 453 or 484 of NRS or homicide resulting 

from driving a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating 

liquor or a controlled substance as defined in chapter 453 of NRS, 

or a chemical, poison or organic solvent, and it is necessary to 

prove the existence of any alcohol or the existence or identity of 

a controlled substance, chemical, poison or organic solvent, the 

district attorney or city attorney may request that the affidavit 

of an expert or other person described in NRS 50.315 be admitted 

in evidence at the trial of or preliminary examination into the 

offense. 

2. The request must be made at least 10 days prior to the 

date set for the trial or examination and must be sent to the 

defendant's counsel and to the defendant, by registered or 

certified mail, by the prosecuting attorney. 

3. If the defendant or his counsel notifies the district 

attorney or city attorney by registered or certified mail at least 

96 hours prior to the date set for the trial or examination that 
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the presence of the expert or other person is demanded, the affi­

davit must not be admitted. A defendant who demands the presence 

of the expert or other person and is convicted of violating NRS 

484.379 shall pay the fees and expenses of that witness in court. 

4. If at the trial or preliminary examination the affidavit 

of an expert or other person has been admitted in evidence, and it 

appears to be in the interest of justice that the expert or other 

person be examined or cross-examined in person, the judge or 

justice of the peace may adjourn the trial or preliminary examina­

tion for a period of not to exceed 3 judicial days for the purpose 

of receiving such testimony. The time within which a preliminary 

examination or trial is required is extended by the time of the 

adjournment. 

Sec. 28 NRS 50.335 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

50.335 The affidavit of an expert referred to in subsection 

1 of NRS 50.315 and in NRS 50.325 must be substantially in one of 

the following forms: 

1. If-the sample contained a controlled substance as defined 

in chapter 453 of NRS or a chemical, poison or organic solvent: 

STATE OF NEVADA 
ss. 

COUNTY OF ) 

being first duly sworn, deposes and says: That I 
am (occupation); that on (date) I 
qualified before a district judge of this district as a witness 
qualified to detect the presence and.identity in the blood or 
urine of a person of a controlled substance the use or possession 
of which is regulated by chapter 453 of NRS or a chemical, poison 
or organic solvent, or the identity of a controlled substance 
alleged to have been in the possession of a person; that on 

(date) I obtained. certain evidence from 
bearing Identification No. and consisting of 
for the purpose of performing a chemical analysis upon the con­
tents thereof; that on (date) I analyzed the substance 
or sample and determined it to be or contain 
(substance); and that on (date) I replaced the 
contents in the container, sealed the container with a seal 
bearing my initials ; that the evidence was in my sole 
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custody or control and remained in substantially the same con­
dition as when it was first obtained by me, until on (date) 

returned the evidence to (name) or that I 
still have the evidence in my possession. 

Affiant 

Title 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 

this day of , 19 

Notary Public 

2. If the sample contained alcohol: 

STATE OF NEVADA ) 
ss. 

COUNTY OF ) 

being first duly sworn, deposes and says: That I 
am (occupation); that on (date) I 
qua ified before a district judge of this district as a witness 
qualified to detect the presence of alcohol in the blood or urine 
of a person; that on (date) I received a sample of 
blood or urine bearing Identification No. from 
(name); that on (date) I analyzed the sample and deter­
mined that the b ooT d or urine of the person from whom the sample 
was taken contained (percent) by weight of alcohol; that 
the sample was in my sole custody or control and remained in 
substantially the same condition as when it was first obtained by 
me until on (date) I returned the sample to 
(name) or that I still have the sample in my possession. 

Affiant 

Title 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 

this day of , 19 

Notary Public 

Sec. 29. Chapter 50 of NRS is hereby amended by adding 

thereto the provisions set forth as sections 30 and 31 of this 

act. 
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Sec. 30. The affidavit which is referred to in subsection 2 

of NRS 50.315 and in NRS 50.325 must be substantially in the 

following form: 

STATE OF NEVADA ) 
ss. 

COUNTY OF 

being first duly sworn, deposes and says: That I am 
(occupation); that on (date) I withdrew a 

sample of Mod from a person known to me as (name) 
and affixed to the sample a seal or tag bearing Identification No. 

; that the sample was in my sole custody or control and 
remained in substantially the same condition as when it was first 
obtained by me until on (date) I delivered the sample 
to (name). 

Affiant 

Titer 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 

this day of , 19 

Notary Public 

Sec. 31. The affidavit which is referred to in subsection 3 

of NRS 50.315 and in NRS 50.325 must be substantially in the 

following form: 

STATE OF NEVADA 
ss. 

COUNTY OF ) 

being first duly sworn, deposes and says: That I am 
(occupation); that on (date) I received 

certain evidence bearing Identification No. from 
(name); that the evidence was in my sole custody or control and 
remained in substantially the same condition as when it was first 
obtained by me until on (date) I delivered the evidence 
to (name). 

Affiant 

Title 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 

this day of , 19 

Notary Public 
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Sec. 32. NRS 179.245 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

179.245 1. A person who has been convicted of: 

(a) Any felony may, after 15 years from the date of his con­

viction or, if he is imprisoned, from the date of his release from 

actual custody; 

(b) Any gross misdemeanor may, after` 10 years from the date 

of his conviction or release from custody; 

(c) A violation of NRS 484.379 other than a felony may, after 

7 years from the' date of his conviction or release from custody; 

or 

(d) Any other misdemeanor may, after 5 years from the date of 

his conviction or release from custody, 

petition the court in which the conviction was obtained for the 

sealing of all records relating to the conviction. 

2. The court shall notify the district attorney of the 

county in which the conviction was obtained, and the district 

attorney and any person having relevant evidence may testify and 

present evidence at the hearing on the petition. 

3. If after hearing the court finds that, in the period 

prescribed in subsection 1, the petitioner has not been arrested, 

except for minor moving or standing traffic violations, the court 

may order sealed all records of the conviction. which are in the 

custody of the court, of another court in the State of Nevada or 

of a public or private agency, company or official in the State of 

Nevada,-and may also order all such criminal identification 

records of the petitioner returned to the file of the court where 

the proceeding was commenced from, but not limited to, the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation, the California identification and 

investigation bureau, sheriffs' offices and all other law enforce­

ment agencies reasonably known by either4'the petitioner or the 
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court to have possession of such records. 

Sec.'33. NRS 458.260 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

458.260 1. Except as provided in subsection 2, the use of 

alcohol, the status of drunkard and the fact of being found in an 

intoxicated condition are not: 

(a) Public offenses and shall not be so treated in any ordi­

nance or resolution of a county, city or town. 

(b) Elements of an offense giving rise to a criminal penalty 

or civil sanction. 

2. 'The provisions of subsection 1 do not apply to the offen­

ses enumerated in NRS 412.536, 412.538, 483.460, 483.490, 484.379, 

484.3795, 488.205, 493.130, 705.250, subsection 2 of NRS 483.560, 

section 3 of this act and homicide resulting from driving while 

under the influence of intoxicating liquor or to similar offenses 

set forth in any ordinance or resolution of a county, city or 

town. 

3. This section does not make intoxication an excuse or 

defense for any criminal act. 

Sec. 34. NRS 458.300 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

458.300 Subject to the provisions of NRS 458.290 to 458.350, 

inclusive, an alcoholic or a drug addict-who has been convicted of 

a crime is eligible to elect treatment under the supervision of a 

state-approved alcohol or drug treatment facility before he is 

sentenced unless: 

1. The crime is a crime against the person as provided for 

in chapter 200 of NRS; 

2. The crime is that of selling a controlled substance as 

defined in chapter 453 of NRS; 

3. The crime is that of driving under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor or while an habitual user or under the 
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influence of a controlled substance or while incapable of safely 

driving because of the use of any chemical, poison or organic 

solvent as provided for in NRS 484.379, or such driving which 

causes the death of or substantial bodily harm to another person 

as provided in NRS 484.3795; 

4. The alcoholic or drug addict has a record of one or more 

convictions of a crime of violence or of: selling a controlled 

substance as defined in chapter 453 of NRS, or of two or more con­

victions of any felony; 

5. Other criminal proceedings alleging commission of a 

felony are pending against the alcoholic or drug addict; 

6. The alcoholic or drug addict is, on probation.or parole 

and the appropriate parole or probation authority does not consent 

to.such'election; or 

7. The alcoholic or drug addict elected and was admitted, 

pursuant to NRS 458.290 to 458.350, inclusive, to a treatment 

program on two prior occasions within any consecutive 2-year 

period. 

Sec. 35. In extending to 7 years the period during which 

prior offenses may be considered, the legislature intends that any 

offense as defined in subsection 6 of section 10 of this act which 

occurred on or after July 1, 1976, and is evidenced by a convic­

tion be considered a prior offense for the purposes of this act. 
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STATE OF NEVADA Date Served ................. _................................. ...... 

DEPARTMENT OF 
MOTOR VEHICLES AND PUBLIC SAFETY Enf. Agency .......................................................... 

DRIVER'S LICENSE DIVISION 

555 Wright Way Ticket/Case No .................................................. 

Carson City, Nevada 89711-0400 Court....... _.... _.......... _....... ,...._.,.- ................. __. 

DOB .............. .............. _.............. „.......... -................


Name ..................................................... _....... _.._.............................................................................................................. Soc. Sec. No .......... ..... ............. ..........................

First Middle Last 

Address .................. _......_._.................. _................................................................ _........................................................... Dr. Lic. No................................. ...__../........... _..

State 

City _._...................... ._.......... _._ .................... _...... _State ....................................... .._............ Zip.......................... _.... Rec'd By.............................................................,...


NOTICE OF REVOCATION 
EVIDENTIARY BREATH TEST/IMPLIED CONSENT 

You are hereby notified that on the above date you were asked to submit to a chemical test and the following warning was given to you: 
-You are requested to submit to a chemical test to determine the alcoholic and/or controlled substance content of your blood. 
-You have a choice of whether the test is to be of your blood or breath, where available. 
-Failure to submit to a chemical test will result in the revocation of your driving privilege. If this is your first refusal in the last seven years, you will 

not be eligible for a driver's license for one year. If you have previously refused a chemical test in the last seven years, you will not be eligible for a 
driver's license for three years. 

-If you select a breath test, you will be required to provide two consecutive samples of your breath. A willful failure to provide a second sample is a 
failure to submit to a chemical test, and your driving privilege will be revoked. 

ORDER OF REVOCATION 

This is your official NOTICE OF THE REVOCATION. If you disagree with the Revocation of your driving privileges, you may request an Adminis­
trative Hearing, as indicated on the back of this form. 

q FAILURE TO SUBMIT-Because you failed to submit to testing, the Department will revoke your driving privileges as indicated in the warning. 
q ILLEGAL PER SE-Because the breath test to which you submitted disclosed an alcohol content of 0.10 percent or more, the Department will 

revoke your driving privileges for 90 days. Results of the breath test indicated ............................./............................percent blood alcohol content. 

SURRENDER OF DRIVER'S LICENSE 

By law, the officer is required to take all Nevada issued licenses in your possession. 

If license is not attached, indicate reason .........................................................................................._................................................................,.......................


TEMPORARY LICENSE 

If you have a valid license, you may be issued a temporary license effective for only seven days. 

q This entire notice is valid as a temporary license. NOT VALID IF DETACHED. 

THIS TEMPORARY LICENSE IS VALID ONLY THROUGH ..................... _..... _.._.................................. _...................... -.............. ...__.........-.................. _..

Date 

Licensee Height .................... Weight.................... Class.................... Restriction ................................... :..._........... _.......... _._.._............................ -............


q .No temporary license issued because ......................................................................................................................................................................................_......................._.


OFFICER'S CERTIFICATION OF CAUSE 

I am an Officer of the (Department)...._ ................................................._............................................._............_............._.._._................................_..._..._..._._.--_....and on


._....... _.......... _.... _........._ ............................. _.... ......... .._............ , 19................ I confronted the above-named person; at that time I had: 
q Reasonable grounds to believe that the person had been driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor 

or a controlled substance and the person failed to submit to a required evidentiary test. 
q Reasonable grounds to believe that the person had been driving or in actual physical control of vehicle with 0.10 percent or more by weight of alcohol 

in his blood as determined by a breath test. A copy of the results of the breath test attached. 

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER 

I attest the above information is true and correct. 

Full Name ......... ..._.......... . ..................... _.._......... ............... _.......................................................................... ...... .......Badge No............................._..........._... 
PLEASE PRINT 

Work Telephone .__..__..............__......... _._......... __ ........ .....Signature _...... ...................................................... _............. _....... ............... »................ ..._............. _.._.............. _..


ORIGINAL (Canary)-Driver's License Division; DUPLICATE (Whi(e)-Driver; TRIPLICATE (Pink)-Law Enforcement Agency. 
OLD 45 (Rev. 7-941 (01.7690 eO 



REQUEST FOR HEARING-PROCEDURES AND INFORMATION: 

You have the right to an administrative hearing before the Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety, Hearing Officer. 
Requests may be made by calling 885-3240. If the call is long distance, you may use the Toll-free Line 1-800-992-0900, Ext. 
3240. Written requests can be made to the Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety, Hearing Office, 555 Wright Way, 
Carson City, Nevada 897 1 1-0900. 

Your hearing will be scheduled within 15 days of receipt of the request, when possible. 

If you have a valid license, you will be given a Temporary License to cover the Administrative Hearing period. 

You will be given the opportunity to present evidence and cross-examine witnesses. If you wish, you may be represented by an 
attorney; however, this would be at your own expense. 

The hearing will cover the issues: 

(a) Whether you failed to submit to a chemical test, or 

(b) Whether you submitted to a breath test which showed an alcohol concentration of 0.10 percent or more. 

Following this hearing a decision will be rendered by the Hearing Officer which either affirms or rescinds the revocation 
action. If you disagree with the Hearing Officer's decision you have the right of judicial review by appealing the decision to 
district court. 

GENERAL INFORMATION: 

If your license is revoked, you may not drive again in Nevada under any condition, including using a driver's license from 
another jurisdiction, until you have complied with Nevada requirements, and reinstated your driving privileges. 

REINSTATEMENT INFORMATION: 

Prior to reinstatement of your driver's license, it is necessary for you to send or bring to the Driver's License Division proof of 
financial responsibility. The most common method is to request the home office of your insurance company to forward a SR­
22 Form to the Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety, Driver's License Division, 555 Wright Way, Carson City, 
Nevada 89711. This form is used to certify there is. in effect a policy of liability insurance in respect to certain motor vehicles 
you own or wish to operate. This requirement must be maintained for a three-year period from the date of reinstatement. 

If you are not a resident of Nevada, you will receive a notice of reinstatement only. 

You may not drive in Nevada until: 

(a) The expiration of the revocation period as indicated in correspondence from the Driver's License Division; and 

(b) You have made application for and have received a new license; and 

(c) You have successfully completed the drive, written, and vision tests and paid a $50.00 reinstatement fee. 

RESTRICTED HARDSHIP LICENSE INFORMATION: 

You may be eligible for a restricted hardship license after serving one-half of your revocation period, if this is an Implied 
Consent Revocation or a first DUI Offense Revocation. 

