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STATES WITH ILLEGAL PER SE LAWS
(Alcohol Concentration $0.10 unless otherwise indicated)

Alabama ($0.08 1995)
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California ($0.08 1989)
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida ($0.08 1993)
Georgia
Hawaii ($0.08 1995)
Idaho ($0.08 1997)
Illinois ($0.08 1997)
Indiana
Iowa

Kansas ($0.08 1993)
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine ($0.08 1988)
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire ($0.08 1993)
New Jersey
New Mexico ($0.08 1993)
New York
North Carolina ($0.08 1993)

North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon ($0.08 1983)
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah ($0.08 1983)
Vermont ($0.08 1991)
Virginia ($0.08 1994)
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin1

Wyoming

TOTAL=49    1Alcohol Concentration $0.08 for a 3rd or subsequent offense

ADMINISTRATIVE PER SE LAWS 

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho (Effective 1/1/98)
Illinois

Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire

New Mexico
North Carolina
North Dakota
Oklahoma
Ohio
Oregon
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington1

West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

TOTAL = 41  (40 States plus the D.C.)  1Action only for 2nd or subsequent violations
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ALTERNATIVE PRE-DWI CRIMINAL ADJUDICATION
LICENSING ACTION BY THE COURTS

Kentucky Massachusetts1 New York

TOTAL = 3

1Licensing action is taken by the court at the time of arraignment on a drunk driving offense charge
if such action has not been taken via the administrative per se law.
 

STATES WITH BOTH BAC AND BrAC ILLEGAL PER SE LAWS

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona2

Arkansas
California
Colorado
Delaware
District of Columbia1

Florida
Georgia2

Idaho1

Hawaii
Illinois2

Indiana2

Iowa1

Kansas
Kentucky
Maryland
Michigan1

Minnesota1&5

Montana1

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire1

New Jersey3

North Carolina

North Dakota1

Ohio1

Oklahoma
South Dakota
Tennessee4

Texas1

Utah2

Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia1

Wisconsin
Wyoming1

TOTAL=39

1This State's illegal per se law also applies to concentrations of alcohol in urine.
2It is also illegal to operate a motor vehicle with any amount of cannabis/controlled substance in the
body where use of such substance was unlawful.
3It appears that BrAC illegal per se was established via judicial decision.
4The illegal per se law in this State may have constitutional infirmities.
5It is also illegal to operate a motor vehicle with any amount of a controlled substance in the body
except marijuana.

Note:  The State of Rhode Island makes it an offense for a person to operate a motor vehicle with
any amount of a controlled substance in their blood.
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ANTI-PLEA BARGAINING LAWS

Arizona
Arkansas
California5

Colorado
Florida1

Kansas
Kentucky2

Mississippi2

Nevada

New Mexico2

New York3

Oregon
Pennsylvania4

Wyoming

TOTAL = 14

1Applies only if Alcohol Concentration is 0.20 or more
2Applies only if Alcohol Concentration is 0.10 or more
3Unless available evidence determines otherwise, plea bargaining is allowed only to another DWI
offense.
4Limited.  The original DWI charge cannot be reduced at a preliminary hearing (arraignment).
5Unless there is insufficient evidence to prove a DWI offense.
 

PRELIMINARY BREATH TEST LAWS (PBT)

Alaska
Arizona
California
Colorado
Delaware
Dist. of Columbia
Florida
Illinois
Iowa
Kansas

Kentucky
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New York

North Carolina
North Dakota
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
South Dakota
Vermont
Virginia
West Virginia
Wisconsin

TOTAL = 31
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ROADSIDE SOBRIETY CHECKPOINTS
Status of Appellate Court Decisions

FAVORABLE DECISION UNFAVORABLE DECISION

Alabama
Arizona
Arkansas
California1

Colorado
Connecticut
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Illinois1

Indiana1

(Iowa2)
Kansas
Kentucky1

Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts

Missouri
Nebraska
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Pennsylvania
South Dakota
Tennessee
Vermont
Virginia1

West Virginia
(Wisconsin5)
United States*

Idaho
Louisiana
Michigan3

Minnesota
(New Hampshire6)
Oregon
Rhode Island
Texas
(Utah4)
Washington

TOTAL=32                                                 TOTAL=8
Bold face type represents decisions of a court of highest record (e.g., a State supreme court or the
U.S. Supreme Court).
*Note:  In Michigan Dept. of State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S. 444 (1990), the U.S. Supreme Court held
that sobriety checkpoints are constitutional.  For prior case law, see Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S.
648 (1979).
                      
