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appellate courts have upheld ALR as a
constitutional means of protecting the
public from impaired drivers.

The U.S. Supreme Court has found that the
right of due process is not violated if a
driver‘s license is suspended prior to an
administrative hearing, as long as provisions
are made for a swift post-suspension hearing.
(Mackey v. Montrym, 43 U.S. 1. 1979).

An independent study found that
administrative license revocation laws
reduced fatal crashes approximately nine
percent during high-risk (late night)
periods of alcohol involvement.

Illinois, New Mexico, Maine, North
Carolina, Colorado and Utah have observed
significant reductions in alcohol-related
fatal crashes following the implementation
of administrative license revocation
procedures, according to a NHTSA study.

Based on data obtained in an agency-
sponsored study of the effects of certain
types of legislation, NHTSA estimates that
162 additional lives could have been saved
in 1995, if administrative license
revocation laws had been adopted in the
13 States without such laws at that time.
(continued)
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The U.S. Department of Transportation’s
 National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration (NHTSA) encourages
States to require prompt, mandatory
suspension of drivers’ licenses for
alcohol and/or other drug test failure
and refusal. Traffic crashes are the
greatest single cause of death for every
age 6 through 28, and over 40 percent
of those fatalities involve alcohol and/
or other drugs. Suspending  or
revoking a driver’s license for driving
while under the influence of alcohol or
other drugs has proven to be a most
successful deterrent to this behavior.

Administrative license revocation (ALR)
laws are based on objective chemical
tests (blood, breath, or urine), similar
to “illegal per se” criminal laws against
impaired driving. Administrative license
revocation allows police and driver
licensing authorities to revoke the
driver’s license swiftly, without long
delays while waiting for a criminal trial,
and protects the offender’s right of
due process through an appeal system.
ALR is similar to "implied consent" laws
in states which automatically suspend
a driver's license for refusing a BAC
test. ALR automatically suspends the
license for failing the BAC test.

Key Facts
In 1995, 41percent of the 41,798 motor
vehicle crash deaths were alcohol-related.
This percentage translates into 17,274
alcohol-related deaths last year.

As of l996, 39 States and the District of
Columbia have adopted some form of
administrative license revocation.

Administrative license revocation is
constitutional and is not double
jeopardy. All cases in the highest state
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The administrative sanction is handled
separately from the criminal proceeding. The
outcome of the administrative action should
have no bearing on the criminal proceedings,
including sanctions.

How Much Does An Administrative
License Revocation Program Cost?
A 1991NHTSA-sponsored study looked at the cost
and benefits associated with administrative
license revocation laws in Illinois, Mississippi, and
Nevada. The study found that start-up and
operating costs were more than covered by
reinstatement fees assessed to offenders. In
addition, the annual savings in costs of night-
time crashes that were reduced as a result of ALR
ranged from $37 million in Nevada to $104
million in Mississippi.

How Can Administrative License
Revocation Be Financed?
The offenders, rather than taxpayers, should pay
for these programs. Some States have
significantly increased the reinstatement fee for
those whose licenses are revoked for driving
while intoxicated (DWI), some have raised all
reinstatement fees, and others have increased all
license application and renewal fees. Other fines,
fees or taxes that can be considered to provide
funding include alcoholic beverage taxes that can
be earmarked for alcohol program expenses such
as ALR.

Who Supports Administrative License
Revocation?
The following organizations have publicly
supported administrative license revocation:

Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety

Allstate Insurance

American Alliance for Rights and
Responsibilities

American Association of Motor Vehicle
Administrators

American Automobile Association

American Automobile Manufacturers
Association

American Coalition for Traffic Safety

American Insurance Association

Center for Substance Abuse Prevention

The Century Council

Key Facts (continued)

Publicity is an important factor. A NHTSA-
sponsored study carried out in Nevada found a
12 percent reduction in alcohol-related crashes
following implementation of a publicity
campaign designed to inform the public about
the administrative license revocation procedure.

Administrative license revocation does not have
a major impact on offender's job or income. A
1996 study compared three ALR states with one
state that used other sanctions for impaired
driving. There was no difference between ALR
and non-ALR states in offender employment or
income. In both, 94 percent of the offenders
who were working at the time of arrest were
still working one month later, 4 percent were
unemployed, and the remaining 2 percent were
in school. License revocations as long as 90 days
did not lead to loss of job or income.

What Provisions Should Be Included In
An Administrative Revocation Law?

The language of the administrative license
revocation law should be consistent with the
provisions of the State’s administrative
procedures laws.

The arresting officer should, at the time of
arrest, serve the notice of revocation, take the
offender’s license, and issue a temporary
license.