Additional information may be obtained by writing to the Driver's License Division. 



STATE OF NEVADA 

DEPARTMENT OF 
MOTOR VEHICLES AND PUBLIC SAFETY Enf. Agency...; 

DRIVER'S LICENSE DIVISION 

555 Wright Way Ticket/Case No ......................................... 

Carson City, Nevada 89711-0900 Court .................. .....................................


Name .............................................................................. .. ............................................... ...._.................. DOB .............................................................

First Middle Last 

Address ................................................................................................................................................. Soc. Sec. No .............................................


City .................. ............................ . ............State.. ................................. ..Zip................... .. Dr. Lic. No. ...........................................


OFFICER'S CERTIFICATION OF CAUSE 
(To be completed after receipt of chemical test results) 

I am an Officer of the (Department) ...........................................................................................................................................................and on


........................................................................................ 19.............., I confronted the above-named individual.

Date of Arrest 

I had reasonable grounds to believe that the person had been driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle with 0.10 percent 
or more by weight of alcohol in his blood. A chemical test was subsequently conducted. A copy of the results of the chemical test 
is attached. 

Above-named individual submitted to a q blood test; q urine test (To be used ONLY if person is afflicted with 
hemophilia or a heart condition requiring use of an anticoagulant as noted in NRS 484.383.4.). 

I did not serve an Order of Revocation or issue a temporary license on the above-named individual and I request the Driver's 
License Division to issue the appropriate Revocation Order. 

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER 
I attest the above information is true and correct. 

Full Name ...................................................................................................Badge No......................Work Telephone.....................................................

PLEASE PRINT 

Signature ..........................................................................................................................................._....Date......................................................................._ 
ORIGINAL (White)-Driver's License Division; DUPLICATE (Canary)-Law Enforcement Agency. 

DLD-50 (Rev. 3.90) (o)-4131 ... 
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186 951/2 ¶ 11- 501 MOTOR VEHICLES 
Vehicle Code § 11- 501 

violating this Section or a similar provision of a local 
ordinance committed within 5 years of a previous violation 
of this Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance 
shall be mandatorily sentenced to a minimum of 48 consec­
utive hours of imprisonment or assigned to a minimum of 
10 days of community service as may be determined by the 
court. The imprisonment or assignment shall not be sub­
ject to suspension nor shall the person be eligible for 
probation in order to reduce the sentence or assignment. 

(d) Every person convicted of committing a violation of 
this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony if: 

(1) Such person committed a violation of paragraph (a) 
for the third or subsequent time; or 

(2) Such person committed a violation of paragraph (a) 
while driving a school bus with children on board; or 

(3) Such person in committing a violation of paragraph 
(a) was involved in a motor vehicle accident which resulted 
in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigure­
ment to another, when such violation was the proximate 
cause of such injuries. 

(e) After a finding of guilt and prior to any final sen­
tencing, or an order for supervision, for an offense based 
upon an arrest for a violation of this Section or a similar 
provision of a local ordinance, individuals shall be required 
to undergo a professional evaluation to determine if an 
alcohol or other drug abuse problem exists and the extent 
of such a problem. Programs conducting these evalua­
tions shall be licensed by the Department of Alcoholism 
and Substance Abuse. The cost of any such professional 
evaluation shall be paid for by the individual required to 
undergo such professional evaluation. 

(f) Every person found guilty of violating this Section, 
whose operation of a motor vehicle while in violation of 
this Section proximately caused any incident resulting in 
an appropriate emergency response shall be liable for the 
expense of an emergency response as provided under 
Section 5-5-3 of the Unified Code of Corrections.' 

The Secretary of State shall revoke the driving privi­
leges of any person convicted under this Section or a 
similar provision of a local ordinance. 
Amended by P.A. 86-581, § 2, eff. Jan. 1, 1990. 

1 Chapter 38, 11005-5-3. 

For text of paragraph effective July 1, 1990, 
see 011-501, post, 

11-501. Driving while under the influence of alcohol, 
other drug, or combination thereof 

Text of paragraph effective July 1, 1990. 

§ 11-501. Driving while under the influence of alcohol, 
other drug, or combination thereof. (a) A person shall not 
drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle within 
this State while: 

1. The alcohol concentration in such person's blood or 
breath is 0.10 or more based on the definition of blood and 
breath units in Section 11-501.2; 

2. Under the influence of alcohol; 
3. Under the influence of any other drug or combina­

tion of drugs to a degree which renders such person 
incapable of safely driving; or 

4. Under the combined influence of alcohol and any 
other drug or drugs to a degree which renders such 
person incapable of safely driving; or 

5. There is any amount of a drug, substance or com­
pound in such person's blood or urine resulting from the 
unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the 
Cannabis Control Act, as now or hereafter amended I or a 
controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Sub• 
stance Act as now or hereafter amended.2 

(b) The fact that any person charged with violating this 
Section is or has been legally entitled to use alcohol, or 
other drugs, or any combination of both, shall not consti­
tute a defense against any charge of violating this Section. 

(c) Except as provided under paragraph (d) of this Sec­
tion, every person convicted of violating this Section or a 
similar provision of a local ordinance, shall be guilty of a 
Class A misdemeanor and, in addition to any other crimi­
nal or administrative action, for any second conviction of 
violating this Section or a similar provision of a local 
ordinance committed within 5 years of a previous violation 
of this Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance 
shall be mandatorily sentenced to a minimum of 48 consec­
utive hours of imprisonment. or assigned to a minimum of 
10 days of community service as may be determined by the 
court. The imprisonment or assignment shall not be sub­
ject to suspension nor shall the person be eligible for 
probation in order to reduce the sentence or assignment. 

(d) Every person convicted of committing a violation of 
this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony if: 

(1) Such person committed a violation of paragraph (a) 
for the third or subsequent time; or 

(2) Such person committed a violation of paragraph (a) 
while driving a school bus with children on board; or 

(3) Such person in committing a violation of paragraph 
(a) was involved in a motor vehicle accident which resulted 
in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigure­
ment to another, when such violation was the proximate 
cause of such injuries. 

(e) After a finding of guilt and prior to any final sen­
tencing, or an order for supervision, for an offense based 
upon an arrest for a violation of this Section or a similar 
provision of a local ordinance, individuals shall be required 
to undergo a professional evaluation to determine if an 
alcohol or other drug abuse problem exists and the extent 
of such a problem. Programs conducting these evalua­
tions shall be licensed by the Department of Alcoholism 
and Substance Abuse. The cost of any such professional 
evaluation shall be paid for by the individual required to 
undergo such professional evaluation. 

(f) Every person found guilty of violating this Section, 
whose operation of a motor vehicle while in violation of 
this Section proximately caused any incident resulting in 
an appropriate emergency response shall be liable for the 
expense of an emergency response as provided under 
Section 5-5-3 of the Unified Code of Corrections. 

The Secretary of State shall revoke the driving privi­
leges of any person convicted under this Section or a 
similar provision of a local ordinance. 
Amended by P.A. 86-581, § 2, eff. Jan. 1, 1990; P.A. 
86-1019, § 7, eff. July 1, 1990. 

1 Chapter 661h, 1701 et seq. 

2 Chapter 56%, 61100 et seq. 

For text of paragraph effective until July 1, 
1990, see 1111-501, ante. 

P.A. 86-1019 incorporated the amendment by P.A. 86-581. 
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11-501.1. Suspension of drivers license-Statutory 
summary alcohol or other drug related sus­
pension-Implied consent 

Text of paragraph effective until July 1, 1990. 

§ 11-501.1. Suspension of drivers license-Statutory 
summary alcohol or other drug related suspension-Im­
plied consent. (a) Any person who drives or is in actual 
physical control of a motor vehicle upon the public high­
ways of this State shall be deemed to have given consent, 
subject to the provisions of Section 11-501.2, to a chemical 
test or tests of blood, breath, or urine for the purpose of 
determining the alcohol, other drug, or combination there­
of content of such person's blood if arrested, as evidenced 
by the issuance of a Uniform Traffic Ticket, for any 
offense as defined in Section 11-501 or a similar provision 
of a local ordinance. The test or tests shall be adminis­
tered at the direction of the arresting officer. The law 
enforcement agency employing said officer shall designate 
which of the aforesaid tests shall be administered. 

(b) Any person who is dead, unconscious or who is 
otherwise in a condition rendering such person incapable 
of refusal, shall be deemed not to have withdrawn the 
consent provided by paragraph (a) of this Section and the 
test or tests may be administered, subject to the provisions 
of Section 11-501.2. 

(c) A person requested to submit to a test as provided 
above shall be warned by the law enforcement officer 
requesting the test that a refusal to submit to the test will 
result in the statutory summary suspension of such per­
son's privilege to operate a motor vehicle as provided in 
Section 6-208.1 of this Code. The person shall also be 
warned by the law enforcement officer that if the person 
submits to the test or tests provided in paragraph (a) of 
this Section and the alcohol concentration in such person's 
blood or breath is 0.10 or greater, a statutory summary 
suspension of such person's privilege to operate a motor 
vehicle, as provided in Sections 6-208.1 and 11-501.1 of 
this Code will, be imposed. 

(d) If the person refuses testing or submits to a test 
which discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more, 
the law enforcement officer shall immediately submit a 
sworn report to the circuit court of venue and the Secre­
tary of State, certifying that the test or tests was or were 
requested pursuant to paragraph (a) and the person re­
fused to submit to a test, or tests, or submitted to testing 
which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more. 

(e) Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforce­
ment officer submitted under paragraph (d), the Secretary 
of State shall enter the statutory summary suspension for 
the periods specified in Section 6-208.1, and effective as 
provided in paragraph (g). 

If the person is a first offender as defined in Section 
11-500 of this Code, and is not convicted of a violation of 
Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local 
ordinance, then reports received by the Secretary of State 
under this Section shall, except during the actual time the 
Statutory Summary Suspension is in effect, be privileged 
information and for use only by the courts, police officers, 
prosecuting authorities or the Secretary of State. 

(f) The law enforcement officer submitting the sworn 
report under paragraph (d) shall serve immediate notice of 
the statutory summary suspension on the person and such 
suspension shall be effective as provided in paragraph (g). 
In cases where the blood alcohol concentration of 0.10 or 

Vehicle Code § 11- 501.1 

greater is established by a subsequent analysis of blood or 
urine collected at the time of arrest, the arresting officer 
shall give notice as provided in this Section or by deposit in 
the United States mail of such notice in an envelope with 
postage prepaid and addressed to such person at his 
address as shown on the Uniform Traffic Ticket and the 
statutory summary suspension shall begin as provided in 
paragraph (g). The officer shall confiscate any Illinois 
driver's license or permit on the person at the time of 
arrest. If the person has a valid driver's license or permit, 
the officer shall issue the person a receipt, in a form 
prescribed by the Secretary of State, which will allow that 
person to drive during the periods provided for in para­
graph (g). The officer shall immediately forward the 
driver's license or permit to the circuit court of venue 
along with the sworn report provided for in paragraph (d). 

(g) The statutory summary suspension referred to in 
this Section shall take effect on the 46th day following the 
date the notice of the statutory summary suspension was 
given to the person. 

(h) The following procedure shall apply whenever a 
person is arrested for any offense as defined in Section 
11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance: 

Upon receipt of the sworn report from the law enforce­
ment officer, the Secretary of State shall confirm the 
statutory summary suspension by mailing a notice of the 
effective date of such suspension to the person and the 
court of venue. However, should the sworn report be 
defective by not containing sufficient information or be 
completed in error, the confirmation of the statutory sum­
mary suspension shall not be mailed to the person or 
entered to the record, instead the sworn report shall be 
forwarded to the court of venue with a copy returned to 
the issuing agency identifying any such defect. 
Amended by P.A. 86-929, § 2, eff. Sept. 21, 1989. 

For text of paragraph effective July 1, 1990, 
see f 11-501.1, post. 

11-501.1. Suspension of drivers license-Statutory 
summary alcohol or other drug related sus­
pension-Implied consent 

Text of paragraph effective July 1, 1990. 

§ 11-501.1. Suspension of drivers license-Statutory 
summary alcohol or other drug related suspension-Im­
plied consent. (a) Any person who drives or is in actual 
physical control of a motor vehicle upon the public high­
ways of this State shall be deemed to have given consent, 
subject to the provisions of Section 11-501.2, to a chemical 
test or tests of blood, breath, or urine for the purpose of 
determining the alcohol, other drug, or combination there­
of content of such person's blood if arrested, as evidenced 
by the issuance of a Uniform Traffic Ticket, for any 
offense as defined in Section 11-501 or a similar provision 
of a local ordinance. The test or tests shall be adminis­
tered at the direction of the arresting officer. The law 
enforcement agency employing said officer shall designate 
which of the aforesaid tests shall be administered. A 
urine test may be administered even after a blood or 
breath test or both has been administered. 

(b) Any person who is dead, unconscious or who is 
otherwise in a condition rendering such person incapable 
of refusal, shall be deemed not to have withdrawn the 
consent provided by paragraph (a) of this Section and the 
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test or tests may be administered, subject to the provisions 
of Section 11-501.2. 

(c) A person requested to submit to a test as provided 
above shall be warned by the law enforcement officer 
requesting the test that a refusal to submit to the test will 
result in the statutory summary suspension of such per­
son's privilege to operate a motor vehicle as provided in 
Section 6-208.1 of this Code. The person shall also be 
warned by the law enforcement officer that if the person 
submits to the test or tests provided in paragraph (a) of 
this Section and the alcohol concentration in such person's 
blood or breath is 0.10 or greater, or any amount of a 
drug, substance or compound resulting from the unlawful 
use or consumption of cannabis, as covered by the Canna­
bis Control Act as now or hereafter amended,' or a con­
trolled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substance 
Act, as now or hereafter amended,2 is detected in such 
person's blood or urine, a statutory summary suspension 
of such person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle, as 
provided in Sections 6-208.1 and 11-501.1 of this Code will, 
be imposed. 

(d) If the person refuses testing or submits to a test 
which discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more, 
or any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in such 
person's blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or 
consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act 
or a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled 
Substances Act, the law enforcement officer shall immedi­
ately submit a sworn report to the circuit court of venue 
and the Secretary of State, certifying that the test or tests 
was or were requested pursuant to paragraph (a) and the 
person refused to submit to a test, or tests, or submitted 
to testing which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.10 
or more. 

(e) Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforce­
ment officer submitted under paragraph (d), the Secretary 
of State shall enter the statutory summary suspension for 
the periods specified in Section 6-208.1, and effective as 
provided in paragraph (g). 

If the person is a first offender as defined in Section 
11-500 of this Code, and is not convicted of a violation of 
Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local 
ordinance, then reports received by the Secretary of State 
under this Section shall, except during the actual time the 
Statutory Summary Suspension is in effect, be privileged 
information and for use only by the courts, police officers, 
prosecuting authorities or the Secretary of State. 