1Cert. den. by the U.S. Supreme Court.
2Routine sobriety checkpoints may be prohibited by statute.
3Notwithstanding Michigan Dept. of State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S. 444 (1990), that upheld the
constitutionality of sobriety checkpoints under the U.S. Constitution, the Michigan Supreme Court
has held that sobriety checkpoints violate the State's constitution.  Sitz v. Michigan Dept. of State
Police, 506 N.W.2d 209 (Mich. 1993)
4The Utah Court of Appeals held that sobriety checkpoints were illegal because they were not
authorized by law.  Following this decision, the legislature enacted the appropriate statutory authority
(Utah Code Annotated § 77-23-101 et seq.).
5There is no appellate court case law concerning the validity of sobriety checkpoints.  However, such
checkpoints appear to be prohibited by statute.
6Court approved sobriety checkpoints via N.H. Rev. Stat. Anno. §265:1-a.
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STATES WHERE THE IMPLIED CONSENT LAW 
APPLIES TO OTHER DRUGS AS WELL AS ALCOHOL

Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Idaho
Illinois

Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri

Montana1

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Pennsylvania

Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

TOTAL = 42

1A request for an alcohol test must be made before one for drugs.  If the alcohol test indicates that
the driver has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more, a drug test cannot be requested.

STATES WITH COLOR-CODED* DRIVER'S LICENSES
FOR PERSONS UNDER 21 YEARS OLD

Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois

Indiana
Kansas
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Nebraska
Nevada

New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont

TOTAL=33

*Includes letters, highlighted letters or backdrops.



- 6 -
Revised 11/1/97

REFUSAL TO SUBMIT TO AN IMPLIED CONSENT
CHEMICAL TEST ADMITTED INTO EVIDENCE

CRIMINAL CASES

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Idaho

Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Michigan1

Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri

Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon

Pennsylvania
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia2

Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

TOTAL = 48

CIVIL CASES

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
California

Delaware
District of Columbia
Illinois
Indiana

Iowa
Missouri
New Hampshire
New Mexico

New York
North Dakota
Oregon
Utah
Wyoming

TOTAL = 17

               
1Refusal can only be admitted for the purpose of showing that a test was offered.  A refusal cannot
be used to determine innocence or guilt of a DWI offense.
2A refusal can only be admitted for rebuttal purposes.
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CHEMICAL TESTS - SERIOUS PERSONAL INJURY OR DEATH

I.  Uniform Vehicle Code (UVC) § 6-210 -- Chemical test of drivers in serious personal injury or fatal
crashes
Notwithstanding the provisions of § 6-2071, when the driver of a vehicle is involved in an accident
resulting in death or serious personal injury of another person and there is reason to believe that the
driver is guilty of a violation of § 11-902(a)2, he may be compelled by a police officer to submit to
a test or tests of his blood, breath, or urine to determine the alcohol concentration or the presence
of other drugs.
II.  Drivers, in the following States (some under a separate implied consent law), may be required to
submit to a chemical test for alcohol concentration (or drugs) if they were involved in an accident
which caused either a death or a serious bodily injury to another and there is reasonable grounds or
probable cause that they were in violation of the drunk driving laws.