The driver shall have the opportunity for an
administrative appeal hearing.

The hearing request should not be allowed to
delay the revocation. If the hearing request does
not stay the revocation, between 25 and 30
percent of the offenders request a hearing. If
the hearing request stays the revocation, nearly
100 percent of the offenders request a hearing.

The initial revocation for test failure should be at
least 90 days with full revocation for 30 days,
followed by at least 60 days of restricted
driving. Restricted driving licenses should be
permitted only in very limited circumstances,
and only after an initial “hard” suspension
period. The initial revocation for a test refusal
should be a full 90 days, with no restricted
driving privileges. For a repeat offense within
five years, the revocation should be a full
revocation for one year, with no restricted
driving privileges. Suspensions should take
effect within 30 days of notice.



National Commission Against
Drunk Driving

National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration

National Safety Council

National Sheriffs' Association

National Transportation Safety Board

Nationwide Insurance

Operation Lifesaver

Police Executive Research Forum

Remove Intoxicated Drivers (RID)

Students Against Driving Drunk (SADD)

U.S. Department of Justice

USAA Insurance

Administrative License Revocation Laws*
39 States and DC
(as of August 1996)

Who Supports Administrative License
Revocation? (continued)

Federal Highway Administration

GEICO

General Federation of Women’s Clubs

Highway Users Federation for Safety
and Mobility

Insurance Information Institute

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety

International Association of Chiefs of Police

Kemper Insurance Group

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)

National Association of Governors’ Highway
Safety Representatives

National Association of Independent
Insurers

National Association of State Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Directors

National Association of State Emergency Medical
Service Directors

*For Test Failure and Refusal

Law

No Law
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Employment, Ketron, DTNH22-93-C-05002.
NHTSA, September 1996, in print.

Fatal Crash Involvement and Laws Against
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Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, February
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Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program,
Social Science Research Center, Mississippi State
University, June l987.

Information Sources
"Administrative License Revocation: Resource
Manual," NHTSA, DOT HS 807 873, July 1992.

"Questions Most Frequently Asked About
Administrative License Revocation" NHTSA, DOT
HS 807 906, December 1992.

Administrative License Revocation Video,
produced for NHTSA by USAA, 12 minutes.

"Administrative License Revocation:  Facts,
Myths, and Fictions", Kathryn Stewart, published
by the Office for Substance Abuse Prevention,
January 1991.

“Administrative License Revocation Costs and
Benefits”  NHTSA, Fact Sheet.

"Police Costs Associated with Administrative
License Revocation", NHTSA Traffic Tech, No. 59,
January 1994.

"Potential Lives Saved If Administrative License
Revocation Law Adopted -1990" NHTSA Traffic
Tech, No. 24, March 1992.

Sample State Administrative Driver License
Suspension Forms, DOT-HS-807-547, March
1990.

"Study in Four States Shows that ALR Has Little
Effect on Violator's Employment or Income,"
NHTSA Traffic Tech, October 1996.

Section 410 of the Highway Safety Act
Section 410 provides incentive grants to States that
achieve at least five of the following seven criteria:

An expedited system for suspending the license
of drunk drivers such as administrative license
revocation;

A law that deems a 0.10 blood alcohol concen-
tration to be driving while intoxicated (after
three years, it must drop to 0.08);

A statewide program for stopping motor vehicles
to enforce drunk driving laws;

A self-sustaining drunk driving prevention
program;

A program to prevent drivers under age 21 from
obtaining alcoholic beverages;

A mandatory sentence of 48 consecutive hours in
jail or not less than 10 days of community service
for any person convicted of DWI more than once
in any 5-year period; and

A new law that deems 0.02 blood alcohol
concentration to be driving while intoxicated for
drivers under age 21.

States can earn more grant funds by meeting
additional goals.

Research Studies
An Assessment of the Effects of Publicizing
Administrative License Revocation for DWI in
Nevada.  John Lacey, et al, University of North
Carolina Highway Safety Research Center, DOT-HS-
807-600, March l990.

Changes in Alcohol-Involved Fatal Crashes
Associated with Tougher State Alcohol Legislation.
Sigmastat, Inc. for NHTSA, July l989.

Cost-Benefit Analysis of Administrative License
Suspension.  John Lacey, et al, Mid-America
Research, DOT-HS-807-689, January 1991.

These reports and additional information are available from your State Highway Safety Office, the
NHTSA Regional Office serving your State, or from NHTSA Headquarters, Traffic Safety Programs,
ATTN: NTS-21, 400 Seventh Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20590, 202-366-9588.