(f) The law enforcement officer submitting the sworn 
report under paragraph (d) shall serve immediate notice of 
the statutory summary suspension on the person and such 
suspension shall be effective as provided in paragraph (g). 
In cases where the blood alcohol concentration of 0.10 or 
greater or any amount of a drug, substance or compound 
resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of canna­
bis, as covered by the Cannabis Control Act, as now or 
hereafter amended, or a controlled substance listed in the 
Illinois Controlled Substance Act, as now or hereafter 
amended, is established by a subsequent analysis of blood 
or urine collected at the time of arrest, the arresting 
officer shall give notice as provided in this Section or by 
deposit in the United States mail of such notice in an 
envelope with postage prepaid and addressed to such 
person at his address as shown on the Uniform Traffic 
Ticket and the statutory summary suspension shall begin 
as provided in paragraph (g). The officer shall confiscate 
anv Illinois driver's license or permit on the person at the 

time of arrest. If the person has a valid driver's license or 
permit, the officer shall issue the person a receipt, in a 
form prescribed by the Secretary of State, which will allow 
that person to drive during the periods provided for in 
paragraph (g). The officer shall immediately forward the 
driver's license or permit to the circuit court of venue 
along with the sworn report provided for in paragraph (d). 

(g) The statutory summary suspension referred to in 
this Section shall take effect on the 46th day following the 
date the notice of the statutory summary suspension was 
given to the person. 

(h) The following procedure shall apply whenever a per­
son is arrested for any offense as defined in Section 
11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance: 

Upon receipt of the sworn report from the law enforce­
ment officer, the Secretary of State shall confirm the 
statutory summary suspension by mailing a notice of the 
effective date of such suspension to the person and the 
court of venue. However, should the sworn report be 
defective by not containing sufficient information or be 
completed in error, the confirmation of the statutory sum­
mary suspension shall not be mailed to the person or 
entered to the record, instead the sworn report shall be 
forwarded to the court of venue with a copy returned to 
the issuing agency identifying any such defect. 
Amended by P.A. 86-929, § 2, eff. Sept. 21, 1989; P.A. 
86-1019, § 7, eff. July 1, 1990. 

1 Chapter 561/s, 1701 et seq. 
2 Chapter 661/16 11100 et seq. 

For text of paragraph effective until July 1, 
1990, see A11-501.1, ante. 

P.A. 86-1019 incorporated the amendment by P.A. 86-929. 

11-501.2. Chemical and other tests 
§ 11-501.2. Chemical and other tests. (a) Upon the 

trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding arising 
out of an arrest for an offense as defined in Section 
11-501 or a similar local ordinance or proceedings pursu­
ant to Section 2-118.1, evidence of the concentration of 
alcohol, other drug or combination thereof in a person's 
blood or breath at the time alleged, as determined by 
analysis of the person's blood, urine, breath or other 
bodily substance, shall be admissible. Where such test is 
made the following provisions shall apply: 

1. Chemical analyses of the person's blood, urine, 
breath or other bodily substance to be considered valid 
under the provisions of this Section shall have been per­
formed according to standards promulgated by the De­
partment of Public Health in consultation with the Depart­
ment of State Police by an individual possessing a valid 
permit issued by that Department for this purpose. The 
Director of the Department of Public Health in consulta­
tion with the Department of State Police is authorized to 
approve satisfactory techniques or methods, to ascertain 
the qualifications and competence of individuals to conduct 
such analyses, to issue permits which shall be subject to 
termination or revocation at the discretion of that Depart­
ment and to certify the accuracy of breath testing equip­
ment. The Illinois Department of Public Health shall 
prescribe regulations as necessary to implement this Sec­
tion. 

2. When a person shall submit to a blood test at the 
request of a law enforcement officer under the provisions 
of Section 11-501.1, only a physician authorized to practice 
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medicine, a registered nurse or other qualified person 
approved by the Department of Public Health may with­
draw blood for the purpose of determining the alcohol, 
drug, or alcohol and drug content therein. This limitation 
shall not apply to the taking of breath or urine specimens. 

3. The person tested may have a physician, or a quali­
fied technician, chemist, registered nurse, or other quali­
fied person of their own choosing administer a chemical 
test or tests in addition to any administered at the di­
rection of a law enforcement officer. The failure or 
inability to obtain an additional test by a person shall not 
preclude the admission of evidence relating to the test or 
tests taken at the direction of a law enforcement officer. 

4. Upon the request of the.person who shall submit to 
a chemical test or tests at the request of a law enforce­
ment officer, full information concerning the test or tests 
shall be made available to the person or such person's 
attorney. 

5. Alcohol concentration shall mean either grams of 
alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 
210 liters of breath. 

(b) Upon the trial of any civil or criminal action or 
proceeding arising out of acts alleged to have been com­
mitted by any person while driving or in actual physical 
control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, 
the concentration of alcohol in the person's blood or breath 
at the time alleged as shown by analysis of the person's 
blood, urine, breath, or other bodily substance shall give 
rise to the following presumptions: 

1. If there was at that time an alcohol concentration of 
0.05 or less, it shall be presumed that the person was not 
under the influence of alcohol. 

2. If there was at that time an alcohol concentration in 
excess of 0.05 but less than 0.10, such facts shall not give 
rise to any presumption that the person was or was not 
under the influence of alcohol, but such fact may be 
considered with other competent evidence in determining 
whether the person was under the influence of alcohol. 

3. If there was at that time an alcohol concentration of 
0.10 or more, it shall be presumed that the person was 
under the influence of alcohol. 

4. The foregoing provisions of this Section shall not be 
construed as limiting the introduction of any other rele­
vant evidence bearing upon the question whether the 
person was under the influence of alcohol. 

(c) If a person under arrest refuses to submit to a 
chemical test under the provisions of Section 11-501.1, 
evidence of refusal shall be admissible in any civil or 
criminal action or proceeding arising out of acts alleged to 
have been committed while the person under the influence 
of alcohol, or other drugs, or combination of both was 
driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle. 
Amended by P.A. 86-929, § 2, eff. Sept. 21, 1989. 

11-501.3. § 11-501.3. Repealed by P.A. 84-1394, § 7, 
eff. Sept. 18, 1986. 

11-501.4. Admissibility of written blood alcohol test 
results conducted in the regular course of 
providing emergency medical treatment 

§ 11-501.4. Admissibility of written blood alcohol test 
results conducted in the regular course of providing emer­
gency medical treatment. (a) Notwithstanding any other 
provision of law, the written results of blood alcohol tests 
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conducted upon persons receiving medical treatment in a 
hospital emergency room are admissible in evidence as a 
business record exception to the hearsay rule only in 
prosecutions for any violation of Section 11-501 of this 
Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or in 
prosecutions for reckless homicide brought under the 
Criminal Code of 1961,1 when each of the following criteria 
are met: 

(1) the blood alcohol tests were ordered by a physician 
on' duty at the hospital emergency room and were per­
formed in the regular course of providing emergency 
medical treatment in order to assist the physician in diag­
nosis or treatment; 

(2) the blood alcohol tests were performed by the hospi­
tal's own laboratory; and 

(3) the written results of the blood alcohol tests were 
received and considered by the physician on duty at the 
hospital emergency room to assist that physician in diag­
nosis or treatment. 

(b) The confidentiality provisions of law pertaining to 
medical records and medical treatment shall not be applica­
ble with regard to blood alcohol tests performed under the 
provisions of this Section in prosecutions as specified in 
subsection (a) of this Section. No person shall be liable 
for civil damages as a result of the evidentiary use of 
blood alcohol test results under this Section, or as a result 
of that person's testimony made available under this Sec­
tion. 
Added by P.A. 85-992, § 1, eff. Jan. 5, 1988. 

1 Chapter 38, 11-1 et seq. 

Another 111-501.4 was renumbered as ¶ 11-501-5­

11-501.5. Preliminary breath screening test 

Text of paragraph effective until July 1, 1990. 

§ 11-501.5. Preliminary Breath Screening Test. If a 
law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe that 
a person is violating or has violated Section 11-501 or a 
similar provision of a local ordinance, the officer, prior to 
an arrest, may request the person to provide a sample of 
his or her breath for a preliminary breath screening test 
using a portable device approved by the Department of 
Public Health. The results of this preliminary breath 
screening test may be used by the law enforcement officer 
for the purpose of assisting with the determination of 
whether to require a chemical test as authorized under 
Sections 11-501.1 and 11-501.2, and the appropriate type 
of test to request. The chemical test authorized under 
Sections 11-501.1 and 11-501.2 may be requested by the 
officer regardless of the result of the preliminary breath 
screening test, if probable cause for an arrest exists. The 
result of a preliminary breath screening test may be used 
by the defendant as evidence in any administrative or 
court proceeding involving a violation of Section 11-501 or 
11-501.1. 

Formerly §'501.4. Renumbered § 501.5 and amended by 
P.A. 85-1209, Art. II, § 2-51, eff. Aug. 30, 1988. 

For text of paragraph effective July 1, 1990, 
see )711-501.5, post. 

11-501.5. Preliminary breath screening test 

Text of paragraph effective July 1, 1990. 
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§ 11-501.5. Preliminary Breath Screening Test. If a 
law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe that 
a person is violating or has violated Section 11-501 or a 
similar provision of a local ordinance, the officer, prior to 
an arrest, may request the person to provide a sample of 
his or her breath for a preliminary breath screening test 
using a portable device approved by the Department of 
Public Health. The results of this preliminary breath 
screening test may be used by the law enforcement officer 
for the purpose of assisting with the determination of 
whether to require a chemical test as authorized under 
Sections 11-501.1 and 11-501.2, and the appropriate type 
of test to request. Any chemical test authorized under 
Sections 11-501.1 and 11-501.2 may be requested by the 
officer regardless of the result of the preliminary breath 
screening test, if probable cause for an arrest exists. The 
result of a preliminary breath screening test may be used 
by the defendant as evidence in any administrative or 
court proceeding involving a violation of Section 11-501 or 
11-501.1. 

Amended by P.A. 86-1019, § 7, eff. July 1, 1990. 

For text of paragraph effective until July 1, 
1990, see 1111-501.5, ante. 

Article II of P.A. 85-1209, the First 85th General Assembly Combin­
ing Revisory Act, resolved multiple actions in the 85th General Assem­
bly and made certain technical corrections through P.A. 85-1014. 

11-501.6. Driver involvement in personal injury or fa. 
tal motor vehicle accident-Chemical test 

Paragraph effective Jan. 1, 1991. 

§ 11-501.6. Driver involvement in personal injury or 
fatal motor vehicle accident-chemical test. 

(a) Any person who drives or is in actual control of a 
motor vehicle upon the public highways of this State shall 
be deemed to have given consent to a breath test using a 
portable device as approved by. the Department of Public 
Health or to a chemical test or tests of blood, breath, or 
urine for the purpose of determining the alcohol or other 
drug content of such person's blood if there is probable 
cause to believe that such person was the driver at fault, 
in whole or in part, for a motor vehicle accident which 
resulted in the death or personal injury of any person. 

(b) Any person who is dead, unconscious or who is 
otherwise in a condition rendering such person incapable 
of refusal shall be deemed not to have withdrawn the 
consent provided by subsection (a) of this Section. In 
addition, if a driver of a vehicle is receiving medical 
treatment as a result of a motor vehicle accident, any 
physician licensed to practice medicine, registered nurse or 
a phlebotomist acting under the direction of a licensed 
physician shall withdraw blood for testing purposes, to 
ascertain the presence of alcohol or other drugs, upon the 
specific request of a law enforcement officer. However, 
no such testing shall be performed until, in the opinion of 
the medical personnel on scene, the withdrawal can be 
made without interfering with or endangering the well-be­
ing of the patient. 

(c) A person requested to submit to a test as provided 
above shall be warned by the law enforcement officer 
requesting the test that a refusal to submit to the test, or 
submission to the test resulting in an alcohol concentration 
of 0.10 or more may result in the suspension of such 
person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle. 

(d) If the person refuses testing or submits to a test 
which discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more, 
the law enforcement officer shall immediately submit a 
sworn report to the Secretary of State on a form pre­
scribed by the Secretary, certifying that the test or tests 
were requested pursuant to subsection (a) and the person 
refused to submit to a test or tests or submitted to testing 
which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more. 

(e) The results of any test or tests administered pursu­
ant to this Section, other than a test conducted with a 
portable device, may be used in any civil or criminal action. 
Upon the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding 
arising out of acts alleged to have been committed by any 
person while driving or in actual physical control of a 
vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, the concentra­
tion of alcohol in the person's blood or breath at the time 
alleged as shown by analysis of the person's blood, urine, 
breath, or other bodily substance shall give rise to the 
following presumptions: 

(1) If there was at that time an alcohol concentration of 
0.05 or less, it shall be presumed that the person was not 
under the influence of alcohol. 

(2) If there was at that time an alcohol concentration in 
excess of 0.05 but less than 0.10, such facts shall not give 
rise to any presumption that the person was or was not 
under the influence of alcohol, but such fact may be 
considered with other competent evidence in determining 
whether the person was under the influence of alcohol. 

(3) If there was at that time an alcohol concentration of 
0.10 or more, it shall be presumed that the person was 
under the influence of alcohol. 

(4) The foregoing provisions of this Section shall not be 
construed as limiting the introduction of any other rele­
vant evidence bearing upon the question whether the 
person was under the influence of alcohol. 

(f) If a person refuses to submit to a chemical test 
under the provisions of this Section, evidence of refusal 
shall be admissible in any civil or criminal action or pro­
ceeding arising out of acts alleged to have been committed 
while the person was driving or in actual physical control 
of a motor vehicle. 

(g) For the purposes of this Section, a personal injury 
shall include any injury that requires immediate profes­
sional attention in either a doctor's office or a medical 
facility. 
Added by P.A. 86-947, § 2, eff. Jan. 1, 1991. 

11-502. Transportation or possession of alcoholic li­
quor in a motor vehicle 

§ 11-502. Transportation or possession of alcoholic li­
quor in a motor vehicle. (a) Except as provided in para­
graph (c), no driver may transport, carry, possess or have 
any alcoholic liquor within the passenger area of any 
motor vehicle upon a highway in this State except in the 
original container and with the seal unbroken. 

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), no passenger 
may carry, possess or have any alcoholic liquor within any 
passenger area of any motor vehicle upon a highway in 
this State except in the original container and with the seal 
unbroken. 

(c) This Section shall not apply to the passengers in a 
limousine when it is being used for purposes for which a 
limousine is ordinarily used, the passengers on a chartered 
bus when it is being used for purposes for which chartered 
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(b) Upon the notice of statutory summary suspension 
served under Section 11-501.1, the person may make a 
written request for a judicial hearing in the circuit court of 
venue. The request to the circuit court shall state the 
grounds upon which the person seeks to have the statu­
tory summary suspension rescinded. Within 30 days after 
receipt of the written request or the first appearance date 
on the Uniform Traffic Ticket issued pursuant to a viola­
tion of Section 11-501, or a similar provision of a local 
ordinance, the hearing shall be conducted by the circuit 
court having jurisdiction. This judicial hearing, request or 
process shall not stay or delay the statutory summary 
suspension. Such hearings shall proceed in the court in 
the same manner as in other civil proceedings. 