Alabama
Alaska
Arkansas
California3

Colorado
Delaware3

Dist. of Columbia11

Florida10

Hawaii

Illinois3

Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland

Michigan
Minnesota4

Missouri5

Nebraska5

Nevada3

New Jersey6

New Mexico
New York
North Carolina9

North Dakota
Oklahoma7

South Dakota8

Texas9

Utah10

Washington
Wisconsin10

Wyoming

TOTAL = 34
                       
1Implied consent provisions of the UVC.
2DWI provisions of the UVC.
3A driver, based on probable cause (or reasonable grounds) of DWI, may be required to submit to
a chemical test for a drunk driving law violation regardless of whether there was a death or a serious
injury.
4A person arrested for an injury related DWI offense may be forced to provided a blood sample.
5A driver may be required to submit to a chemical test if they are involved in a DWI related accident
regardless of whether there has been a death or injury.
6A person may be compelled to provide a blood sample for any DWI offense.  Also, a BAC test shall
be made on an automobile driver who has survived a traffic accident fatal to another.
7A person may be compelled to submit to a chemical (blood) test in traffic accident situations where
the person has been cited for a traffic offense.
8A chemical test is required for persons who have been arrested for a third DWI offense regardless
of whether it is injury or death related.  Note:  A third DWI offense is a felony.
9For a DWI related accident that result in either a death or an injury likely to cause a death.
10Possible
11Based on an accident
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STATES WITH MANDATORY TESTING FOR ALCOHOL
CONCENTRATION IN DECEASED DRIVERS

Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Georgia1

Hawaii1

Idaho
Illinois
Kansas
Kentucky1

Louisiana

Massachusetts2

Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Dakota

Ohio
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee3

Utah
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin

TOTAL = 34

1Possible via coroner
2Limited to the testing of deceased drivers in single vehicle accidents who were alone at the time of
the accident. 
3Discretionary

BAC REPORTING OF FATALLY INJURED DRIVERS IN 1993
(States Where 80% of the Drivers Are Tested)

California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Hawaii
Illinois

Maine
Massachusetts
Montana
Nebraska
New Mexico
North Carolina

Oregon
Rhode Island
South Dakota
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin

TOTAL=18
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MANDATORY FINE FOR A 1ST DWI OFFENSE

Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Georgia
Hawaii1

Iowa2

Kentucky1

Maine
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Nevada

New Hampshire
New Jersey
New York
North Dakota
Ohio
Oregon
Pennsylvania

Rhode Island
South Carolina
Tennessee
Utah
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin

TOTAL = 27

1Jail or community service as an alternative to the fine.  2Community service in lieu of the fine. 

MANDATORY JAIL SENTENCE FOR A DWI OFFENSE

FIRST OFFENSE

Alaska 
Colorado
Connecticut*
Hawaii**
Iowa (limited)

Kansas*
Kentucky*
Louisiana
Maine

Montana
Nevada*
Oregon*
Pennsylvania***

South Carolina*
Tennessee
Utah*
Washington
West Virginia

TOTAL=18
SECOND OFFENSE

Alabama*
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California*
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware***
Florida
Georgia*
Hawaii*
Idaho

Illinois*
Indiana*
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana*
Maine
Maryland*
Massachusetts
Michigan*
Minnesota
Missouri

Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
North Carolina
North Dakota*
Ohio
Oregon*
Pennsylvania

Puerto Rico*
Rhode Island
South Carolina*
Tennessee
Texas
Utah*
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

TOTAL = 47   *Community service in lieu of jail.  **Community service or a fine in lieu of jail.
***House arrest may be possible in lieu of a jail sentence.
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MANDATORY LICENSE SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION
FOR A DWI OFFENSE CONVICTION

FIRST OFFENSE

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
District of Columbia
Hawaii
Idaho
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas

Kentucky
Maine
Massachusetts
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire

New Jersey
North Dakota
Ohio
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
Utah
Vermont
Washington
West Virginia

TOTAL = 27

SECOND OFFENSE

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
California
Colorado
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky

Maine
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina

North Dakota
Ohio
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

TOTAL = 44
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LOWER ALCOHOL CONCENTRATIONS FOR YOUTHFUL DWI OFFENDERS 

STATE AGE BAC
TYPE OF SANCTION

LICENSING FINE JAIL COMMUNITY
SERVICE

AL <21 0.02 C X6 X6 X6

AK <21 (0.00)9 A X X10

AZ <21 0.00 X X

AR <21 0.02 C X X

CA <21 0.01 A

CO <21 0.02 A & C X X

CT <21 0.02 A

DE <21 (0.02)3 A & C

DC <21 0.00 C X X

FL <21 0.02 A

GA <21 0.02 A & C X X X

HI <21 0.02 C X X

ID <21 0.02 C X X1

IL <21 0.00 A

IN <21 0.02 I X X

IA <21 0.02 A

KS <21 0.02 A

KY <21 0.02 C X X

LA <21 0.02 A X X6 X6
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STATE AGE BAC
TYPE OF SANCTION

LICENSING FINE JAIL COMMUNITY
SERVICE

ME <21 0.00 A

MD <21 0.02 C X

MA <21 0.02 A

MI <21 (0.00)2 C X X

MN <21 0.00 C X X

MS <21 0.08 C X X

MO <21 0.02 A

MT <21 0.02 C X X1

NE <21 0.02 C X

NV <21 0.02 A

NH <21 0.02 A & C X X X

NJ <21 0.01 C

NM <21 0.02 A

NY <21 0.02 A X7

NC <21 0.00 C X X

ND <21 0.02 A

OH <21 0.02 C X X

OK <21 0.00 A&C X X

OR <21 0.00 A

PA <21 0.028 C8 X8 X X

RI <21 0.02 C X X

TN <21 0.02 C X X

TX <21 0.00 A X X6 X

UT <21 0.00 A
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STATE AGE BAC TYPE OF SANCTION

LICENSING FINE JAIL COMMUNITY
SERVICE

VT <21 0.02 A

VA <21 0.02 C X

WA <21 0.02 A5 X X

WV <21 0.02 A5 X X6

WI <21 0.00 F X4

TOTAL=48  See the Footnotes on this page.  A=Based on administrative procedure  C=Based on
a criminal conviction F=Based on a civil forfeiture conviction  I=Based on civil infraction

FOOTNOTES

1This sanction applies only for 3rd and subsequent offenses.
2The law prohibits operating a motor vehicle with "any bodily alcohol content" which means either
(1) a BAC $0.02 but #0.07 or (2) "[a]ny presence of alcohol within a person's body resulting from
the consumption of intoxicating liquor, other than consumption of intoxicating liquor as a part of a
generally recognized religious service or ceremony."
3A person <21 years old is prohibited from operating a motor vehicle either while or after consuming
alcoholic beverages.  An alcohol concentration $0.02 is prima facie evidence of such an offense.
4This offense is a "forfeiture" offense and is civil in nature.
5Licensing action is based on an administrative proceeding not related to a criminal conviction.
6This sanction applies only for subsequent offenses.
7This is civil fine.
8It is a Summary Offense for a person <21 yrs old to operate a motor vehicle with "while having any
alcohol in his system."  The only sanction for this offense is a fine.  However, a person <21 yrs old
commits a regular drunk driving offense if they operate a motor vehicle with a BAC $0.02.
9The law makes it any offense to operate a motor vehicle after having consumed any amount of
alcohol.
10This sanction is an alterative to a fine sanction.
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IMPOUNDMENT, REGISTRATION WITHDRAWAL OR
CONFISCATION OF A VEHICLE FOR A DWI OFFENSE