The hearing may be conducted upon a review of the law 
enforcement officer's own official reports; provided how­
ever, that the person may subpoena the officer. Failure 
of the officer to answer the subpoena shall be considered 
by the court to be the same as the failure of a complaining 
witness to appear in any criminal proceeding. 

The scope of the hearing shall be limited to the issues 
of: 

1. Whether the person was placed under arrest for an 
offense as defined in Section 11-501, or a similar provision 
of a local ordinance, as evidenced by the issuance of a 
Uniform Traffic Ticket; and 

2. Whether the arresting officer had reasonable 
grounds to believe that such person was driving or in 
actual physical control of a motor vehicle upon a highway 
while under the influence of alcohol, other drug, or combi­
nation thereof; and 

3. Whether such person, after being advised by the 
arresting officer that the privilege to operate a motor 
vehicle would be suspended. if the person refused to sub­
mit to and complete the test or tests, did refuse to submit 
to or complete such test or tests to determine the person's 
a!cohol or drug concentration; or 

4. Whether the person, after being advised by the 
arresting officer that the privilege to operate a motor 
vehicle would be suspended if the person submits to a 
chemical test, or tests, and such test discloses an alcohol 
concentration of 0.10 or more, and such person did submit 
to and complete such test or tests which determined an 
alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more. 

Upon the conclusion of the judicial hearing, the circuit 
court shall sustain or rescind the statutory summary sus­
pension and immediately notify the Secretary of State. 
Reports received by the Secretary of State under this 
Section shall be privileged information and for use only by 
the courts, police officers and Secretary of State. 
Amended by P.A. 84-1394, § 5, eff. Sept. 18, 1986. 

For text of paragraph effective July 1, 1990, 
see if 2-118.1, post. 

2-118.1. Opportunity for hearing-Statutory summary 
alcohol or other drug related suspension 

Text of paragraph effective July 1, 1990. 

§ 2-118.1. Opportunity for hearing-statutory summa­
ry alcohol or other drug related suspension. (a) A statu­
tory summary suspension of driving privileges under Sec­
tion 11-501.1 shall not become effective until the person is 
notified in writing of the impending suspension and in­
formed that he may request a hearing in the circuit court 

of venue under paragraph (b) of this Section and the 
statutory summary suspension shall become effective as 
provided in Section 11-501.1. 

(b) Upon the notice of statutory summary suspension 
served under Section 11-501.1, the person may make a 
written request for a judicial hearing in the circuit court of 
venue. The request to the circuit court shall state the 
grounds upon which the person seeks to have the statu­
tory summary suspension rescinded. Within 30 days after 
receipt of the written request or the first appearance date 
on the Uniform Traffic Ticket issued pursuant to a viola­
tion of Section 11-501, or a similar provision of a local 
ordinance, the hearing shall be conducted by the circuit 
court having jurisdiction. This judicial hearing, request or 
process shall not stay or delay the statutory summary 
suspension: Such hearings shall proceed in the court in 
the same manner as in other civil proceedings. 

The hearing may be conducted upon a review of the law 
enforcement officer's own official reports; provided how­
ever, that the person may subpoena the officer. Failure 
of the officer to answer the subpoena shall be considered 
by the court to be the same as the failure of a complaining 
witness to appear in any criminal proceeding. 

The scope of the hearing shall be limited to the issues 
of: 

1. Whether the person was placed under arrest for an 
offense as,defined in Section 11-501, or a similar provision 
of a local ordinance, as evidenced by the issuance of a 
Uniform Traffic Ticket; and 

2. Whether the arresting officer had reasonable 
grounds to believe that such person was driving or in 
actual physical control of a motor vehicle upon a highway 
while under the influence of alcohol, other drug, or combi­
nation thereof; and 

3. Whether such person, after being advised by the 
arresting officer that the privilege to operate a motor 
vehicle would be suspended if the person refused to sub­
mit to and complete the test or tests, did refuse to submit 
to or complete such test or tests to determine the person's 
alcohol or drug concentration; or 

4. Whether the person, after being advised by the 
arresting officer that the privilege to operate a motor 
vehicle would be suspended if the person submits to a 
chemical test, or tests, and such test discloses an alcohol 
concentration of 0.10 or more, or any amount of a drug, 
substance, or compound in such person's blood or urine 
resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of canna­
bis listed in the Cannabis Control Act I or a controlled 
substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act,2 
and such person did submit to and complete such test or 
tests which determined an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or 
more. 

Upon the conclusion of the judicial hearing, the circuit 
court shall sustain or rescind the statutory summary sus­
pension and immediately notify the Secretary of State. 
Reports received by the Secretary of State under this 
Section shall be privileged information and for use only by 
the courts, police officers and Secretary of State. 
Amended by P.A. 86-1019, § 7, eff. July 1, 1990. 

1 Chapter 56'/2, Ti 701 et seq. 
2 Chapter 561/2, P 1100 et seq. 

For text of paragraph effective until July 1, 
1990, see A2-118.1, ante. 



LAW ENFORCEMENT SWORN REPORT 

Circuit Court, County, Municipal District 
DUI TRAFFIC CITATION NO. 

Case no. DUI TRAFFIC CITATION NO. 

NAME 
LAST FIRST MIDDLE 

DRIVER'S LICENSE NUMBER STATE 

CDLq 

OPERATING: q Commercial Motor Vehicle q Placarded Haz. Mat. Vehicle 

STREET ADDRESS ARREST CITY AND/OR COUNTY OF ARREST AM 
DATE PM 

CITY & STATE Mo. Day Yr. Time 

L 
SEX DATE OF BIRTH PLACE OF REFUSAL OR LOCATION OF TEST(S) 
NOTICE OF SUMMARY REF. OR 
SUSPENSION GIVEN ON TEST DATE PM 

Mo. Day Yr. Mo. Day Yr. Time 

THE SUSPENSION SHALL TAKE EFFECT ON THE 46th DAY FOLLOWING ISSUANCE OF THIS NOTICE OF SUMMARY SUSPENSION. 
SUBSEQUENT TO AN ARREST FOR VIOLATING SECTION 11-501 OF THE ILLINOIS VEHICLE CODE, OR A SIMILAR PROVISION OF A 
LOCAL ORDINANCE, YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED that on the date shown above you were asked to submit to a chemical test(s) to determine 
the alcohol, other drug, or combination thereof content of your blood and warned of the consequences pursuant to Section 11-501.1 of The Illinois 
Vehicle Code. 
q Because you refused to submit to or failed to complete testing, your drivers license and/or privileges will be suspended for a minimum of 6 

months.' 
q Because you submitted to testing conducted pursuant to Section 11-501.2 which disclosed: 

O an alcohol concentration of , which is 0.10 or more; 
q any amount of a drug, substance, or compound in your blood or urine resulting from the unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed 

In the Cannabis Control Act or a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act; 
your driving privileges will be suspended for a minimum of 3 months. 

'NOTE: If it is determined that you are not a'first offender', as defined in Section 11-500 of The Illinois Vehicle Code and: 
You refused to submit to, or failed to complete, all requested chemical testing, the period of suspension will be a minimum of 2 years; or If 
You submitted to chemical testing which resulted in an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more, the period of suspension will be a minimum of one year. 

Driver's license surrendered? q Yes q No; Reason 

Driver's license valid at time of arrest? q Yes (Sign receipt) q No (Void receipt) 

I have complied with Section 11-501.1 by having reasonable grounds to believe the arrestee was in violation of Section 11-501 or a similar provision 
of a local ordinance: (Explain) 

Pursuant to Section 11-501.1 of The Illinois Vehicle Code I have:

q Served Immediate notice of summary suspension of driving privileges on the above named person.


q	 Given notice of summary suspension of driving privileges to the above named person by depositing in the United States mail said notice in an envelope with the postage 
prepaid addressed to said person at the address as shown on the Uniform Traffic Ticket. 

Under penalties as provided by law pursuant to Section 1-109 of the Illinois Code of Civil Procedure, the undersigned certifies that the statements 
set forth in this instrument are true and correct. 

SIGNATURE OF ARRESTING OFFICER	 IDENTIFYING NO. 

DATE 

LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY	 Mo. Day Yr. 
DSD DC 35.11 
510201 714 

Feb J0 



WARNING TO MOTORIST

DUI TRAFFIC CITATION NO. 

CASE NO. 
DUI TRAFFIC CITATION NO. 

SUBSEQUENT TO AN ARREST FOR DRIVING WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL, OTHER DRUG OR 
A COMBINATION THEREOF (DUI), YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED THAT: 

AS PROVIDED IN SECTION 11-500 OF THE ILLINOIS VEHICLE CODE, YOU ARE A FIRST OFFENDER UNLESS 
WITHIN THE LAST FIVE YEARS OF THIS ARREST FOR DUI YOU HAVE HAD: 

A PREVIOUS CONVICTION OR COURT ASSIGNED SUPERVISION FOR DUI; OR 

A CONVICTION IN ANY OTHER STATE FOR DUI OR A SIMILAR OFFENSE WHERE THE CAUSE OF 
ACTION IS THE SAME OR SUBSTANTIALLY SIMILAR TO THE ILLINOIS VEHICLE CODE; OR 

PURSUANT TO A DUI ARREST, AN ILLINOIS DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENSION FOR REFUSING OR 
FAILING TO COMPLETE ALL REQUESTED CHEMICAL TEST(S) OR FOR SUBMITTING TO CHEMICAL 
TESTING DISCLOSING AN ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION OF 0.10 OR MORE OR ANY AMOUNT OF A 
DRUG, SUBSTANCE, OR COMPOUND RESULTING FROM THE UNLAWFUL USE OR CONSUMPTION OF 
CANNABIS LISTED IN THE CANNABIS CONTROL ACT OR A CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE LISTED IN 
THE ILLINOIS CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES ACT (SECTION 11-501.1), EXCEPT IN CASES WHERE YOU 
SUBMITTED TO CHEMICAL TESTING RESULTING IN AN ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION OF 0.10 OR 
MORE OR ANY AMOUNT OF A DRUG, SUBSTANCE OR COMPOUND RESULTING FROM THE UNLAWFUL 
USE OR CONSUMPTION OF CANNABIS LISTED IN THE CANNABIS CONTROL ACT OR A CONTROLLED 
SUBSTANCE LISTED IN THE ILLINOIS CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES ACT, AND WERE SUBSEQUENTLY 
FOUND NOT GUILTY OF THE ASSOCIATED DUI CHARGE. 

CONSIDERING THE ABOVE, YOU ARE WARNED: 

1.	 IF YOU ARE A FIRST OFFENDER, REFUSAL OR FAILURE TO COMPLETE ALL CHEMICAL TESTS REQUESTED 
WILL RESULT IN A SUSPENSION OF YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGES FOR A MINIMUM OF 6 MONTHS. 

2.	 IF YOU ARE A FIRST OFFENDER AND SUBMIT TO A CHEMICAL -TEST(S) DISCLOSING AN ALCOHOL 
CONCENTRATION OF 0.10 OR MORE, YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGES WILL BE SUSPENDED FOR A MINIMUM OF 
3 MONTHS. 

3.	 IF YOU ARE NOT A FIRST OFFENDER, REFUSAL OR FAILURE TO COMPLETE ALL CHEMICAL TESTS 
REQUESTED WILL RESULT IN A SUSPENSION OF YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGES FOR A MINIMUM OF 2 YEARS. 

4.	 IF YOU ARE NOT A FIRST OFFENDER AND SUBMIT TO A CHEMICAL TEST(S) DISCLOSING AN ALCOHOL 
CONCENTRATION OF 0.10 OR MORE, YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGES WILL BE SUSPENDED FOR A MINIMUM OF 
ONE YEAR. 

5.	 IF YOU SUBMIT TO A CHEMICAL TEST(S) DISCLOSING ANY AMOUNT OF A DRUG, SUBSTANCE, OR 
COMPOUND RESULTING FROM THE UNLAWFUL USE OR CONSUMPTION OF CANNABIS LISTED IN THE 
CANNABIS CONTROL ACTOR A CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE LISTED IN THE ILLINOIS CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 
ACT, YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGES WILL BE SUSPENDED FOR A MINIMUM OF 3 MONTHS. 

WARNING ISSUED TO 
Name of Motorist Driver's License Number 

Under penalties as provided by law pursuant to Section 1-109 of the Illinois Code of Civil Procedure, the undersigned 
certifies that the statements set forth in this instrument are true and correct. 

Signature of Arresting Officer	 Identifying No. 

Law Enforcement Agency

am

pm


Date of Warning	 Time of Warning 
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CHAPTER 11


Implied Consent Law


SEC.

63;11-1. Citation of chapter.

53-11-3. "Driving privilege" and "community service" defined.

63-11-5. Implied consent to chemical test; warnings; preliminary test.

63-41-7. Blood test of dead or unconscious accident victims.

63-11-9. Persons who may take blood samples under Section 63-11-7.

63-11-11. Urine specimens.

63-11-13. Accused may have additional test administered by person of his- choice;

WI.: effect of failure to obtain.

3-11--15. Availability of test result to accused or his attorney. 

11-17. Liability for administering blood test. 
11=19. Tests to be performed according to approved methods; certification of 

administrators. 
L3-11-21. Refusal to submit to test shall result in confiscation of driver's license. 
13-11-23. Review and notice of suspension; seizure of license where test indicates 

blood alcohol concentration of .10 percent or more; temporary permit to 
drive; representation of state in proceedings.


3-1125. Appeals; driving privilege suspended pending outcome.

3--1126. Final actions which foreclose judicial review or appeal.


-1127. Suspension of nonresident drivers privilege; notification of authorities in 
t,l home state. 
i.4-1129. [Repealed]. 
0-11-30. Penalties for operation of vehicle while under influence of intoxicating 
j^r.•r: liquor or other substance that impairs ability to operate vehicle; where 
hi;;s violation causes injury or death to another person. 
3-11-31. [Repealed]. 
3=1122. -Driver improvement program for first offenders convicted of driving while 

intoxicated or under influence of another substance which impairs ability 
to operate motor vehicle; assessments in addition to monetary penalties; 
disposition of funds. 

63=1123. [Repealed].

63-11-35. [Repealed].

63-11-37. Copy of conviction record sent to commissioner, reduction of revocation or


suspension period; additional restrictions on drinking privileges. 
63-11-39. Admissibility of evidence in criminal action; reduction of driving while 
J `N• under influence charge prohibited. 
63-11-40. Driving while license or privilege is cancelled, suspended or revoked; 
M. penalties.

63-11-41. Admissibility of non-submission to test in criminal action.

63-11-43. Admissibility of test results or of submission or non-submission to test in
a:rs 

civil case. 
63-11-45. Effect of test results or non-submission to test on insurance coverage. 
63-11-47. Selection and purchase of equipment and supplies. 

63-11-1. Citation of chapter. 

-'This chapter may be cited as the Mississippi Implied Consent Law. 

SOURCES. Codes, 1942, § 8175-01; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 1, eff from and after April 1, 1972. 
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Cross references-
Provisions of this chapter applicable to Mississippi Commercial Driver's License law, see 

163-1-74. 
Mississippi Commercial Driver's License Law exemptions not exemption from provisions of 

this chapter, see 163-1-78. 
Provisions of the Implied Consent Law applying instead of statute allowing deposit of driver's 

license in lieu of bail, in cases of driving while intoxicated, see § 63-9-25(6). 

Research and Practice References­
7A Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic If 296 et seq. 
61A CJS, Motor Vehicles If 625(1) et seq. 

Annotations-
Snowmobile operation as DWI or DUL 56 ALR4th 1092. 

§ 63-11-3. "Driving privilege" and "community service" defined. 
Whenever and wherever the words "'driving, privilege" or "privilege" 

appear in this chapter, they shall mean both the driver's license 'd those 
licensed in Mississippi and the driving privilege of unlicensed residents and 
the privilege of. nonresidents, licensed or not, the purpose of this section 
being to make unlicensed and nonresident drivers. subject to the same 
penalties as licensed residents. 

The term "community service" - as used in this chapter shall mean work, 
projects or ' services for the benefit of the community assigned, supervised 
and recorded by appropriate public officials. 
SOURCE Codes, 1942, 18175-24, Laws, 1971, ch. 515,124, 1983, ch. 466, 11, eff from and 

after July 1, 198& 

Editor's Note-
Section 12 of Chapter 466, Laws, 1983, eff from and after July 1. 1983, provides as follows: 
"SECT'ION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred' prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's licenses, 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act. In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1, 
1983, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of determining the 
penalties which shall be -imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

§ 63-11-5. Implied consent to chemical test; warnings; preliminary 
test. 

Any person who operates a motor vehicle upon the public highways, 
public roads and streets of this state shall be deemed to have given his 
consent, subject to the provisions of this chapter, to a chemical test'or test 
of his breath for the purpose of determining the alcoholic content of his 
blood. A person may give his consent to a chemical test or tests of his blood 
or urine for the purpose of determining the presence in his body of any 
other substance which would impair a person's ability to operate a motor 
vehicle. The test or tests shall be administered at the direction of any 
highway patrol officer, any sheriff or his duly commissioned deputies, any 
police officer in any incorporated municipality, or any officer of a state-
supported institution of higher learning campus police force if such officer is 
exercising this authority in regard to a violation that occurred on campus 
property, when such officer has reasonable grounds and probable cause to 
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believe that the person was driving or had under his actual physical control 
a motor vehicle upon the public streets or highways of this state' while 
under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any other substance which had 
impaired such person's ability to operate a motor vehicle. No such tests 
shall be given by any officer or any agency to any person within fifteen (15) 
minutes of consumption of any substance by mouth. 

If the officer has reasonable grounds and probable cause to believe such 
person to have been driving a motor vehicle upon the public highways, 
public roads, and streets of this state while under the influence of intoxicat­
ing liquor, such officer shall inform such person that his failure to submit to 
such chemical test or tests of his breath shall result in the suspension of his 
privilege to operate a motor vehicle upon the public streets and highways of 
this state for a period of ninety (90) days in the event such person has not 
previously been convicted of a violation of Section 63-11-30, or, for a period 
of one (1) year in the event of any previous conviction of such person under 
Section 63-11-30. Anyone arrested under the provisions of this chapter shall 
be informed immediately after being booked that he has the right to 
telephone for the purpose of requesting legal or medical assistance. 

The Commissioner of Public Safety and the State Crime Laboratory 
created pursuant to Section 45-1-17 are hereby authorized from and after 
the passage of this section to adopt procedures, rules and regulations, and 
shall not later than July 1, 1986, provide the necessary equipment to allow 
the officer to give a preliminary, unofficial "on-the-spot' test to establish 
whether or not the breath of the driver is free from any alcoholic content 
before the official chemical analysis test of his breath is made. However, the 
failure to give the preliminary test shall in no way affect prosecution under 
this chapter. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-09; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 9; 1981, ch. 491, § 1; 1983, ch. 466, 

§ 2; 1988, ch. 568, 11, eff from and after July 1, 1988. 

Editor's Note-
Spction 15 of Chapter 491, Laws 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

Section 12 of Chapter 466, Laws, 1983, eff from and after July 1, 1983, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's licenses, 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act. In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1, 
1983, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of determining the 
Penalties which shall be imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

Cross references-
Confiscation of driver's license by arresting officer upon refusal of driver to submit to 

chemical test under this section, see § 63-11-21. 
Penalty for conviction following tests provided for by this section, see § 63-11-30. 

Research and Practice References­
7A Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic if 305-308, 377, 378. 

' '61A CJS, Motor Vehicles § 633(2). 
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2 Am Jur Proof of Facts 585, Blood Tests. 
17 Am Jur Proof of Facts 2d 1, Defense to Charge of Driving Under Influence of Alcohol. 

Annotations-
Admissibility, in criminal case, of evidence obtained by search by private individual. 36 

ALR3d 553. 
Admissibility, in criminal cases, of evidence obtained by search conducted by school official or 

teacher. 49 ALR3d 978. 
Driving while intoxicated duty of law enforcement officer to offer suspect chemical sobriety 

test under implied consent law. 95 ALR3d 710. 
Necessity and sufficiency of proof that tests of blood alcohol concentration were conducted in 

conformance with prescribed methods. 96 ALR3d 745. 
Admissibility in criminal case of blood alcohol test where blood was taken despite defendant's 

objection or refusal to submit to test. 14 ALR4th 690. 

JUDICIAL DECISIONS 

Language in the statute that the arresting lic drunkenness and where there was, no 
officer shall inform a driver arrested for driv- showing that the city had been reckless or 
ing under the influence of intoxicating liquor grossly negligent in its training, supervising, 
that his failure to submit to a chemical test or disciplining of the officers or jailers in-
will result in the suspension of his driver's volved in plaintiffs arrest and detention, al­
license does not mandate an arresting officer though state law required that an intoximeter 
to advise a suspect of the law's existence. test must be given to those arrested for driv 
Ewing v State (1974, Miss) 300 So 2d 916, 95 ing while intoxicated, such test was not re­
ALR3d 701. quired for those arrested merely for public 

A city was not liable to a man who was drunkenness and liability would not attach on 
arrested for public intoxication and placed in the basis of the city's policy against giving the 
a drunk tank, even though he was never test to persons in plaintiff's situation. Reeves 
given an intoxication test and even though it v Jackson (1979, CA5 Miss) 608 F2d 644 (dis­
was later determined ' that he had in fact agreed with by Grandstaff v Borger (CA5 Tex) 
suffered a stroke, where there was no evi• 767 F2d 161, reh den, en bane (CA5 Tex) 779 
dence that the city had either tacitly or ex- F2d 1129 and cert den 480 US 916, 94 L Ed 
plicitly encouraged the improper arrest and 2d 686, 107 S Ct 1369, later app (CA5 Tex) 
detention of stroke victims on charges of pub. 846 F2d 1016) (applying Mississippi law). 

§ 63-11-7. Blood test of dead or unconscious accident victims. 

If any person be unconscious or dead as a result of an accident, or 
unconscious at the time of arrest or apprehension or when the test is to be 
administered, or is otherwise in a condition rendering him incapable of 
refusal, such person shall be subjected to a blood test for the purpose of 
determining the alcoholic content of his blood as provided in this chapter, if 
the arresting officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person to have 
been driving a motor vehicle upon the public highways, public roads and 
streets of this state while under the influence of intoxicating liquor. The 
results of such test or tests, however, shall not be used in evidence against 
such person in any court or before any regulatory body without the consent 
of the person so tested, or, if deceased, such person's legal representative. 
However, refusal of release of evidence so obtained by such officer or agency 
will in criminal actions against such person result in the suspension of his 
or her driver's license for a period of ninety days asprovided in this chapter 
for conscious and capable persons who have refused to submit to such test. 
Blood may only be withdrawn under the provisions of. section 63-11-9. It is 
the intent of this chapter that blood samples taken under this section shall 
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IMPLIED CONSENT LAW § 63-11-9 

be used exclusively for statistical evaluation of accident causes with safe­
guards established to protect the identity of such victims and to extend the 
rights of privileged communications to those engaged in taking, handling 
and evaluating such statistical evidence. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942.1817&10-, Laws, 1971, cb. 515, § 10, eff from and after April 1, 

1972. 

Research and Practice References­
7 Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic § 305-308, 377, 378. 
61A CJS, Motor Vehicles § 633(2). 
2 Am Jar Proof of Facts 585, Blood Tests. 
17 Am Jur Proof of Facts 2d 1, Defense to Charge of Driving Under Influence of Alcohol. 

Annotations-
Admissibility in criminal case of blood alcohol test where blood was taken from unconscious 

driver. 72 ALR3d 325. 

JUDICIAL DECISIONS 

The privilege created by sections 63-11-7 
and 63-11-43 to prevent the introduction into 
evidence of the results of blood alcohol tests 
taken pursuant to the provisions of the im­
plied consent laws without the consent of the 
person tested are inconsistent with the Missis­
sippi Rules of Evidence, Rules 501 and 1103, 
and therefore must yield. Whitehurst v State 
(1989, Miss) 540 So 2d 1319. 

Results of blood-alcohol test performed on 
defendant after automobile accident resulting 
in death of 2 people were admissible where 
officers at scene of accident smelled alcohol 
and saw several beer cans and whiskey bottle 
on floorboard, at hospital informed defendant 
that he was being charged with 2 counts of 
manslaughter, read defendant his rights, and 
requested and obtained his -consent for blood 
sample; evidence was sufficient to provide 
probable cause to search for and seize evi­
dence of intoxication; contention of defendant 
that test results should not have been adnris­
sable becuse evidence indicated he was unable 
to consent was rejected, although testimony 
showed that defendant was belligerent and 
slurred his speech, was uncooperative, and 
unsuccessfully resisted efforts to procure 
blood sample. Whitley v State (1987, Miss) 511 
So 2d 929. 

Blood alcohol test results were admissible 
in civil case when performed on driver who 
died as result of accident, both because dece­
dent's representative waived statutory protec­
tion and results of test were submitted in 

defense of person tested, Miss Code §§ 63-11-7 
and 63-11-43 (1972) being intended to protect 
interests of person submitted to blood alcohol 
test. Clark v Pascagoula (1987, Miss) 507 So 
2d 70. 

Blood alcohol test administered as part of 
medical treatment is admissible in civil action 
where driver from whom blood is taken has 
made contractual waiver of physician-patient 
privilege. Edwards v Ellis (1985, Miss) 478 So 
2d 282. 

Where decedent ran into a truck stopped on 
highway, and where, several hours later, after 
he had been pronounced dead, a blood sample 
was taken from his heart and found to con­
tain a blood alcohol level of A7, the trial 
judge, pursuant to 163-11-7, properly refused 
to allow the defense in any way to present to 
the jury the results of the blood test. Stong v 
Freeman Truck Line, Inc. (1984, Miss) 456 So 
2d 698. 

In a prosecution for involuntary man­
slaughter arising out of a traffic accident, in 
which the defendant contended that the de­
ceased caused the accident by suddenly turn­
ing into the defendant's lane of traffic, the 
trial court committed reversible error in re­
fusing to permit the introduction into evi­
dence of the results of the blood alcohol test 
given to the deceased. This section does not 
prohibit the use of such evidence, over the 
objection of the legal representative, in favor 
of an accused in a criminal trial. McNamee v 
State (1975, Miss) 313 So 2d 392. 

§ 63-11-9. Persons who may take blood samples under Section 63­
11-7. 

Under section 63-11-7, only a physician, mortician, registered nurse or 
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clinical laboratory technologist or clinical laboratory technician acting at 
the request of a law enforcement officer may withdraw blood for the purpose 
of determining the alcoholic content therein. This limitation shall not apply 
to the taking of breath or urine specimens. 

SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-17; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 17, eff from and after April 1, 
1972. 

Research and Practice References­

7A Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic §§ 306, 307.


Annotations-

Drunk driving: motorist's right to private sobriety test... 45 ALR4th 11.


§ 63-11-11. Urine specimens. 
If the test given under the provisions of this chapter is a chemical test of 

urine, the person tested shall be given such privacy in the taking of the 
urine specimen as will insure the accuracy of the specimen and, at the same

time, maintain'the dignity of the individual involved.

SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-19; Laws, 1971, . ch. 515, § 19, eff from and after April 1,


1972 

Research and Practice References­
7A Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic. §§ 306, 307.. 

Annotations.­
Necessity and sufficiency of proof that tests of blood alcohol concentration were conducted in 

conformance with prescribed methods. 96 ALR3d 745. 
Drunk driving: motorist's right .to private sobriety test 45 ALR4th 11. 
False light invasion of privacy-accusation or innuendo as to criminal acts. 58 ALR4th 902 

§ 63-11-13. Accused may have additional test administered by per­
son of his choice, effect of failure to obtain. 

The person tested may, at his own expense, have a physician, registered 
nurse, clinical laboratory technologist or clinical laboratory technician or 
any other qualified person of his choosing administer a test, approved by the 
state crime laboratory created pursuant to section 45-1-17, in addition to 
any other test, for the purpose of determining the amount of alcohol in his 
blood at the time alleged as shown by chemical analysis of his blood, breath 
or urine. The failure or inability to obtain an additional test.'by such 
arrested person shall not preclude the admissibility in evidence of the test 
taken at the direction of a law enforcement officer. 

SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175.18; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, 118; 1981, ch. 491, § 2, off from and 
after July 1, 1981. 

Editor's Note-
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

Research and Practice References-­
7A Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic §§ 306, 307. 
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Annotations-

Drunk driving: motorist's right to private sobriety test. 45 ALR4th 11.


§ 63--11-15. Availability of test result to accused or his attorney. 
Upon the written request of the person tested, or his attorney, full 

information concerning the test taken at the direction of the law enforce­
ment officer shall be made available to him or to his attorney. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-20; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 20, eff from and after April 1, 

1972. 

§ 63-11-17. Liability for administering blood test. 

No physician, registered nurse, hospital trustee, mortician, clinical labora­
tory technologist, clinical laboratory technician, hospital, clinic, or funeral 
home shall incur any civil or criminal liability as the result of the proper 
administration of a test or chemical analysis of a person's breath, blood or 
urine when requested in writing by a law enforcement officer to administer 
such a test or perform such chemical analysis. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-21; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 21; 1973, ch. 354, § 1, eff from and 

after passage (approved March 23, 1973). 

§ 63-11-19. Tests to be performed according to approved methods; 
certification of administrators. 

A chemical analysis of the person's breath, blood or urine, to be consid­
ered valid under the provisions of this section, shall' have been performed 
according to methods approved by the State Crime Laboratory created 
pursuant to Section 45-1-17 and the Commissioner of Public Safety and 
performed by an individual possessing a valid permit issued by the State 
Crime Laboratory for- making such analysis. The State Crime Laboratory 
and the Commissioner of Public Safety are authorized to approve satisfac­
tory techniques or methods, to ascertain the qualifications and competence 
of individuals to conduct such analyses, and to issue permits which shall be 
subject to termination or revocation at the discretion of the State Crime 
Laboratory. The State Crime Laboratory shall not approve the permit 
required herein for any law enforcement officer other than a member of the 
State Highway Patrol, a sheriff or his deputies, a city policeman, officer of a 
state-supported institution of higher learning campus police force, national 
park ranger, national park ranger technician or a. military policeman 
stationed at a United States military base located within this state other 
than a military policeman of the Army or Air National Guard or of Reserve 
Units of the Army, Air Force, Navy or Marine Corps. 