IMPOUNDMENT1 REGISTRATION
WITHDRAWN1

CONFISCATION

California
Florida
Illinois2

Iowa9

Missouri3&21

Montana4

Ohio18

Oregon5

Wisconsin17

Arizona
Indiana6

Kansas20

Maine5

Minnesota
New
Hampshire13

New York

North Dakota
Ohio19

Oregon5

Rhode Island
South Dakota
Virginia
Wyoming5

Alaska5

Arizona8

Arkansas11

California10

Georgia12

Louisiana8

Maine9

Minnesota16

Missouri21

Montana16

New York14

North Dakota8

Ohio12

Pennsylvania15

Rhode Island16

South Carolina7

Tennessee9

Texas8

Washington13

Wisconsin17

 TOTAL=9                TOTAL=15                                TOTAL=20
1The column titled "Impoundment" also includes States that immobilize vehicles.  The column titled
"Vehicle Registration Withdrawn" also includes States that impound license plates.
2Limited impoundment following a DWI arrest.
3Vehicle impoundment for persons under 18 who are convicted of a DWI offense.
4Vehicle impoundment only if the driver was under 18 years old.
5For a 2d offense w/n 6 years.
6For a subsequent DWI offense conviction, registration plates suspended.
7For a 4th DWI offense conviction within 10 years.
8For three (3) or more DWI offense convictions.
9For a 2nd or subsequent DWI offense conviction.
10Vehicle is confiscated if there are 2 previous DWI offense convictions within 7 years.
11For a 4th DWI offense conviction within 3 years.
12For a 4th DWI offense conviction within 5 years for Georgia and within 6 years for Ohio
13Applies only for 2nd or subsequent DWI offense convictions.
14Possible for a 2nd or subsequent DWI offense convictions.
15Applies via "common law".
16For a 3rd or subsequent DWI offense conviction within 5 years.
17For a 3rd or subsequent DWI offense conviction within ten (10) years.
18For either a 2nd or 3rd offense within 6 years.
19Registration withdrawal applies to a 2nd offense and 3rd offenses within 5 years.  For a 3rd offense
within 5 years, the vehicle will also be "immobilized".
20License plate revocation for a 4th or subsequent offense.
21State law provides that cities may enact forfeiture ordinances.
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IMPOUNDMENT, REGISTRATION WITHDRAWAL OR CONFISCATION
OF A VEHICLE FOR DRIVING WHILE SUSPENDED/REVOKED WHERE

THE ORIGINAL LICENSING ACTION WAS FOR A DWI OFFENSE

IMPOUNDMENT REGISTRATION
WITHDRAWN1

CONFISCATION

California
Delaware
Michigan5

Nebraska
New York6

Oregon
Wisconsin

Arkansas
Delaware
Maryland
Michigan5

Minnesota
New Jersey
Ohio
Oregon
South Dakota

Alabama
California7

Arizona2

Maine3

North Carolina2

South Carolina4

Tennessee

TOTAL=7                          TOTAL=9                             TOTAL=7

1The column titled "Vehicle Registration Withdrawn" also includes States that impound license plates.
2An offender's vehicle is confiscated if they drive while suspended/revoked 
for a previous DWI offense and commit another DWI offense.
3Applies only if the driver was the "sole owner" of the vehicle.
4For a 4th conviction within 10 years of driving while license is either suspended or revoked.
5The registration plates of the vehicle involved in the offense shall be confiscated and the vehicle
impounded.
6For vehicles used in the offense, limited impoundment for 1st and 2nd offenses.
7Applies only if there was a prior misdemeanor offense either for driving while suspended or revoked
or for habitual offender status.
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STATES WITH ALCOHOL BREATH IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE LAWS

Alaska
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa

Kansas
Louisiana
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New York
North Dakota

North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Rhode Island
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin

TOTAL=35

VICTIMS' COMPENSATION FOR A DWI OFFENSE

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho

Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico

Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

TOTAL = 51 
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DEATH RELATED DWI OFFENSES*
FELONY OFFENSES

Alabama
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho

Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
Ohio
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina

South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

TOTAL = 44
MISDEMEANOR OFFENSES

Oklahoma Puerto Rico

TOTAL = 2
*Specific or Related via Vehicle Homicide Laws

HABITUAL TRAFFIC OFFENDER LAWS

California
Colorado
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas

Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Massachusetts
Montana
New Hampshire
Oregon
Pennsylvania

Rhode Island
South Carolina
Tennessee
Texas
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Wisconsin

TOTAL = 24
Note:  Habitual Traffic Offender Laws provide for special punishment to persons who have shown
a disregard for the traffic laws.  Persons are subjected to either special or increased sanctions if their
driving record indicates that they have committed numerous traffic law violations for either serious
or minor traffic law offenses or a combination of them.
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STATUTES OR REGULATIONS CONTROLLING "HAPPY HOURS"

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Hawaii1

Illinois
Indiana
Kansas

Louisiana
Maine
Massachusetts
Michigan
Nebraska
New Jersey
North Carolina

Ohio
Oklahoma
Rhode Island
South Carolina
Texas
Utah (limited)
Virginia

TOTAL = 21
1There is a regulation in the City and County of Honolulu that prohibits "happy hours".