The State Crime Laboratory shall make periodic, but not less frequently 
than quarterly, tests of the methods, machines or devices used in making 
chemical analysis of a person's breath as shall be necessary to insure the 
accuracy thereof, and shall issue their certificate to verify the accuracy of 
the same. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-16; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 16; 1978, ch. 526, § 1; 1981, ch. 491, 

§ 3; 1988, ch. 568, § 2, eff from and after July 1, 1988. 
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Editor's Note-
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

Research and Practice References­

7A Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic if 306, 907.


Annotations-

Drunk driving: motorist's right to private sobriety test. 45 ALR4th 11.


JUDICIAL DECISIONS 

A city policeman was 'fully qualified to ad- scrupulously followed the Department of Pub-
minister a breath test for alcohol content lic Safety checklist of steps to take -in admin­
under § 63-11-19, where he had received istering the test, in spite of defendant's claim 
training at the Mississippi Highway Safety that the officer failed to determine that defen-
Patrol under the Mississippi Department of dent's mouth was empty at the time of ad-
Public Safety on the use of the intoxilyzer ministering the test. Williams v State (1983,
and its predecessor machine, the intoximeter, Miss) 434 So 2d 1340.
had taken a written examination on which he 
made a correct score of more than 85 percent, A chemical analysis of defendant's blood 
and held a permit from the Department of Performed by an individual not possessing a 
Public Safety to conduct tests on this ma- valid . permit issued by the State Board of 
chine; furthermore, the result of the test was Health for making such analysis (Code 1972 
properly admitted as competent evidence, 163-11-19) was nevertheless admissible as 
where the officer precisely followed the prose- other competent evidence under Code 1972 
dure recommended by the Department of § 63-11-39 where evidence detailed in opinion 
Public Safety in conducting the examination, established that test was reasonable. Cutch-
the machine had been checked for accuracy ens v State (1975, Miss) 310 So 2d 273, cart 
only two days prior to the test, and the officer den 423 US 1061, 46 L Ed 2d 652,96 S Ct 799. 

§ 63-11-21. Refusal to submit to test shall result in confiscation of 
driver's license. 

If a person refuses upon the request of a law enforcement officer to submit 
to a chemical test of his breath designated by 'the law enforcement agency 
as provided in section 63-11-5, none shall be given, but the officer shall at 
that point demand the driver's license of the person, who shall deliver his 
driver's license into the hands of the officer. The officer shall give the driver 
a receipt for his license on forms prescribed and furnished by the commis­
sioner of public safety. The officer shall forward the driver's license together 
with a sworn report to the commissioner of public safety stating that he had 
reasonable grounds and probable cause to believe the person had been 
driving a motor vehicle upon the public highways, public roads and streets 
of this state while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, stating such 
grounds, and that the person had refused to submit to the chemical test of 
his breath upon request of the law enforcement officer. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-11; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, 11; 1981, ch. 491, § 4; 1983, ch. 466, 

§ 3, eff from and after July 1, 1983. 

Editor's Note-
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
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denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

Section 12 of Chapter 468, Laws, 1983, eff from and after July 1, 1983, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's licenses, 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act. In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1, 
1983, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of determining the 
penalties which shall be imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

Cross references-
Implied consent to chemical test, see 163-11-6. 
Review by commissioner of arresting officer's sworn report, see 163-11-23. 

Research and Practice References­
7A Ain Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic f$122 et seq. 
60 CJS, Motor Vehicles § 164.16. 

Annotations-
Request before submitting_ to chemical sobriety test to communicate with counsel as refusal 

to take test. 97 ALR3d 852. 
Admissibility in criminal case of evidence that accused refused to take test of intoxication. 26 

ALR4th 1112. 

63-11-23. Review and notice of suspension; seizure of license 
where test indicates blood alcohol concentration of .10 percent or 
more; temporary permit "to drive; representation of state in pro­
ceedings. 

(1) The Commissioner of Public Safety, or his authorized agent, shall 
review'the sworn report by a law enforcement officer as provided in Section 
63-11-21. If' upon such review the Commissioner of Public Safety, or his 
authorized agent, finds (a) that the law enforcement officer had reasonable 
grounds and probable cause to believe the person had been driving a motor 
vehicle upon the public highways, public roads and streets of this state 
while under the influence of " intoxicating liquor, (b) that the person was 
placed under arrest after a refusal to take the test; (c) that he refused to 
submit to the test upon request of the officer, and (d) that the person was 
informed that his license to drive would be suspended or denied if he 
refused to submit to the test, then the Commissioner of Public Safety, or his 
authorized agent, shall give notice to the licensee that his license or permit 
to drive, or any nonresident operating privilege, shall be suspended thirty 
(30) days after the date of such notice for a period of ninety (90) days in the 
event such person has not previously been convicted of a violation of Section 
63-11-30, or, for a period of one (1) year in the event of any previous 
conviction of such person under Section 63-11-30. In the event the commis­
sioner or his authorized agent determines that the license should not be 
suspended, he shall return the license or permit to the licensee. 

The notice of suspension shall be in writing by registered or certified mail 
and shall have been given when deposited in the United States mail, 
addressed to the licensee at his address as it appears on his driver's license 
or at his last known address. 

(2) If the chemical testing of a person's breath indicates the blood alcohol 
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concentration was ten one-hundredths percent (.10%) or more by weight 
volume of alcohol, the .arresting officer shall seize the license and give the 
driver a receipt for his license on forms prescribed by the Commissioner of 
Public Safety and shall promptly forward the license together with a sworn 
report to the Commissioner of Public. Safety. The receipt given a person as 
provided herein shall be valid as a permit to operate a motor vehicle for a 
period of thirty (30) days in order that the defendant be processed through 
the court having original jurisdiction and a final disposition had; provided, 
however, that if the defendant makes a written request directed to the trial 
judge requesting that a trial be held on the matter within such thirty-day 
period and such defendant is not afforded a trial within such period, then 
the Commissioner of Public Safety shall issue such defendant a permit to 
drive that shall be valid for an additional thirty (30) days.,If the defendant 
makes a written request to the trial judge requesting that a trial be held on 
the matter prior to the expiration of such permit to drive and such 
defendant is not afforded a trial within such period, then the Commissioner 
of Public Safety shall issue such defendant a 'permit to drive for an 
additional thirty (30) days. In no event shall a defendant be permitted to 
.drive under the provisions of this subsection for more than ninety (90)-days 
after the initial seizure of such defendant's . license. The fact that the 
defendant has the right to request a trial and the. effect of a denial of such 
request shall be plainly stated on the face of any receipt or permit to drive 
issued such defendant. If a receipt or permit to drive issued pursuant to the 
provisions of this subsection expires without a trial having been requested 
as provided for in this subsection, then the'Commissioner of Public Safety or 
his authorized agent shall suspend the license or permit to drive or any 
nonresident operating privilege for tie applicable period of time as provided 
for in subsection (1) of this section. 

(3) If the person is a resident without a license or permit to operate a 
motor vehicle in this state, the Commissioner of Public Safety, or his 
authorized agent, shall deny to- the.person the issuance of a license or 
permit for a period of one (1) year beginning thirty (30) days after the date 
of notice of such suspension. 

(4) It shall be the duty of the county prosecuting attorney, an attorney 
employed under the provisions of Section 19-3-49, or in the event there is no 
such prosecuting attorney for the county, the duty of the district attorney to 
represent the state in any hearing held under the provisions of Section 63­
11-25, or under the provisions of Section 63-11-37(2). 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942,18175-12, Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 12; 1981, ch. 491, § 5; 1983, ch. 466, 

§ 4-,1989, ch. 482, § 25, eff from and after July 1, 1989. 

Editor's Note-
Subsection (2) of 163-11-37, referred to in subsection (4) of this section, was repealed 

effective July 1, 1987. 
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws 1981, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act." 
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Section 12 of Chapter 466, Laws, 1983, eff from and after July 1, 1983, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's licenses, 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act. In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1, 
1983, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of determining the 
penalties which shall be imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

Cross references-
Right to petition for review of decision of commissioner of public safety, see § 63-11-25 
Additional suspension or denial of license or permit, see § 63-11-30. 

Research and Practice References­
7A Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic §§ is i et seq. 
60 CJS, Motor Vehicles §§ 164.26 et seq. 

JUDICIAL DECISIONS 

Section 63-11-23 is penal in nature and (1) in the appropriate administrative manner, 
effect, and it will be construed strictly though take. the affirmative step of suspending that 
reasonably against infliction of penalty. State person's license or permit to drive, and (2) 
v Martin (1986, Miss) 495 So 2d 601. give the driver notice of the suspension by 

Before the license of one subject to § t3-11-. registered or certified mail as. provided in 
23(2) is effectively suspended, the Commission subsection (1) of the statute. State v Martin 
of Public Safety or his authorized. agent must (1986, Miss) 495 So 2d 501 

§ 63-11-25. Appeals; driving privilege suspended-pending outcome. 

If.the forfeiture, suspension or denaal of issuance is sustained by the 
commissioner of public safety, or his duly authorized ` agent pursuant to 
subsection (1) of section 63-11-23, upon 'such hearing, the party aggrieved 
may file within ten (10) days after the rendition of such decision a petition 
in the circuit or county court of his residence for review of such decision 
and such hearing upon review shall proceed as a trial de novo before the 
court without a . jury. Provided further, that no such` party shall be' allowed 
to exercise the driving privilege while any such appeal is pending. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, 18175-13; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 13; 1983, ch. 466, 15, eff from and 

after July 1, 19M 

Editor's Note-
Section 12 of Chapter 466, Laws, 1983, eff from and after July 1, 1983, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's licenses, 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act. In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1, 
1983, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of determining the 
penalties which shall be imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

Cross references-
Representation of state in proceedings held under this section, see § 63-11-23. 

Research and Practice References-­
7A Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic § 144. 
60 CJS, Motor Vehicles If 164.35 et seq. 

§ 63-11-26. Final actions which foreclose judicial review or appeal. 

When the commissioner of public safety, or his authorized agent, shall 
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suspend the driver's license or permit to drive of a person or shall deny the 
issuance of a license or permit to a person as provided in section 63-11-30, 
the person shall not be entitled to any judicial review of or appeal from the 
actions of the commissioner. A final conviction under said section shall 
finally adjudicate the privilege of such convicted person to operate a motor 
vehicle upon the public highways, public roads and streets of this state. 
SOURCES: Laws, 1981, ch. 491, § 9; 1983, ch. 466, § 6, off from and after July 1, 1983. 

Editor's Note-
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or.repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

Section 12 of Chapter 466, Laws, 1983, eff from and after July 1, 1983, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's licenses, 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1; 
1983, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of determining the 
penalties which shall be imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

§ 63-11-27. Suspension of nonresident drivers privilege; notification 
of authorities in home state. 

When it has been finally determined under the procedures of sections 63­
11-21 to 63-11-25, that a nonresident's privilege to operate a motor vehicle 
in this state has been suspended, the commissioner, or his duly authorized 
agent, shall give information in writing of the action taken to the motor 
vehicle administrator of the state of the person's residence and of any state 
in which he has a license. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-14; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, 114, eff from and after April 1, 

1972. 

Annotations-
Necessity and sufficiency of proof that tests of blood alcohol concentration were conducted in 

conformance with prescribed methods. 96 ALR3d 745. 

§ 63-11-29. [Codes, 1942, §§ 8175-02, 8175-03; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, §§ 2, 
3] Repealed by Laws, 1983, ch.466, § 15, eff from and after July 1, 
1983. 

Editor's Note-
Former section 63-11-29 made it unlawful for a habitual user of drugs or a person under the 

influence of drugs to operate a vehicle, and provided penalties for a violation. 

§ 63-11-30.. Penalties for operation of vehicle while under influence 
of intoxicating liquor or other substance that impairs ability to 
operate vehicle; where violation causes injury or death to an­
other person. 

(1) It is unlawful for any person to drive or otherwise operate a vehicle 
within this state who (a) is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, (b) is 
under the influence of any other substance which has impaired such 
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person's -ability to operate a motor vehicle; or (c) has ten one-hundredths 
percent (.10%) or more by weight volume of alcohol in the person's blood 
based upon milligrams of alcohol per one hundred (100) cubic centimeters of 
blood as shown by a chemical analysis of such person's breath, blood or 
urine administered as authorized by this chapter. 

(2Xa) Upon conviction, of any person for the first offense of violating 
subsection (1) of this section where chemical tests provided for 
under Section 63-11-5 were given, : or where chemical test results 
are not available, such person shall be fined not less than Two 
Hundred Fifty Dollars -($250.00) nor more than One Thousand 
Dollars ($1,000.00) or imprisoned for not more than twenty-four (24) 
hours in jail, or -both; and the court shall' order such person to 
attend and complete an alcohol safety education program as pro­
vided in Section 63-11-32. In addition, the Department of Public 
Safety, the Commissioner of Public Safety or his duly authorized 
agent shall, after conviction and upon receipt of the court abstract, 
suspend the driver's license and driving privileges of such person 
until such person attends and - successfully completes an alcohol 
safety education program as ,herein provided or for a period of 
ninety (90) days, whichever is greater, provided, -however, in no 
event shall such period of suspension: exceed one. (1) year. 

The county court or circuit court having jurisdiction, on petition, 
may reduce the suspension. of '-driving privileges under this section 
if the denial of which would constitute a hardship on the offender. 
Provided, however, no court' may issue such an order reducing the 
suspension of driving privileges under this-subsection until thirty 
(30) days has elapsed from the effective date of the suspension. 
When the petition is filed, such person shall-pay to the circuit clerk 
of the court where the petition is,filed a fee of Twenty Dollars 
($20.00) for each year, or portion thereof, of license revocation or 
suspension remaining under the original sentence, which shall be 
deposited into the State General Fund to the credit of a special 
fund hereby created in the State Treasury to be used for alcohol or 
drug abuse treatment and education, upon appropriation by the 
Legislature. This fee shall be in addition to any other court costs or 
fees required for the filing of petitions. 

Each petition filed under the provisions of this subsection shall con­
tain the specific facts which the petitioner alleges to constitute a 
hardship and the driver's license number of the petitioner. If the 
court determines that the period of suspension should be reduced, it 
may enter.a temporary order which will- allow the petitioner to oper­
ate a motor vehicle. A hearing•may be held on any petition filed un­
der this subsection after written notice -if the petitioner, the Com­
missioner of Public Safety or the attorney designated to represent 
the state requests such hearing. At such hearing, the court may enter 
a permanent order reducing the period of suspension and allowing 
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the petitioner to operate a motor vehicle in strict conformity with 
the provisions of this section. If no hearing is held within thirty 
(30) days of the issuance of the temporary order reducing the 
period of suspension, such order shall automatically be a perma­
nent order and the court record shall so reflect. 

Any temporary or permanent order entered under the provisions 
of this subsection shall contain the specific grounds upon which 
hardship was determined, and shall f order the petitioner to attend 
and complete an alcohol safety education program as provided in 
Section 63-11-32, Mississippi Code of 1972. A certified copy of such 
order shall be delivered to the Commissioner of Public Safety by 
the clerk of the court within five (5) 'days of the entry of the order. 
The certified copy of such order shall serve as the petitioner's 
authority to operate a motor vehicle and the order shall contain 
information which will identify the, petitioner, including, but not 
limited to, date of birth, hair color, eye color, weight and height, 
mailing address, street address, Social Security number and driv­
er's license number of the petitioner. 

(b) Upon any second conviction of any person violating subsection (1) of 
this section, the offenses being committed within a period of five (5) 
years, such person shall be fined not less than Six Hundred Dollars 
($600.00). nor.-more than One Thousand Dollars :($1,000.00) and 
shall be imprisoned not Jess than forty-eight (48) consecutive hours 
nor more than one (1) year or sentenced to community service 
work for not less than ten (10) days nor more than one (1) year. 
Except as may be otherwise provided by paragraph (e) of this 
subsection, the Commissioner of Public Safety shall suspend the 
driver's license of such person for two (2) years. 

(c) For any third conviction of any person violating subsection (1) of this 
section, the offenses being committed within a period of five (5) 
years, such person shall be fined not less than Eight Hundred 
Dollars ($800.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) 
and shall be imprisoned not less than thirty (30) days nor more 
than one (1) year. Except as may be otherwise provided by para­
graph (f) of this subsection, the Commissioner of Public Safety shall 
suspend the driver's license of such person for five (5) years. 

(d)­ Any fourth or subsequent violation of subsection (1) of this section 
shall be a felony offense, and upon conviction, the offenses being 
committed within a period of five (5) years, such person shall be 
fined not less than Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00) nor more 
than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) and shall be imprisoned not 
less than ninety (90) days nor more;:than five (5) years in the State 
Penitentiary. Except as may be otherwise provided by paragraph (f) 
of this subsection, the Commissioner of Public Safety shall suspend 
the driver's license of such person for five (5) years. 

(e) Any person convicted of a second violation of subsection (1) of this 
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section, may have the period that his driver's license is suspended 
reduced if such person receives an in-depth diagnostic assessment, 
and as' a result of such assessment is determined to be in need of 
treatment of his alcohol and/or drug abuse problem and success­
fully completes treatment of his alcohol and/or drug abuse problem 
at a program site certified by the. Department of Mental Health. 
Such person shall be eligible for: reinstatement of his driving 
privileges upon the successful" completion of spch treatment or a 
period of one (1) year after such person's driver's license is sus­
pended, whichever is greater. Each person. who receives a diagnos­
tic assessment shall pay a fee representing the cost of such assess­
ment. Each person who participates in a treatment program shall 
pay a fee representing the cost of such treatment. 

(fl Any person convicted of a third, or subsequent violation of subsection 
(1) of this section may enter an alcohol and/or drug abuse program 
approved by the Department of Mental Health for treatment of 
such person's alcohol and/or drug abuse problem. If such person 
successfully completes such treatment, such person shall be eligible 
for reinstatement of his driving privileges after a period of three (3) 
years after such person's `driver's license is suspended. 

(3) Every person convicted of operating a vehicle while under the influ­
ence of intoxicating liquor . or any other substance. which has impaired such 
person's ability to operate a motor vehicle where the person (a) refused a 
law enforcement officer's request to submit to. a chemical test of his breath 
as provided in this chapter, or (b) was unconscious at the time of a chemical 
test and refused to consent to the introduction of the results of such test in 
any prosecution, shall be punished consistent with the penalties prescribed 
herein for persons submitting to the test, except that there shall be an 
additional suspension of driving privileges as follows: 

The Commissioner of Public Safety or his authorized agent shall suspend 
the driver's license or permit to drive or deny the issuance of a license or per­
mit to such person as provided for first, second and third or subsequent offend­
ers in subsection (2) of this section. Such suspension shall be in addition 
to any suspension imposed pursuant to subsection (1) of Section 63-11-23. 

(4) Every person who operates any motor vehicle in violation of the 
provisions of subsection (1) of this section and who in a negligent manner 
causes the death of another or mutilates, disfigures, permanently disables or 
destroys the tongue, eye, lip, nose or any other limb or member of another 
shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony and shall be committed. to the 
custody of the State Department of Corrections for a period of time not to 
exceed ten (10) years. 
SOURCES: Laws, 1981, ch. 491, 16; 1983, ch. 466, if ?, 13; 1989, ch. 565, § 1, eff from and 

. after July 1. 1989. 

Editor's Note-
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws, 1981, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 
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the effective date of this act under taws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licensee or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act". 

Section 12 of Chapter 466, Laws. IM eff from and after July 1. 190, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's. licenses, 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act. In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1, 
1989, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of determining the 
penalties which shall be imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

Cross references-
Guaranteed arrest bond certificate in lieu of cash bail for certain traffic violations, see 163­

9-27. 
Warnings of consequences of refusal to submit to chemical tests, see 163-11-6. 
Review by commissioner of public safety of confiscation of license of driver who refused to 

submit to chemical test, see 163-11-23. 
Finality of commissioner's action in suspending or denying driving privilege of one convicted 

under this section, see 163-1126. 
Assessments imposed upon violation of this section. to fund Mississippi Alcohol Safety 

Education Program, see 163-11-32. 
'Bond forfeiture operating, for purposes of this section, as a conviction, am 163-11-37(1). 
Duty of trial judge, upon conviction of driver under this section, to mail copy of abstract of 

court record to the commissioner of public safety, see 163=1127(1). 
Prohibition on suspension by justice courts of fines imposed under the Implied Consent Law, 

see 199-19-25. 

Research and Practice References­
19 Am Jur Trials 123, Defense on Charge of Driving While Intoxicated. 

Annotations-­
What amounts to violation of drunken-driving statute in officer's "presence" or "view" so as 

to permit warrantless arrest. 74 ALR3d 1138. 
What constitutes driving, operating, or being in control of motor vehicle for purposes of 

driving while intoxicated statutes. 93 ALR3d 7. 
Necessity and sufficiency of proof that tests of blood alcohol concentration were conducted in 

conformance with prescribed methods. 96 ALR3d 745. 
Reckless driving as lesser included offense of driving while-intoxicated or similar charge. 10 

ALR4th 1252. 
Validity, construction, and application of statutes directly proscribing driving with blood 

alcohol level in excess of established percentage. 54 ALR4th 149. 
Alcohol-related vehicular homicide: nature and elements of offense. 64 ALR4th 166. 
Passenger's liability to vehicular accident victim for''! harm caused by intoxicated motor 

vehicle driver. 64 ALR4th 272. 
Driving while intoxicated: "choice of evils" defense that driving was necessary to protect life 

or property. 64 ALR4th 298. 
Cough medicine as "intoxicating liquor" under DUI statute. 65 ALR4th 1238. 

JUDICIAL DECISIONS 

1. In general.­ sentence of guilty into the docket constituted 
2.5. [Reserved for future use].­ a conviction such that a subsequent trial •for 
6.­ Under former laws. felonious driving under the influence was 

barred by the principle of double jeopardy. 
Bennett v State (1988, Miss) 528 So 2d 815. 

Section 63-11-30, which imposes a maxi­
1. In general­ mum 5-year penalty for the operation of a 

Where a defendant was charged with mis- vehicle in violation of the implied consent law 
demeanor driving under the influence of aloo- coupled with negligently causing the death or 
hol, forfeiture of his bond and entry of a mutilation of another, is 'not arbitrary ^ and 
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does not constitute cruel and unusual punish- 6. Under former laws 
ment. Banks v State (1988, Miss) 526 So 2d One need not be legally intoxicated in order
399. for question of impairment of reaction time 

Evidence that the defendant ran a stop sign by intoxicating liquors to be properly submit-
while intoxicated and collided with a truck ted to jury in negligence action; driver's ad-
resulting in the death of a passenger was not mission to having consumed several beers in
sufficient to prove manslaughter by culpable hours preceding traffic accident forms suffi.
negligence under .1 97.347 but was sufficient cient evidentiary basis for submission of ques­
to support a conviction for the lesser included tion to jury notwithstanding absence of alco­
offense of negligently killing another while hol on driver's breath and absence of liquor
tinder the influence of an intoxicating liquor bottles in driver's car. Mills v Nichols (1985,
pursuant to 163-11-30. Childs v State (1988, Miss) 467 So 2d 924.

Miss) 521 So 2d 882.


Being under the influence of marijuana is
1Itial judge acted without statutory author-

not a designated criminal offense under our
ity in suspending defendant's driving privi­
leges for 5 years, and imposed sentence ex- statutes except in conjunction with the opera­

ceeding maximum penalty provided by law, tion of .a vehicle. In Interest of Dudley (1975, 
Miss) 310 So 2d 919.

where defendant was convicted of vehicular 
homicide following head-on collision, because Driving an automobile on a highway under 
statute provided for period of suspension of the influence of intoxicants, or at a high and 
driving privileges varying from 90 days to 3 unlawful rate of speed, is not only dangerous 
years. Slaymaker v State (1987, Miss) 513 So but is negligence per se, and if such negli­
2d 921. gence contributes to an' injury the defendant 

is liable in damages. Freeze v Taylor, (1972, 
2.-6. (Reserved for future use] Miss) 257 So 2d 509. 

§ 63-11-31. [Codes, 1942, §§ 8175-04, 8175.05; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, §§ 4, 
5] Repealed by Laws, 1981, ch. 491, § 16, eff'from and after July 1, 
1981. 

Editor's Note-
Former section 63-1131 made it unlawful to operate a vehicle while under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor, and provided the penalties for a violation. 
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws, 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

§ 63-11-32. Driver improvement program for first offenders con­
victed of driving while intoxicated or under influence of another 
substance which impairs ability to operate motor vehicle; assess­
ments in addition to monetary penalties; disposition of funds. 

(1) The state department of public safety in conjunction with the gover­
nor's highway safety program, the state board of health or any other state 
agency or institution shall develop and implement a driver improvement 
program for persons identified as first offenders convicted of driving while 
under the influence of intoxicating liquor or another substance which had 
impaired such person's ability to operate a motor vehicle, including provi­
sion for referral to rehabilitation facilities. 

(2) The program shall consist of a minimum of ten (10) hours of instruc­
tion. Each person who participates shall pay a nominal fee to defray a 
portion of the cost of the program. 

(3) In addition to any monetary penalties imposed by section 63-11-30, 
there shall be collected a five dollar ($5.00) assessment from any person 
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upon whom a court imposes a fine or bail forfeiture pursuant to the 
provisions of this chapter. Such assessment shall be forwarded to the state 
treasurer who shall deposit such assessment to the credit of a special fund 
hereby created in the state treasury and designated the Mississippi Alcohol 
Safety Education Program Fund. Monies deposited in such fund shall be 
expended by the board of trustees of state institutions of higher learning as 
authorized and appropriated by the legislature to defray the costs of the 
Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program operated pursuant to the 
provisions of this section. Any revenue in the fund which is not encumbered 
at the end of the fiscal year shall lapse to the general fund. 

(4) In addition to the assessment imposed under the provisions of subsec­
tion (3) of this section and in addition to any monetary penalties imposed by 
section 63-11-30, there shall be collected a ten dollar ($10.00) assessment 
from any .person upon whom a court imposes a fine or bail forfeiture 
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter. Such assessment shall be depos­
ited by the state treasurer to the credit of a special fund hereby created in 
the state. treasury and designated the federal-state alcohol program fund. 
Monies deposited in such fund shall be expended by the governor's office of 
federal-state programs, department of criminal justice planning, highway 
safety division, as authorized and appropriated by. the legislature to. defray 
the costs of alcohol and traffic safety programs. Any revenue in the fund 
which is not encumbered at the end of the fiscal year shall lapse to the 
general fund. 
SOURCES: Laws, 1973, ch. 408, § 1 1979, ch. 305; 1981, ch. 491, § 7; 1983, ch. 466, § 8, eff 

from and after July 1, 1983. 

Editor's Notes 
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws, 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by' this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act.` 

Section 12 of Chapter 466, L.aws,1983, eff from and after July 1, 1983, provides as follows; 
"SECTTION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's licenses, 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act. In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1, 
1983, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of determining the 
penalties which shall be imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

Cross references-
Court ordering completion of alcohol safety education program by one convicted of driving 

while intoxicated or under influence of other substance which impairs ability to operate motor 
vehicle, see 163-11--30. 

§§ 63-11-33, 63-11-35. [Codes, 1942, §§ 8175-04, 8175-06, 8175-07; 
Laws, 1971, ch. 515, §§ 4, 6, 7] Repealed by Laws, 1981, ch. 491, § 16, 
eff from and after July 1, 1981. 

Editor's Note-
Former section 63-1133 made it unlawful to operate a vehicle under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor, and provided the penalties where chemical test results were not available. 
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Former section 63.1135 made it unlawful to operate a vehicle while intoxicated, and provided 
the penalties for a violation. 

Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws, 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 16. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licensee or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

§ 63-11-37. Copy of conviction record sent to commissioner; reduc­
tion of revocation or suspension period; additional restrictions on 
driving privileges. 

(1) It shall be the duty of the trial judge, upon conviction of any person 
under Section 63-11-30, to mail a copy of the abstract of the court record 
within five (5) days to the Commissioner of Public Safety at Jackson, 
Mississippi. The trial judge in municipal and justice courts shall show on 
the docket and the trial judge in courts of record shall show on the minutes: 

(a) Whether or not a chemical test was given and the results of the test; 
(b)­ Where conviction was based in whole or in part on the results of 

such a test. 
The abstract of the court record shallshow the date of the conviction,,the 

results of the test if there was one and the penalty so that a record of same 
may be made by the Department of Public Safety. 

For the purposes of Section 63-11-30, a bond forfeiture shall operate as 
and be considered as a conviction. 

(2) [Repealed] 
(3) [Repealed] 
(4) [Repealed] 
(5) Subsections (2), (3) and (4) of this section.shall stand repealed on July 

1, 1987. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 817b-08; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, 18; 1981, ch. 491, 18, 1983, ch. 466, 

§ 9, 19855% ch. 346, eff from and after July 1, 1985. 

Editor's Note-
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 16. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspension or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

Section 12 of Chapter 466, Laws, 1983, eff from and after July 1. 1983, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's licenses. 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act. In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1. 
1983, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of determining the 
penalties which shall be imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

§ 63-11-39. Admissibility of evidence in criminal action; reduction 
of driving while under influence&charge prohibited. 

(1) Upon the trial of any person charged with driving a vehicle under the 
influence of any substance other than intoxicating liquor which had im­
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paired such person's ability to operate a motor vehicle, where such person 
refused to consent to a chemical test of his blood and where the law 
enforcement officer had reasonable grounds and probable cause to believe 
such person to be under the influence of a substance other than intoxicating 
liquor impairing his ability to operate a motor vehicle, the fact that such 
person refused consent to a chemical test of his blood shall be admissible in 
evidence and shall give rise to the presumption that had any such test been 
given it would have disclosed the presence of a substance other than 
intoxicating liquor in his body which impaired his ability to operate a motor 
vehicle. 