BEER KEG REGISTRATION LAWS

STATE TYPE OF LAW CITATION SIZE OF KEG

California Statute B&P Code1 §25659.5 $6 gallons

Dist. of Columbia Ordinance2 §25-1483 $4 gallons

Idaho Statute §23-1018 $7.75 gallons

Maryland Statute Art. 2B, §147A $4 gallons

Massachusetts Regulation 204 CMR 9.00 >2 gallons

Nebraska Statute §53-167.01 et seq. $5 gallons4

New Mexico Statute §60-7B-12 >6 gallons

North Dakota Statute §5-02-07.2 >6 gallons5

Oregon Statute §471.478 >7 gallons

Vermont Statute Title 7, §64 $7.5 gallons

Virginia Regulation6 3 VAC 5-70-180 $4 gallons

Washington Statute §66.28.200 et seq. $4 gallons

TOTAL = 12
           
1Business & Professions Code
2This law also applies to the sale of wine or liquor in kegs.
3See also §25-103(28).
418.92 liters
522.71 liters
6This law also applies to the sale of wine in kegs.
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ANTI-CONSUMPTION AND ANTI-OPEN CONTAINER LAWS

STATES THAT PROHIBIT THE CONSUMPTION OF
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES IN MOTOR VEHICLES

Alaska1

Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Delaware1

Dist. of Columbia
Hawaii
Idaho
Indiana1

Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Maine1

Maryland1

Massachusetts1

Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri1

Nebraska

Nevada1

New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina1&2

North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania1

Rhode Island1

South Carolina
Tennessee1

Texas1

Utah
Vermont1

Virginia1

Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin

TOTAL = 40

STATES THAT PROHIBIT THE POSSESSION OF OPEN
CONTAINERS OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES IN MOTOR VEHICLES

Alaska
California
Dist. of Columbia
Florida
Georgia1

Hawaii
Idaho

Illinois
Indiana3

Iowa1

Kansas
Maryland2

Michigan
Minnesota

Nevada
New Hampshire
New Mexico
North Carolina2

North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma

Oregon
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee1

Utah
Washington
Wisconsin

TOTAL = 28

1Applies only to drivers.
2Limited application.
3Provided the driver has an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more.
Note:  States listed in bold face type have both anti-consumption and anti-open container laws.
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DRAM SHOP LIABILITY FOR COMMERCIAL
SERVERS OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

STATUTE

Alabama
Alaska1

Arizona
California2

Colorado
Connecticut
Florida1

Georgia1

Idaho

Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kentucky
Louisiana1

Maine
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi

Missouri1

Montana
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio

Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
Tennessee1

Texas
Utah
Vermont
Wisconsin2

Wyoming2

TOTAL=36

CASE LAW

Arkansas
District of Columbia
Hawaii

Massachusetts
Oklahoma3

South Carolina
Washington
West Virginia

TOTAL=8

NO LIABILITY
  

Delaware
Kansas
Maryland

Nebraska
Nevada

Puerto Rico
South Dakota
Virginia

TOTAL=8
Note:  States listed in italics also provide that an intoxicated patron has a cause of action against an
alcoholic beverage licensee for injuries sustained as the proximate result of over consumption at the
licensee's establishment. 
1The law limits or restricts liability.
2Liability limited to the actions of those under the legal drinking age.
3Liability for injuries sustained by patrons only applies if the patron was under the legal drinking age.
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STATES WHICH HAVE BEEN APPROVED FOR ALCOHOL
INCENTIVE GRANT FUNDS UNDER 23 USC § 4101

Alabama
Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
District of Columbia
Florida
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana

Iowa
Kansas
Maine
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Nebraska
Nevada

New Hampshire
New Mexico
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Utah
Virginia
Washington
Wisconsin

TOTAL = 32

1For FY 1996