•(2) No provision of this chapter shall be construed as limiting tlge intro­
diction of any, other competent evidence bearing upon the question whether 
or not the person was under the influence ofintoxicating liquor or any other 
substance which had impaired such person's ability to operate a motor 
vehicle. 

(3) The court having jurisdiction or the prosecutor shall not reduce the 
charge of driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor to a lesser 
charge for any person whose blood is shown to contain ten one-hundredths 
percent (.109'0) or more by weight volume of alcohol by -a chemical analysis 
of the person's breath or blood. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942,.§ 8175-15; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 15; 1981, ch. 401, § 10; 1983, •iah. 

466, 110, eff from and after July 1, 1983. 

Editor's Note-
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred' prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be'affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

Section 12 of Chapter 466, Laws, 1983, eff from and after July 1. 1983, provides as follows: 
"SECTION 12. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

July 1, 1983, under laws amended by this act, and suspensions or denials of driver's licenses, 
permits or privileges made pursuant to laws amended by this' act, shall not be affected or 
abated by the provisions of this act. In addition, convictions which occurred prior to July 1, 
1983, under laws amended by this act shall be counted for the purposes of.determining the 
penalties which shall be imposed on any person convicted for a second or subsequent offense 
under the provisions of the laws amended by this act." 

Research and Practice References­
7A Am Jar 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic §f 375380, 384. 

.61A CJS, Motor Vehicles §§ 633(2), 633(4), 633(8). 
2 Am Jur Proof of Facts 585, Blood Tests. 
17 Am Jur Proof of Facts 2d 1, Defense to Charge of Driving Under Influence of Alcohol 

Annotations-
Drunk driving: motorist's right to private sobriety test. 45 ALR4th 11. 

JUDICIAL DECISIONS 

In a prosecution for homicide by culpable the demarcation under § 63-11.39 between a 
negligence, results of •a blood test revealed presumption of whether he was driving under 
that the defendant had considerably more the influence of intoxicating liquor. Williams 
than .10 percent alcohol content in his blood, v State (1983, Miss) 434 So 2d 1340. 
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A chemical analysis of defendant's blood other competent evidence under Code 1972 
performed by an individual not possessing a 163-11--39 where evidence detailed in opinion 
valid permit issued by the State Board of established that test was reasonable. Cutch-
Health for making such analysis (Code 1972 ens v State (1975, Mime) 310 So 2d 273, cert 
163-11-19) was nevertheless admissible as den 423 US 1061, 46 L Ed 2d 662,96 S Ct 799. 

§ 63-11-40. Driving while license or privilege is cancelled, sus­
pended or revoked; penalties. 

Any person whose driver's license, or driving. privilege has been cancelled, 
suspended or revoked under the provisions of this chapter and who drives 
any motor vehicle upon the highways, streets or public roads of this state, 
while such license or privilege is cancelled, suspended or revoked, shall be 
guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be punished by imprison­
ment .for not less than forty-eight (48) hours nor more than six (6) months, 
and fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor: more than five 
hundred dollars ($500.00). 

The commissioner of public safety shall suspend the driver's license or 
driving privilege of any person convicted under the provisions of this section 
for an additional six (6) months. Such suspension shall begin at the end of 
the original cancellation,-suspension or revocation and run consecutively. 
SOURCES: Laws, 1983, ch. 466, 111. eff from and after July 1,-1983. 

§ 63-11-41.^ Admissibility of Lion-submission to test in criminal ac­
tion. 

If a person under arrest refuses to submit to a chemical test under the 
provisions of this ;chapter,-evidence of refusal shall-be admissible in any 
criminal action under this chapter. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-22; Laws, 1971, ,ph.. 515, § 22, eff from. and after April 1, 

1972. 

Research and Practice References­
7A Am Jur 2d, Automobiles and Highway Traffic If 375380. 
61A CJS, Motor Vehicles if 633(2), 633(4). 

§ 63-11-43. Admissibility of test results or of submission or non-
submission to test in civil case. 

Neither results of a chemical test under the provisions of this chapter, nor 
the fact of submission to or refusal of such test shall be admissible in a civil 
case. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, § 8175-23; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 23, eff from and after April 1, 

1972. 

Annotations-
Drunk driving: motorist's right to private sobriety test. 45 ALR4th 11. 

JUDICIAL DECISIONS 

The privilege seated by - sections 63-11-7 plied consent laws without the consent of the 
and 63-11-43 to prevent the introduction into person tested are inconsistent with the Missis­
evidence of the results of blood alcohol tests sippi Rules of Evidence, Rules 601 and 1103, 
taken pursuant to the provisions of the im- and therefore must yield. Whitehurst v State 
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(1989, Miss) 540 So 2d 1319. dered test, and would only penalize defen-
Trial court erred in refusing to admit evi- dants. Hughes v Tupelo, Oil Co. (1987, Miss) 

dence that decedent's blood alcohol content, 510 So 2d 502. 
tested at request of investigating officer, was Blood alcohol test results were admissible 
.15 percent, because statutory privilege in in civil case when performed on driver who 
f 63-11-43 prohibiting admission, in civil trial, died as result of accident, both because dece­
of blood alcohol tests taken pursuant to dent's representative waived statutory protec­
state's implied consent law, had been abro- tion and results of test were submitted in 
gated by adoption of Mississippi Rules of Evi- defense of person tested, Miss Code §§ 63-11-7 
dence; officer who requested test did not have and 63-11-43 (1972) being intended to protect 
authority to do so, since implied consent law interests of person submitted to blood alcohol 
authorized blood alcohol test on dead or un- test. Clark v Pascagoula (1987, Miss) 507 So 
conscious drivers whom investigating officer 2d 70. 
believed to have been operating motor vehicle 

Results of blood alcohol test are inadmissi­
while intoxicated, and there was no evidence 

ble in civil case even for impeachment pur-that decedent had been operating motor vehi­
cle; however, admission was proper because poees. Adams v Green (1985, Miss) 474 So 2d 

577.exclusion of this relevant evidence would 
have no deterrent effect on officer who or­

§ .63-11--45. Effect of test results or non-submission to test on insur­
ance coverage. 

No coverage otherwise afforded under any. policy of insurance shall be 
denied on the ground that any person has refused any test provided for by 
this chapter nor on the basis of the results of any such test. Any provision 
to such effect in any insurance policy hereinafter issued shall be void. 
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, 181755-25; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, 129, eff from and after April 1, 

1972. 

§ 63-11-47., Selection and purchase of equipment and supplies. 
The commissioner of public safety, acting in concert with the state crime 

laboratory created pursuant to 'section 45-1-17, is hereby expressly autho­
rized and directed to determine the equipment and supplies which are 
adequate and necessary from both a medical and law enforcement stand­
point for administration of this chapter. The commissioner of public safety, 
upon receiving such recommendation from the state crime' laboratory, shall 
recommend an equipment standard for such equipment to the state fiscal 
management board. The state fiscal management board, using such a 
uniform standard for said equipment, shall advertise its intention of pur­
chasing said equipment by one (1) publication in at least one (1) newspaper 
having general circulation in the state of Mississippi at least ten (10) days 
before the purchase of such equipment and supplies, and the advertisement 
shall clearly and distinctly describe the articles to be purchased, and shall 
receive sealed bids thereon which shall be opened in public at a time and 
place to be specified in the advertisement. 

The state fiscal management board shall accept the lowest and best bid 
for said equipment and supplies; in its discretion, it may reject any and all 
bids submitted. The lowest and best bid for said equipment and supplies 
accepted by the state fiscal management board shall be the state-approved 
price of said equipment for purchase by the state, county and city govern­
ments. 

s 

4 
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Title to all such testing equipment in the state purchased hereunder shall 
remain in the commissioner of public safety regardless of what entity pays 
the purchase price. 

The state, counties and municipalities may purchase in the name of the 
commissioner of public ; safety such equipment and supplies from other 
vendors of said equipment and supplies necessary to implement this chap­
ter, provided they purchase of the same quality and standard as certified to 
the state fiscal management board and approved by the department. How­
ever, such equipment and supplies shall not be purchased by the state, 
counties and municipalities unless it is. at a price equivalent to or lower 
than that approved by the state fiscal management board, pursuant to the 
bid procedure as outlined herein. 

SOURCES: Codes, 1942,18175-26; Laws, 1971, ch. 515, § 30; 1981, ch. 491,113,--1984, ch. 
488, § 263, eff from and after July 1, 1984. 

Editor's Note- ­
Section 27-104-1 provides that the term "Fiscal Management Board" shall mean the "Depart­

ment of Finance and Administration". 
Section 15 of Chapter 491, Laws 1981, provides as follows: 
SECTION 15. Prosecutions, convictions and penalties for violations which occurred prior to 

the effective date of this act under laws amended or repealed by this act, or suspensions or 
denials of driver's licenses or permits made pursuant to laws amended or repealed by this act, 
shall not be affected or abated by the provisions of this act. 

Section 341, ch. 488, Laws, 1984, provides as follows:' 
"Nothing in this act shall affect or defeat any claim, assessment, appeal, suit, right or cause 

of action which accrued prior to the date on which the applicable sections of this act become 
effective, whether such assessments, appeals, suits,'claim•or`actions shall have been-begun 
before the.date on which the applicable sections of this act become effective or shall thereafter 
be begun." 

JUDICIAL DECISIONS 

Duties and responsibilities, including allow- (§ 25-1-77), and approving dispersement of 
ing authority for Educational Television to funds by the Mississippi Air and Water Pollu­
contract (§ 37-63-11), giving concurrence for tion Commission (§ 49-17-13), are administra­
the use of funds to travel outside the conti- tive functions within the prerogative of the 
nental United States (§25.3-41), advertising executive department, and statutes vesting 
for and accepting bids on equipment for the those powers and functions in members of the 
State Crime Laboratory (§ 63-11-47), granting legislature violate Miss Const Art 1 § 2 and 
authority for the purchase of motor vehicles are unconstitutional. Alexander v State (1983, 
by state departments, institutions, or agencies Miss) 441 So 2d 1329. 
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PLEASE PRINT INFORMATION AGENCY CODE TICKET NUMBERIN THE COURT DESIGNATED BELOW. THE AFFIANT HEREIN. BEING DULY SWORN. UPON OATH 
DOES DEPOSE AND SAY AT THE FOLLOWING LOCATION. TIME AND DATE. 

LOCATION HIGHWA /STREET 

DAY DATE TIME OF ARREST TIME O TEST
A.M. A.M. 
P.M. P.M. 

NAME (FIRST NAME. MIDDLE NAME, LAST NAME) 

ADDRESS 

CITY STATE-- ZIP CODE 

UHIVER LICENSE NUMBER TYPE STATE SEX RACE DATE OF BIRTH 

VEHICLE LICENSE NO. STATE YEAR MAKE MODEL VEHICLE TYPE 

MUNICIPAL COURT q 
JUSTICE COURT q 

ADDRESS 
% BAC 

CITY 

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

Receipt for Driver License and Temporary Driving Permit 
.10% OR GREATER BAC 

This form is valid as a driver permit for a period of thirty (30) days from the date it was issued. Anyone using this form 
thirty (30) days after issuance may be driving under suspension. All law enforcement officers may determine if the holder 
is driving under suspension by contacting the nearest Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol or any Mississippi Justice Informa­
tion Center terminal. 

This receipt and permit is issued to individuals who have taken a breath test to determine Blood Alcohol Content and the 
results indicated a Blood Alcohol Content of .10% or greater. (Section 63-11-23 (2) Mississippi Code, 1972, Annotated.) 

VIOLATOR'S SUSPENSION NOTICE 
This form is valid as a driver permit for a period of thirty (30) days from the date of arrest. You have the right to request 

in writing to the court of original jurisdiction a trial before this permit expires. If the court denies your request for a trial 
within the thirty (30) day period and if the court provides an Order, the Commissioner of Public Safety will issue an additional 
thirty (30) day permit. No privilege to drive may be extended more than ninety (90) days from the date of the initial seizure 
of driver license. 

If you do not request a trial before the expiration of this permit, your license will be suspended. The period of suspension 
is for ninety (90) days or in the event you have previously been convicted of driving under the influence (Section 63-11-30) 
your suspension period is for one (1) year. This suspension is in addition to any other suspension imposed upon conviction 
for driving under the influence. 

Print Arresting Officer's Name:

Signature of

Arresting Officer: Badge No.


Enforcement Agency: 

IP.12 



PRINT INFORMATION IP-14 (9-85) 

DUNO. STATE 
LAST NAME FIRST MIDDLE 

AGENCY CODE 
I El CITY STATE 

DATE OF BIRTH ___ DATE OF ARREST q COUNTqY q FED. 
Mo DAY YEAR MO DAY YEAR TICKET NO. 

SEX RACE LOCATION OF ARREST HWY DISTRICT 

q AM
CITY COUNTY TIME 

q PM 

VIOLATOR'S ADDRESS 
STREET OR ROUTE CITY STATE ZIP 

TRIAL JUDGE 

ADDRESS 

CITY 

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY


Receipt for Driver License and Temporary Driving Permit


BREATH TEST REFUSAL


Persons using this form as a driving permit forty-five (45) days after date of arrest, should have this license status checked through 
any Mississippi Highway Patrol Station or Mississippi Justice Information Center terminal to determine if subject is driving while 
license is suspended. 

This permit is issued to individuals who have refused a breath test to determine Blood Alcohol Content as required in Section 
632-11-5 and in accordance with Section 63-11-2I Mississippi Code, 1972, Annotated. 

Oil"ICKR'S STA'I'1,MEN'I' 

I, the undersigned law enforcement officer, state: (a) that the above named person was placed under arrest after a refusal to take 
a breath test to determine Blood Alcohol content; (b) that he refused to submit to the test upon request as provided in Section 
63-11-5 of the Mississippi Code, 1972 Annotated; (c) that the person was informed that if he refused to take the test his license 
to drive would be suspended or denied for a period of ninety (90) days or for a period of one (1) year in the event of any previous 
conviction of such person under Section 63-11-30 Mississippi Code, 1972, Annotated; (d) that the law enforcement officer had reasonable 
grounds and probable cause to believe the person had been driving a motor vehicle upon the public highways of this state while 
under the influence of intosicating liquor as indicated below: 
q Slurred Speech q Smell of Intoxicating Beverage Present q Coordination impaired 
q Driving off roadway q Weaving in Roadway q Eyes Dilated

q Other


Print Officer's Name: 

Officer's Signature: Badge No. 

Enforcement Agency: 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME, 
STAPLE DRIVER LICENSE HERE 

this the day of , 19 
IS LICENSE ATTACHED 

YES NO 
Notary Public or court Clerk 

IF NO WHY 
WITHIN 24 HOURS MAIL TO: 

Statistical Branch 
Dept. D 
P. O. Box 958 
Jackson. Mississippi 39205 
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